![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
In any event, 1) No one in the discussion this weekend, at least that I saw, came close to blaming the coaches. 2) If the referees allowed play to continue, then it's a correctable error. 3) If the referees stopped (or attempted to stop) play, then it's not -- and the second basket and foul do not count. 4) Yes, there's some judgment about the timing and efforts to "attempt to stop" -- to address an "immediate tip-in" type play. |
|
|||
|
Double Correctable Error ???
Quote:
Isn't that what many thought?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 28, 2019 at 11:17am. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
If the officials blow their whistles immediately in attempt to halt the play, we don't have a correctable error situation, we have a dead ball and none of the subsequent actions counts.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
How Long ???
Quote:
What's immediate? How long does play have to continue? The original post situation could have happened in less than a second, although the word "scramble" may add a second to that. All happening while many players believed that it was two shots, as stated by the official, and don't rebound, or defend?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 28, 2019 at 12:10pm. |
|
|||
|
Quote:
See my point 4 above. |
|
|||
|
Just Kidding ...
Quote:
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
|
I'm a bit confused about how the official indicated 2 shots but yet allowed play to continue and then called a foul.
That said, I think that if the official clearly indicated 2 shots, then you can justify not scoring the points/ignoring the contact because this all occurred during a dead ball. Just because some players react, that doesn't mean the ball became live. |
|
|||
|
Spell Check ???
Did the Forum outage cause the Forum to lose it's spell check feature?
(ABC Checkmark in upper right corner of message?) My spell check (same program) still works from my browser, but not internally from within the Forum.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Jan 29, 2019 at 02:05pm. |
|
|||
|
It's my smart-a$$ reference to the fact that officials in this forum blame other correctable error situations on the coaches not bringing it to the attention of the officials that there is a mistake when the table misinforms the crew.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
|
I don't think "blame" is the right word here -- at least not to me. It is true that what looks like an advantage can turn into a disadvantage when a CE situation is recognized after the fact.
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Correctable Error question | coach-rec | Basketball | 17 | Sun Apr 01, 2012 03:44pm |
| Correctable error question | jTheUmp | Basketball | 13 | Mon Jan 24, 2011 07:23pm |
| Question regarding Correctable Error | ccsalmon | Basketball | 2 | Sun Feb 07, 2010 03:24am |
| Correctable error question | Adam | Basketball | 5 | Mon Oct 22, 2007 01:20pm |
| Question about correctable error | Damian | Basketball | 19 | Mon Aug 18, 2003 10:15am |