The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 01:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 220
Shooter fouled while shooting over backboard

If a shooter is fouled when shooting behind a rectangular backboard, does he get two free throws? I know it's a violation for the ball to pass over a rectangular backboard, but what do you do if there is a foul on the shooter before it goes over the backboard? thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 01:08am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,622
I see no reason not to award two shots.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 01:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,312
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loudwhistle2 View Post
If a shooter is fouled when shooting behind a rectangular backboard, does he get two free throws? I know it's a violation for the ball to pass over a rectangular backboard, but what do you do if there is a foul on the shooter before it goes over the backboard? thanks!
Did the violation or the foul occur first?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Did the violation or the foul occur first?
Nevadaref brings up a good point. The issue is moot if the violation occurs first, at which point the foul (assuming not intentional/flagrant) is ignored.

That said, considering this scenario, the odds are high that the foul would occur first. If so, it's still considered to be in the act of shooting. In the event the ball goes in after having passed over the backboard, the shot doesn't count because the ball became dead when the violation occurred. But you would still award two FTs.

This is all assuming a rectangular backboard, of course. Seems like 99% of them are these days, but I suppose there are still a few fan backboards out there.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 09:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 220
The shooter was fouled before the violation so I think cc55 nailed it. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 10:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NB/PEI, Canada
Posts: 712
We got into this on the weekend too.

A1 went hard at help defender along the baseline, should have been trapped but the help defender opened up to avoid an impact so A1 gathered and stepped into the space being held by arms between the two defenders. There is loads of contact easy foul call, however A1 postion behind the backboard and shooting motion made no chance that the shot was going to get to the rim without hitting the back of the board let alone having a chance to get to rim and go in.

She clearly went up trying to draw a foul and did. If defense had let her go the shot would have been a violation. So she may be in a shooting motion but reality is there may not actually be a legitimate attempt at goal being made. Contact stopped shot from going up though so we'll never know.

We sent her to line and B coach was unhappy but understood.
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game!

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 11:18am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pantherdreams View Post
We got into this on the weekend too ...

"... A1 position behind the backboard and shooting motion made no chance that the shot was going to get to the rim without hitting the back of the board ... "

"... there may not actually be a legitimate attempt at goal being made ... "
So if there is no legitimate attempt made, would this not mean it's NOT ever a shooting foul? If team is in the bonus, it's a 1-and-1. But under no circumstances is it a two-shot (shooting) foul?

Kinda like a player getting fouled shooting at the wrong basket?

Just wondering.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 11:34am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,167
We Don't Call Anticipated Violations ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
So if there is no legitimate attempt made ... Kinda like a player getting fouled shooting at the wrong basket?
Disagree. The player is shooting at the correct basket, and if the foul comes before the violation it's still a legitimate shot attempt, a bad legitimate shot attempt, but nevertheless a legitimate shot attempt.

Now sit back and enjoy some classic Larry Bird in Hartford, CT:

https://youtu.be/Ebx61XuFGX8
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Jan 14, 2019 at 12:35pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 11:35am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,433
I don't have the book in front of me but doesn't it simply state that if the player is fouled in the act of shooting then it's a shooting foul? Whether the shot has a chance to be made, or would likely result in a violation as stated in this case, has zero effect on the call.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 01:37pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,622
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
So if there is no legitimate attempt made, would this not mean it's NOT ever a shooting foul? If team is in the bonus, it's a 1-and-1. But under no circumstances is it a two-shot (shooting) foul?

Kinda like a player getting fouled shooting at the wrong basket?

Just wondering.

A "shot" at the wrong basket is, by definition, not a try. This is one of those situations that I've never seen, but it would be fascinating. A1 gets confused and starts to shoot a layup at B's basket. He is fouled by B1. After the foul the ball goes through the basket. Guess what? Wave it off, and if you're in the bonus go to the other end and shoot 1 and 1. I'm thinking this would be hard for the crowd/opposing coach to swallow.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 04:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Did the violation or the foul occur first?
talking off the top of my head...does it matter? Im an airborne shooter, even if I shoot poorly, until I land. Violation just means if it goes in it doesn't count but id still get my two shots... yes?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
A "shot" at the wrong basket is, by definition, not a try. This is one of those situations that I've never seen, but it would be fascinating. A1 gets confused and starts to shoot a layup at B's basket. He is fouled by B1. After the foul the ball goes through the basket. Guess what? Wave it off, and if you're in the bonus go to the other end and shoot 1 and 1. I'm thinking this would be hard for the crowd/opposing coach to swallow.
The case book has the play where .3 or less on clock. throw in pass to me, I catch, shoot, fouled. ball goes in. since it can only be a tap my basket does not count and I cannot catch it and try ,,,so rule says I get bonus situation..
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2019, 05:14pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,167
Good Point, If It's An Airborne Shooter ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
I'm an airborne shooter, even if I shoot poorly, until I land. Violation just means if it goes in it doesn't count but I'd still get my two shots ...
6-7: The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when:
ART. 5 An official’s whistle is blown (see exceptions a and b below).
ART. 7 A foul, other than player-control or team-control, occurs (see
exceptions a, b and c below).
ART. 9 A violation, as in 9-2 through 13, occurs (see exception d
below).
EXCEPTION: The ball does not become dead until the try or tap ends, or
until the airborne shooter returns to the floor, when:
a. Article 5, 6, or 7 occurs while a try or tap for a field goal is in
flight.
__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FT Shooter Fouled The_Rookie Basketball 43 Mon Jan 04, 2016 08:06am
Shooting FT When Player Fouled Out brainbrian Basketball 5 Sat Jan 08, 2011 09:49am
Fouled in the act of 'shooting' WooPigSooie Basketball 6 Tue Feb 21, 2006 10:37am
Fouled shooter recaptures ball TriggerMN Basketball 27 Sun Jan 15, 2006 11:42pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1