![]() |
|
![]() |
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
I've got a freeze frame, left hand on the ball, both feet in the air, right foot has left the floor, left foot will be next. no College official, or High School official for that matter worth his salt, would call that a travel
|
|
|||
I have nothing in real time. Slowing it way down...as slow as I can..it looks to me that his left hand goes under the ball (ending the dribble) with right foot on floor at top of key making it pivot. I can’t see it well enough to be sure. In any event, as I said I have nothing in real time. It doesn’t help your game to be the only person on the floor calling travel.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Yes, it is SO close I am sure I would never call it. But, if you're talking absolutes, it is a travel, just one that can't be confidently judged in real time....thus no call should ever be expected on it.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Jan 07, 2019 at 02:05am. |
|
|||
I imagine we are seeing the same thing, I'm seeing the left hand on the side of the ball and the right-hand not on it, well some of you others are seeing that left hand under the ball and saying the dribble has thus been stopped. That hand isn't under the ball, it said about two-thirds of the way up the ball. I need to see that right hand also grab the ball before I would say the dribble is stopped. If you don't interpret it that way, you're going to see a whole lot more travels than I do in every single game.
|
|
|||
I have his dribble ended (gather complete) with his left foot down. He doesn't put that foot back down prior to releasing his try.
That's why it is called "judgment".
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR Last edited by Raymond; Mon Jan 07, 2019 at 10:40am. |
|
|||
Legal.
I read something somewhere about thinking of the end of the dribble as a process (i.e. the gather) rather than a single moment in time. Using this philosophy, it's clear to me that the gather ends with the left foot as the pivot, and it doesn't come back down before the ball is released. Is it good for the game to split hairs and rule these plays travels? Not for me. |
|
|||
I don't have a travel there...left foot appeared to be pivot and it never came back down. Nice video...
From spending time at a pretty high level shooting camp a few years back...That's a good video showing what the Euro is. I try to tell guys all the time, all a "Euro" is...one step at the defender and the next out to the side/away...why is that so hard to comprehend. These players out here poorly executing illegal jump stop where they get up in the air then land 1 - 2 and get banged for travel, then trying to say "euro step" crack me up. Euro or American, pivot foot allowances don't change! ![]() |
|
|||
Doesn't look his pivot foot (left) returns to the floor before the ball is released for the try in real time.
The slo motion portion of the video leaves off the transition from dribble to gather, so it's difficult to really analyze. But, based on the slo mo that's given...same as real time. Legal movement. |
|
|||
Quote:
That said, I'm never going to call this one because I wouldn't be good enough to see it and be sure of it. But, that doesn't make it not a travel. It just means it is too close to see clearly.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
You try to sell us on this notion every time I post one of these videos. But we have to guess what we see in your situation rather than see what is clear on the video. And we have to slow it down to even come close. Sorry, I see nothing on this video that the ball handler got any control with one hand. The ball could be spinning or not come to rest until both hands come to the ball. And I am not calling that a violation that close or in real time or in slow motion. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
Quote:
There is no magic 3rd state of player control between dribbling and holding. When the dribble ends, holding begins...that is how the dribble ends, by rule. Unless you're saying the player lost control and there was a window in which you would not grant a timeout, you have only two choices: dribbling or holding. As such, if it reaches a point where you'd call another dribble a carry, you have, by rule, deemed the player to be holding the ball. Saying a player hasn't "gathered" is the equivalent of saying a player wasn't set or over-the-back. It is establishing requirements that are contrary to what the rules say.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Another Euro Step (Video) | JRutledge | Basketball | 11 | Mon Feb 29, 2016 12:27pm |
Euro step travel last minute Dayton/Syr no way it gets called | jump stop | Basketball | 28 | Tue Mar 25, 2014 05:55pm |
Euro Step : Do you understand, it's coming to game near you | jump stop | Basketball | 17 | Sat Jun 22, 2013 03:09pm |
Video: Euro step, Gasol move ? Make the call | jump stop | Basketball | 43 | Thu Aug 23, 2012 02:59pm |
Step on Line -- Legal or Illegal? | Juulie Downs | Basketball | 48 | Tue Jan 19, 2010 10:22pm |