The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2019, 04:11pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane O View Post
Thanks for the feedback!



I definitely would have called an offensive foul if not for partner blowing his whistle. No doubt my pointing in the opposite direction would be interpreted as an offensive foul call.



I haven't yet been caught in a situation like that and instantly was like oh shit! I already had my story to weasel out of it if asked by the coach(which was right in front of their bench). I was gonna say something to the effect that I thought I saw my partner signaling the other way or something like that but was mistaken. Luckily it was only the fans who voiced their displeasure and not the coach.
Your best bet is just to be truthful and take your lumps. I was involved in the second blarge ("2 official double foul" for the pendantic) of my career last Friday. I just quickly got together with my partner, made sure we knew what the status of the ball was, brought the two coaches together, quickly told them we had a double foul because we both signaled, and then got the ball back in play very quickly.

There are too many eyes and too many video cameras out there to try to fake people out.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Jan 10, 2019 at 11:48pm.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2019, 04:24pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 17,462
Say Cheese ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
There are too many eyes and too many video cameras out there to try to fake people out.
Agree. It was easier back in the good old days when they only had still cameras.

This guy would always set up somewhere on the endline and get in Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.'s way.

__________________
John 3:16 "For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life."

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Jan 10, 2019 at 05:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2019, 04:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 17
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Your best bet is just to be truthful and take your lumps. I was involved in the second blarge ("2 official double foul" for the pendantic) of my career last Friday. I just quickly got together with my partner, made sure we knew what the status of the ball was, brought the two coaches together, I quickly told them we had a double foul because we both signaled, and then got the ball back in play very quickly.

There are too many eyes and too many video cameras out there to try to fake people out.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
Good point!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 10, 2019, 06:55pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane O View Post
I did not signal a PC foul but I pointed in a direction that could be interpreted that is what I would signal. Does my pointing constitute signaling that we should have called a double foul? My partner signaled block, I pointed in opposite direction, lol.

This is a legitimate question. As someone correctly pointed out the word blarge does not appear in the rules. BUT, the word signal also does not appear in the case play which is applicable here, but rather the wording says, one official rules on thing and the other official rules the opposite. Some say that in this case making a signal constitutes making a ruling. This is a widely held point of view, but sometimes, as in your case, the question comes up as to what constitutes a signal. Also, it is my impression that some officials will avoid a blarge at ALL COSTS. Specifically, if they (properly) withhold their preliminary signal and see their partner come out quickly with the signal opposite to the one that they would have had, they will walk away from the call, no matter how strong their conviction on the play. In short, this is a mess.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2019, 01:04am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
This is a legitimate question. As someone correctly pointed out the word blarge does not appear in the rules. BUT, the word signal also does not appear in the case play which is applicable here, but rather the wording says, one official rules on thing and the other official rules the opposite. Some say that in this case making a signal constitutes making a ruling. This is a widely held point of view, but sometimes, as in your case, the question comes up as to what constitutes a signal. Also, it is my impression that some officials will avoid a blarge at ALL COSTS. Specifically, if they (properly) withhold their preliminary signal and see their partner come out quickly with the signal opposite to the one that they would have had, they will walk away from the call, no matter how strong their conviction on the play. In short, this is a mess.
You realize that the case play in question has been in the casebook for over 20 years (at least since I have been officiating). So if this was not clear, then you would think the NF or the NCAA or both would change their language to reflect the position you always seem to take here. It would be very easy to just change the wording or clarify what is meant. But for some strange and unusual situation, that has literally never happened. I wonder why?

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2019, 01:21am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
You realize that the case play in question has been in the casebook for over 20 years (at least since I have been officiating). So if this was not clear, then you would think the NF or the NCAA or both would change their language to reflect the position you always seem to take here. It would be very easy to just change the wording or clarify what is meant. But for some strange and unusual situation, that has literally never happened. I wonder why?

Peace

I wonder why too. My position? I did not take any position here, merely pointed out and agreed with the problems which exist by this situation when it happens and the lack of certainty in the solution thereof provided by this case play. And this thread did not even mention that the case play is, above all, contradictory to the rule.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 11, 2019, 01:49am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,541
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I wonder why too. My position? I did not take any position here, merely pointed out and agreed with the problems which exist by this situation when it happens and the lack of certainty in the solution thereof provided by this case play. And this thread did not even mention that the case play is, above all, contradictory to the rule.
Yes, your position. The same position you state just about anytime this topic comes up. It is not a problem if the NF or the NCAA has never addressed the situation in a specific way to suggest what do they mean other than an actual signal. Literally, no one I have ever had a conversation with seems uncertain about what is meant.

And we do not have to mention the case play, because there is one that clearly states what is to be done. The NCAA even had this situation happen in a National Championship game and puts out regular videos and never once have they said to do something other than calling a double foul. As a matter of fact, one of the first videos of last season had a "blarge" situation and the NCAA Supervisor was adamant about what was to be done (involving the same official as in this video BTW). Since this was an NCAA game, it is clear how this is to be handled at that level.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Request- UNLV @ UNI late game block/charge UNIgiantslayers Basketball 0 Thu Nov 30, 2017 02:28pm
Video Request - UNLV/Utah State Fight -- Women's Game WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 1 Mon Jan 09, 2017 03:17pm
NBA Finals Blarge- Video Request VaTerp Basketball 0 Thu Jun 02, 2016 09:41pm
Video Request: Dec. 23 Arizona at UNLV dahoopref Basketball 4 Thu Dec 25, 2014 03:56pm
Request for APG- UNLV vs Colardo state constable Basketball 34 Fri Mar 02, 2012 08:34pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1