The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2018, 03:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 902
Shot? Pass? Deflection? Goal? Amount of points?

Team B has 7 team fouls. In a mad scramble, A1 jumps to clearly shoot a 3 point shot. B1, outside of the 3-point line, attempts to deflect the ball and slightly hits the ball. A1, while still in the air, realizes that his shot, with the deflection, will not have very good form, and tries to pass the ball. As A1 throws the ball, the official blows her whistle calling a foul on B1. The passed ball by A1 is deflected by B1 into the basket.

NCAAM outcome?

NFHS outcome?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2018, 03:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,041
Assuming the official sees it as you describe -- it wasn't a try, so the ball is dead when the foul happens. Bonus or ball out of bounds to A
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2018, 04:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,460
Bonus FTs, Bob. His first sentence is that Team B has 7 fouls.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2018, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,717
Inadvertent whistle. Ball to A.

From the description, there seems to not be a foul since, as described, B1 hit the ball only. Was there some contact that wasn't described?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2018, 05:40pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,629
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Inadvertent whistle. Ball to A.

From the description, there seems to not be a foul since, as described, B1 hit the ball only. Was there some contact that wasn't described?

Camron:

It was not an Inadvertent Whistle. B1 did foul A1. Bob and Nevada gave the correct Ruling for both NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2018, 07:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Camron:

It was not an Inadvertent Whistle. B1 did foul A1. Bob and Nevada gave the correct Ruling for both NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's.

MTD, Sr.
Are you sure? I don't see any mention of contact in the OP. Are we assuming there was contact? When you work a game, do you assume there was contact when you see none?

If there was contact, sure, they're right but the OP just doesn't say.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Nov 07, 2018 at 07:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 07, 2018, 08:44pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,451
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Are you sure? I don't see any mention of contact in the OP. Are we assuming there was contact? When you work a game, do you assume there was contact when you see none?

If there was contact, sure, they're right but the OP just doesn't say.
A foul was called, hence the assumption of contact.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 08, 2018, 03:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,717
Quote:
Originally Posted by BryanV21 View Post
A foul was called, hence the assumption of contact.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Given the way that the question was phrased, it was certainly a possibility, but you had to make assumptions to get there. The question made it clear that the ball was deflected and really seemed to imply there was no contact.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 10, 2018, 05:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Assuming the official sees it as you describe -- it wasn't a try, so the ball is dead when the foul happens. Bonus or ball out of bounds to A
+1 for this
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 10, 2018, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,041
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolanjj68 View Post
+1 for this
Except that I also agree with Camron -- if the official, after blowing the whistle, recognizes that it wasn't a foul, it's an IW the the ball back to A.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul on shot; goal tend refstar Basketball 17 Wed Sep 16, 2015 07:03pm
Goal tending points are awarded even if PC foul? Sharpshooternes Basketball 2 Fri Nov 22, 2013 01:16pm
Pass hits Goal Post Redneck Ref Football 8 Tue Oct 30, 2012 09:56am
Inbound pass deflection goes OOB - time? eyezen Basketball 10 Sun Feb 04, 2007 12:12am
Can a Blocked Shot Then Be Goal Tended? aurasport Basketball 13 Thu Jan 05, 2006 03:20pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1