The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Shot? Pass? Deflection? Goal? Amount of points? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/104125-shot-pass-deflection-goal-amount-points.html)

bucky Wed Nov 07, 2018 03:27pm

Shot? Pass? Deflection? Goal? Amount of points?
 
Team B has 7 team fouls. In a mad scramble, A1 jumps to clearly shoot a 3 point shot. B1, outside of the 3-point line, attempts to deflect the ball and slightly hits the ball. A1, while still in the air, realizes that his shot, with the deflection, will not have very good form, and tries to pass the ball. As A1 throws the ball, the official blows her whistle calling a foul on B1. The passed ball by A1 is deflected by B1 into the basket.

NCAAM outcome?

NFHS outcome?

bob jenkins Wed Nov 07, 2018 03:44pm

Assuming the official sees it as you describe -- it wasn't a try, so the ball is dead when the foul happens. Bonus or ball out of bounds to A

Nevadaref Wed Nov 07, 2018 04:16pm

Bonus FTs, Bob. His first sentence is that Team B has 7 fouls.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 07, 2018 05:22pm

Inadvertent whistle. Ball to A.

From the description, there seems to not be a foul since, as described, B1 hit the ball only. Was there some contact that wasn't described?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Nov 07, 2018 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1025767)
Inadvertent whistle. Ball to A.

From the description, there seems to not be a foul since, as described, B1 hit the ball only. Was there some contact that wasn't described?


Camron:

It was not an Inadvertent Whistle. B1 did foul A1. Bob and Nevada gave the correct Ruling for both NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's.

MTD, Sr.

Camron Rust Wed Nov 07, 2018 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 1025768)
Camron:

It was not an Inadvertent Whistle. B1 did foul A1. Bob and Nevada gave the correct Ruling for both NFHS and NCAA Men's/Women's.

MTD, Sr.

Are you sure? I don't see any mention of contact in the OP. Are we assuming there was contact? When you work a game, do you assume there was contact when you see none?

If there was contact, sure, they're right but the OP just doesn't say.

BryanV21 Wed Nov 07, 2018 08:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1025772)
Are you sure? I don't see any mention of contact in the OP. Are we assuming there was contact? When you work a game, do you assume there was contact when you see none?

If there was contact, sure, they're right but the OP just doesn't say.

A foul was called, hence the assumption of contact.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Camron Rust Thu Nov 08, 2018 03:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BryanV21 (Post 1025776)
A foul was called, hence the assumption of contact.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Given the way that the question was phrased, it was certainly a possibility, but you had to make assumptions to get there. The question made it clear that the ball was deflected and really seemed to imply there was no contact.

nolanjj68 Sat Nov 10, 2018 05:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 1025762)
Assuming the official sees it as you describe -- it wasn't a try, so the ball is dead when the foul happens. Bonus or ball out of bounds to A

+1 for this

bob jenkins Sat Nov 10, 2018 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by nolanjj68 (Post 1025814)
+1 for this

Except that I also agree with Camron -- if the official, after blowing the whistle, recognizes that it wasn't a foul, it's an IW the the ball back to A.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1