|
|||
New NFHS "Differences bet. NFHS and NCAA"
Just came out.
With all the fanfare released previously regarding "9-9-1 EXCEPTION", I at least thought it would deserve a mention in this (formerly appearing in the rules book but now only on the NFHS website) chart. But I guess not. http://www.nfhs.org/media/1018592/nc...es_2018-19.pdf
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Because NCAA Men's has a rule that says once a defender deflects the ball in the front court either team can retrieve it in the back court, the play that is alluded to in 9 - 9 - 1 Exception is ruled the same in both rulesets. So it is not a difference, therefore does not need to be mentioned in the chart.
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
My understanding is that, NCAA-M has allowed in 9-12.5: "A pass or any other loose ball in the front court that is deflected by a defensive player, which causes the ball to go into the backcourt may be recovered by either team even if the offense was the last to touch the ball before it went into the backcourt." However . . . The addition to NFHS 9-9-1 doesn't go that far: "EXCEPTION:* Any player located in the backcourt may recover a ball deflected from the frontcourt by the defense.” Last-to-touch...first-to-touch, though not applicable in this situation in NCAA-M, still applies in NFHS. Right? If so, this is a major difference between NCAA-M and NFHS. Which should have been mentioned in the comparison chart. Right?
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Quote:
Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Quote:
The NCAA rule allows for an offensive touch (in the FC) after the defensive deflection (in the FC). NFHS does not. The NFHS exception only allows (unnecessarily) an offensive player already in the backcourt to directly catch/touch a ball deflected by a defender (in the FC) without first letting it hit the floor in the BC. If the offense touches the ball in the FC after the defensive deflection, the exception doesn't apply.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
I think Freddy's point is that a list of NCAA/NFHS rules differences should include backcourt rulings on a ball deflected by the defense since the new exception did not align the 2 rules sets. The exception only makes one specific case the same.
|
|
|||
Maybe there should be, but there should be no mention of "9-9-1 Exception" because, as I have stated, there is no difference in the rulings in regards to the play "9-9-1 Exception" specifically targets.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
|
|||
Stupid NFHS ...
NFHS Goaltending: Player touches the ball during a try/tap while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket-ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight.
They forgot the new rule (which used to be the old rule): Goaltending is when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level, outside the imaginary cylinder above the ring, and has the possibility of entering the basket. If they were sloppy with this, what's makes everybody think that they paid as much attention to this chart as needed, and didn't make any other errors, or omissions.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Sep 26, 2018 at 03:40pm. |
Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads | ||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
"Imaginary" 3 foot restraining line? NFHS Throw Ins | CO REF | Basketball | 19 | Wed Jan 04, 2017 12:20pm |
2016 NCAA Rule Change: OBS - "About to Receive" vs. "In the act of Catching" | teebob21 | Softball | 15 | Wed Mar 02, 2016 10:16pm |
Obstruction/interference/"malicious" contact non-ruling (NFHS)... | jcwells | Baseball | 7 | Wed Jul 09, 2008 06:04pm |
2007 NFHS Rules Changes - "Step and Reach" | Dakota | Softball | 8 | Mon Jul 10, 2006 02:46pm |