The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 16, 2018, 02:30pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Here are some NCAA Approved Rulings on the topic.

They backed up their position, so not sure what is subjective?

A.R. 222. The ball is at the disposal of Team A for a throw-in. A1 attempts to throw the inbounds pass to A2, who is located in his front court near the division line.

1. A1’s pass is deflected by B1. A2 leaves the playing court in his front court and while airborne, controls the ball, and then lands with one or both feet in the backcourt.

2. A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by B1. The ball bounces into Team A’s
front court. While the ball is bouncing in Team A’s front court, it is
deflected into Team A’s backcourt, where A3 retrieves it.

3. A1’s throw-in pass is deflected by A2, who fumbles it into the backcourt.
A2 then goes into the backcourt and recovers the fumble.

RULING 1: Legal play. Since a Team B player deflected A1’s inbounds
pass, when A2 catches the ball in the air and lands with one or both
feet in the backcourt, B1’s deflection caused the ball to go into Team
A’s backcourt, and a Team A player is permitted to be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt.
(Rule 9-12.1 through .3, .5 through .7 and .9 through .10, and 7-6.5)

2: Legal. This is not a backcourt violation since neither player nor team
control had been established in the front court.
(Rule 9-12.4)

3: Legal. This is not a backcourt violation since neither player nor team
control had been established in the front court.
(Rule 9-12.4, and 9-12.1 through .3, .5 through .7 and .9 through .10)

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A.R. 223. A1 is in possession of the ball in the front court and throws a pass
to A2, who is located near the division line. A1’s pass is errant. A2 leaves the
playing court with both feet in an attempt to prevent the ball from going into
the backcourt. While in the air, A2 gains possession of the ball and throws it
into the playing court, where it strikes the division line. The ball returns to the
front court, where A3 recovers the ball before it is touched by an opponent.

RULING: Team A has committed a backcourt violation. The official shall blow the whistle for the backcourt violation when the ball is touched by A3 in the front court after it touched the division line. Team A had control of the ball in its front court and the ball was last touched by Team A without a deflection by Team B before going into the backcourt.
(Rule 9-12.4 and 9-12.1 through .3, .5 through .7 and .9 through .10)

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HSM Update jkumpire Baseball 8 Thu Apr 19, 2007 09:00am
NFHS Update WestMichBlue Softball 26 Thu Feb 02, 2006 02:41pm
+POS Update Robmoz Basketball 4 Mon Dec 06, 2004 11:45pm
update A Pennsylvania Coach Basketball 11 Tue Dec 31, 2002 11:15am
Brief update ChuckElias Basketball 16 Mon Dec 23, 2002 05:38pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1