The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2003, 08:08pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The rule above no longer applies because the ball is no longer in bounds.
Technically, the ball never was inbounds. The ball was on the inbound side of the OOB plane, but the ball still had OOB status, b/c it was in contact with a player who was touching OOB.

I know that JR knows that, and I also know it's not that big a deal. I just thought I'd point it out.
What?

Technically,the ball has to have come in bounds,or it never would be legal for the defender to grab it or slap it.In this sitch,you've got a live ball in bounds.That's why it's legal to grab or touch it. NFHS casebook play 10.3.12SitB uses that language.Once the ball goes back OOB,you now have a live ball OOB,and a different rule covers the touching or grabbing of the ball by a defender-ie NFHS rule 9-2-11PENALTY3.It now is an immediate T under NFHS rules,no warning. NCAA rules are the same,I think,but I'm going back to the ballgame.If anybody wants NCAA references,I'll look 'em up later.

PS-I know that it ain't that big a deal. As long as the right call is made,who cares what nomenclature is used.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1