View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2003, 12:47am
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
The rule above no longer applies because the ball is no longer in bounds.
Technically, the ball never was inbounds.
What?

Technically,the ball has to have come in bounds,or it never would be legal for the defender to grab it or slap it.
All I know is that "a player is OOB when he/she touches the floor. . . outside a boundary" (7-1-1) and that "the ball is OOB when it touches a player who is OOB" (7-1-2a). The player is OOB and the ball is touching the player. Therefore, in the above situation, the ball was technically never inbounds.

Nowhere in 10.3.12SitB does the casebook mention that the ball is "inbounds" when it is slapped from A1's hand.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote