The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2003, 06:34pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by RefSouthAlb
Mmmmmmmm!

So when the ball crossed the boundary line it became fair game.

Question then

If he then pulls it back can the inbounds player then reach across the boundary line to grab it since it has become fair game?????

Stupid question , but I know I will get a bunch of smart (a**) answers.

That's not a stupid question:it's a good one.

The rule above no longer applies because the ball is no longer in bounds. Now the rules regarding touching a ball OOB on a throw in will apply. All you have to know is what side of the line the ball is on when the defender touches or grabs it. That will determine your call. There has been no violation by the player throwing the ball in because he simply hasn't started the throw in yet; he's still holding it.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Oct 10th, 2003 at 06:36 PM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1