The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 01, 2018, 09:54pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
We can't even reach a consensus on this thread about what happened on the play.
Only because some are basing their decision on time/score considerations.

If presented in a vacuum I'm sure there would be a consensus, or something around 80/20 in favor of foul.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 08:31am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
Only because some are basing their decision on time/score considerations.

If presented in a vacuum I'm sure there would be a consensus, or something around 80/20 in favor of foul.
When I first viewed the video I was expecting to see a player get hammered to the floor. The play was nowhere near that. And that the play was far enough away from being an "obvious" foul that in that situation a no-call was the right call.

Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but I know the 2 supervisors I have who do the most video review and the most training of their staffs would want this play no-called.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 08:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Missouri
Posts: 671
Add me to the foul column. Defender is not legal and makes contact with an airborne shooter causing her to lose balance and land against the basket support. She did not go down like that on her own. The official did a great job of getting in front of that play and looked to have a great angle, but just didn't make the call.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 08:56am
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by ballgame99 View Post
Add me to the foul column. Defender is not legal and makes contact with an airborne shooter causing her to lose balance and land against the basket support. She did not go down like that on her own. The official did a great job of getting in front of that play and looked to have a great angle, but just didn't make the call.
This is a Slot play IMO, Lead has a "B" look.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 09:17am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
I agree with Bob Jenkins. It will be interesting to see if this makes our video next year. To me the defender is running straight down her path and never comes into the offensive player. In fact the overhead angle has her, IMHO, moving to her right a step. They come together at a spot on the floor. I have the offensive player moving into a vertical defensive player who has maintained her path. I was ok with the no call live and ok with it here on film. I am not sure the defender did anything wrong except be bigger than the offensive player which caused the offensive player to bounce off of her when they came together. Again just my opinion. If it does make the video, it will be interesting to see what the powers that be think about it. Both the C from a good angle slightly behind and the L have a good look at the action of both players.

Last edited by walt; Mon Apr 02, 2018 at 09:21am.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 10:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by walt View Post
I agree with Bob Jenkins. It will be interesting to see if this makes our video next year. To me the defender is running straight down her path and never comes into the offensive player. In fact the overhead angle has her, IMHO, moving to her right a step. They come together at a spot on the floor. I have the offensive player moving into a vertical defensive player who has maintained her path.
All good, except that isn't within the rights of a defender. Did she have LGP? No. Not even close. As such, she has no right to be moving at the time of contact. Even if she did have LGP, the movement, even if it was in an established path was such that the offensive player had head and shoulders past the defender. She also move towards the shooter in making contact.

It may be that the powers that be are OK with not making the call, but it will not be because it wasn't a foul (by rule).
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 10:57am
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: DE
Posts: 226
To me this is two players who get to the same spot at the same time. It is not a block charge play. To me they come together legally at the same spot from two different positions and angles. If both get to that spot legally, there can be a collision with no foul. I do not have the defender moving into the offensive player. I have her moving perpendicularly towards the endline. The offensive player is headed to the basket. I understand you have the defender doing something wrong where I have two players in equal positions getting to the same spot at the same time from different positions and that is why I am ok with the no call. Both C and T were looking right at it and trail, while farther away, had an open look as well. Like I said, if it is part of the video, or if it makes the rounds at camps this summer, it will be interesting to see how the big dogs and coordinators see it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 02:13pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
All good, except that isn't within the rights of a defender. Did she have LGP? No. Not even close. As such, she has no right to be moving at the time of contact. Even if she did have LGP, the movement, even if it was in an established path was such that the offensive player had head and shoulders past the defender. She also move towards the shooter in making contact.

It may be that the powers that be are OK with not making the call, but it will not be because it wasn't a foul (by rule).
So if a defensive player (B1) is running up the court the ball-handler can just run up beside B1, create illegal contact, then get the benefit of a foul?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Mon Apr 02, 2018 at 02:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 12:12pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,572
If we are talking about the last play before the foul at 3 seconds, the MSU player dribbled right to a defender that got to the ball before any contact. That is not a foul anytime I have been officiating and if I saw what I saw on video in my game, I would hope I would pass on that play as the officials did yesterday.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 12:20pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
If we are talking about the last play before the foul at 3 seconds, the MSU player dribbled right to a defender that got to the ball before any contact. That is not a foul anytime I have been officiating and if I saw what I saw on video in my game, I would hope I would pass on that play as the officials did yesterday.
I believe you’re referring to the play in the championship game. This is the thread for the semifinal and we are discussing the no call before overtime.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 02, 2018, 12:29pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,572
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
I believe you’re referring to the play in the championship game. This is the thread for the semifinal and we are discussing the no call before overtime.
You are right.

But if we are talking about the last play, I saw nothing obvious at all about that situation where I would call a foul. Again, that situation happens all the time in a Men's game and there is no foul called. Again the defender is 6'8 if I am not mistaken. She is going to defend most players differently.

BTW, I had this player when she was a high school player in a Nike Tournament in Chicago. She has gotten a lot tougher and I remember having a conversation with her after the game I had her about playing big. She was very soft in high school in my opinion at least when I saw her in my game. She plays much bigger than she did when I saw her too, but she still makes some silly foul mistakes IMO.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Miss St @ Ole Miss (Video) Tru_in_Blu Softball 15 Sat Apr 11, 2015 10:12pm
NCAAW - End of TO bob jenkins Basketball 7 Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:03pm
Ncaaw bob jenkins Volleyball 5 Wed Aug 28, 2013 01:08pm
Two NCAAW questions. mick Basketball 4 Sun Mar 14, 2010 02:26pm
NCAAW Rules IREFU2 Basketball 16 Thu May 10, 2007 08:48pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1