The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2018, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 9
Intentional & double technical - NFHS

Hi all,

I had the following situation during a game and I would like to understand what would be the right procedure under NFHS rule.

Player A1 commits an intentional personal foul on player B1, who is in the act of shooting and scores a two-point field goal. Then B1 and A1 start arguing and both receive a personal technical foul.

My questions are the following:
- A1 needs to be ejected from the game or not? I know that two technicals and two intentional fouls lead to ejection, but what about one technical and one intentional personal foul?
- The penalty for the intentional personal foul is 2 FTs + throw-in from the place nearest the game has stopped, whereas for both personal technical fouls the penalty is 2 FTs + throw-in from the division line. My question here is: what is the correct resumption-of-game procedure?

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2018, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 959
INT personal fouls are the same in regards to the player's foul count as a regular personal. A player in theory could commit 5 INT personals before being disqualified.

In your scenario, B1 is awarded two FTs for the INT and because the technicals are a double T situation, you go to point of interruption, which would be a throw-in nearest the spot of the INT foul.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2018, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by italian_referee View Post
Hi all,

I had the following situation during a game and I would like to understand what would be the right procedure under NFHS rule.

Player A1 commits an intentional personal foul on player B1, who is in the act of shooting and scores a two-point field goal. Then B1 and A1 start arguing and both receive a personal technical foul.

My questions are the following:
- A1 needs to be ejected from the game or not? I know that two technicals and two intentional fouls lead to ejection, but what about one technical and one intentional personal foul?
- The penalty for the intentional personal foul is 2 FTs + throw-in from the place nearest the game has stopped, whereas for both personal technical fouls the penalty is 2 FTs + throw-in from the division line. My question here is: what is the correct resumption-of-game procedure?

Thank you.
1) No such thing. All fouls are either Personal or Technical. They may also have a qualifier such as Intentional or Flagrant.

2) A player is not ejected for two intentional personal fouls in NFHS. A player is ejected for two technical fouls. So, A1 is not ejected.

So, in the play, the double Ts offset. Resume with B1 shooting two FTs for the INtentionl Personal and B getting the ball out of bounds neares the spot of the foul
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2018, 06:25pm
LRZ LRZ is online now
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 477
Under NFHS rules, the "Penalty, 1-c" section for Rule 10-6 states, "No free throws for double personal or technical fouls (point of interruption)."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2018, 09:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by italian_referee View Post
Hi all,

I had the following situation during a game and I would like to understand what would be the right procedure under NFHS rule.

Player A1 commits an intentional personal foul on player B1, who is in the act of shooting and scores a two-point field goal. Then B1 and A1 start arguing and both receive a personal technical foul.

My questions are the following:
- A1 needs to be ejected from the game or not? I know that two technicals and two intentional fouls lead to ejection, but what about one technical and one intentional personal foul?u
- The penalty for the intentional personal foul is 2 FTs + throw-in from the place nearest the game has stopped, whereas for both personal technical fouls the penalty is 2 FTs + throw-in from the division line. My question here is: what is the correct resumption-of-game procedure?

Thank you.
This may sound mean but where on earth did you get the idea that two intentional fouls lead to an ejection? Maybe a rule book would help here.

The penalty for intentional foul is always two shot and the ball nearest to the foul.

Remember that if you have simultaneous ( double) technical fouls you donít shoot the fouls and go to point if interruption which would be shooting the 2 for the intentional ( no one lined up) and ball OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2018, 09:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,852
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
The penalty for intentional foul is always two shot and the ball nearest to the foul.

Except ...

And, I do note that the OP seems to be from Italy, so maybe the FIA rules are different.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2018, 09:57pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
This may sound mean but where on earth did you get the idea that two intentional fouls lead to an ejection? Maybe a rule book would help here.

The penalty for intentional foul is always two shot and the ball nearest to the foul.

Remember that if you have simultaneous ( double) technical fouls you donít shoot the fouls and go to point if interruption which would be shooting the 2 for the intentional ( no one lined up) and ball OOB.

Kelvin:

Italian Referee is a FIBA Official who has recently relocated from Italy to Philadelphia, and as a former USA Basketball Referee, and from personal experience that FIBA Rules can be different in certain situations from NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and NBA/WNBA Rules.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 17, 2018, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: NW WI
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
This may sound mean but where on earth did you get the idea that two intentional fouls lead to an ejection? Maybe a rule book would help here.

The penalty for intentional foul is always two shot and the ball nearest to the foul.

Remember that if you have simultaneous ( double) technical fouls you donít shoot the fouls and go to point if interruption which would be shooting the 2 for the intentional ( no one lined up) and ball OOB.
This may sound mean but where on earth did you get the idea that the penalty for an intentional foul is always two shots and the ball nearest to the foul. Maybe you should look in a rule book before giving advice here.

You should take care of your own house before throwing stones at someone else's.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 12:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by zakman2005000 View Post
This may sound mean but where on earth did you get the idea that the penalty for an intentional foul is always two shots and the ball nearest to the foul. Maybe you should look in a rule book before giving advice here.

You should take care of your own house before throwing stones at someone else's.
Really? under NFHS tell me where that is not true? Rule 10 penalty summary #4 has no exceptions.... what a double intentional foul? Or a multiple intentional foul?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 12:23am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,255
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. View Post
Kelvin:

Italian Referee is a FIBA Official who has recently relocated from Italy to Philadelphia, and as a former USA Basketball Referee, and from personal experience that FIBA Rules can be different in certain situations from NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, and NBA/WNBA Rules.

MTD, Sr.
Ok makes sense
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 02:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
Really? under NFHS tell me where that is not true? Rule 10 penalty summary #4 has no exceptions.... what a double intentional foul? Or a multiple intentional foul?
Intentional personal foul when the shooter misses a 3pt try = three shots and a throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 09:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,255
Thanks... forgot about that one.i stand corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 9
Thank you all for your replies guys!

And you're right, in the rulebook there is no mention of ejection as a consequence of two intentional fouls, I was just mentally associating an intentional foul under NFHS rules with an unsportsmanlike foul in FIBA rules -- and two unsportsmanlike fouls do lead to an ejection -- but I need to be more careful apparently

Thank you all again!
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 18, 2018, 08:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by italian_referee View Post
Thank you all for your replies guys!

And you're right, in the rulebook there is no mention of ejection as a consequence of two intentional fouls, I was just mentally associating an intentional foul under NFHS rules with an unsportsmanlike foul in FIBA rules -- and two unsportsmanlike fouls do lead to an ejection -- but I need to be more careful apparently

Thank you all again!
I know some wRECk leagues do have a two intentional ejection rule even if they use NFHS rules otherwise.

The league I work has this in part as a way to curb way to physical play that was happening.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 21, 2018, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,284
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
Really? under NFHS tell me where that is not true? Rule 10 penalty summary #4 has no exceptions.... what a double intentional foul? Or a multiple intentional foul?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Intentional personal foul when the shooter misses a 3pt try = three shots and a throw-in.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
Thanks... forgot about that one.i stand corrected.
I'm too late to comment with any semblance of usefulness. However, I should note that I got a huge chuckle reading about how Nevada put Kelvin in timeout.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
intentional foul, technical foul

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Technical or False Double? ref3808 Basketball 13 Wed Jan 16, 2013 03:37am
Double-intentional-technical foul jhc2010 Basketball 10 Tue Mar 22, 2011 03:54pm
Double Foul and Double Technical routhless Basketball 10 Sat Jan 30, 2010 09:53am
Intentional or Technical klancie Basketball 21 Sun Dec 14, 2008 09:02pm
Technical or intentional? secondregionbug Basketball 24 Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:45pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:33pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1