The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 04, 2018, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Double Free Throw Violation

A1 is shooting the second of 2 foul shots. B1 enters the lane early before A1 releases the ball. A1 then air balls the free throw. It is determined by the calling official there was no distraction of A1 by B1. What is the correct call? (Sorry if this was posted earlier, but I couldn't find a thread discussing this situation.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 04, 2018, 04:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,422
Double violation. Go to the AP arrow.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 04, 2018, 04:49pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,239
It is actually it is treated like a simultaneous violation. You would go to the AP arrow and give the ball to the team that has the arrow.

If there were more FTs (which you clearly stated there was not) then they would get to shoot those if they were entitled to them. Obviously, that would not apply to a 1 and 1 bonus free throw situation.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 04, 2018, 04:52pm
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,614
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Double violation. Go to the AP arrow.
and for all those looking for it in the book, see Case Play 9.1.3. Situation G
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 04, 2018, 07:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 5
Thank you grunewar for the Case Book reference. I had overlooked it yesterday even though I have it underlined.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 05, 2018, 09:03am
LRZ LRZ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE PA
Posts: 440
You would also find the answer in the rule book, 9-1-4(b), which references 9-1-3.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double violation... but not on a free throw shot bradfordwilkins Basketball 23 Wed Dec 09, 2009 06:26pm
throw-in after double personal during free throw closetotheedge Basketball 26 Mon Dec 01, 2008 02:39am
Double Violation on free throw Largent Basketball 11 Fri Jan 06, 2006 04:08pm
Question about double violation on free throw Damian Basketball 10 Sat Sep 27, 2003 05:14pm
Free Throw/Double Violation? OK Ref Basketball 5 Mon Jan 28, 2002 06:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1