The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: A little east of there.
Posts: 573
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The video you (JRut) posted is NOT the same video as linked by the OP. In the OP's video, someone drove from the top of the key, made contact on a defender with the off arm , stepped back, and made a basket.

The question is whether that was a foul.
Buuuut, your video is an excellent play discussion.

FWIW, though, I was taught the same as you with respect to B1 losing verticality with his arms because the initial contact from A1 caused the "bow".

In this video, I'm not so sure B1's arms were ever in his vertical cylinder to begin with.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 01:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,656
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Do you know the time in the game at all? The game went into overtime, was it during the overtime?

Peace
I think it was a game winner -- so within the last 5 seconds or so of whatever the last period was.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 809
Bob is correct.....it is a jumper at the elbow / foul line. Some people on other sites have compared it to MJ pushing offByron Russell in the NBA Finals...still have no foul...
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 02:56pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
Are we talking about the video with the last foul with like 3.4 seconds?

Is this the play?



Peace
That is not a foul, just based on the contact, IMO. The contact is on top of the ball.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 03:19pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 27,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think it was a game winner -- so within the last 5 seconds or so of whatever the last period was.
Here is the play. Discuss away!!!



Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)

Last edited by JRutledge; Fri Feb 02, 2018 at 12:01pm.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 12:01pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 27,893
Bump, but I found the play in question.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 12:18pm
Often wrong never n doubt
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 699
Not much contact but it did gain him the space he needed to get the shot off.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 12:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,296
Rarely called, but that contact allowed him the space needed to get that shot off. It should be called more because it is an advantage.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 01:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: A little east of there.
Posts: 573
Just watched the vid again. The replay not only confirms a PC foul, but the slo mo clearly shows A1's arm contacting B1's torso first, then moving down to finish the separation. It happens really fast, though. And, I'm not sure the Trail was positioned in the best spot to get the best view between the players..and that contact. If the T had stepped down 1 - maybe 2 - steps, he would've seen it.

Now, would he have called it? I'm guessing no. He probably doesn't want that phone call.
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 02, 2018, 01:34pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 27,893
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Rarely called, but that contact allowed him the space needed to get that shot off. It should be called more because it is an advantage.
I usually call this or something like this. But also there are often attempts to use their arm that never actually materialize and everyone seems to think those situations should be called as well. This is close to me and I am not sure I would call this specific "push" attempt. I might call other situations. I just know that if this was a move, this was not likely the first time he attempted such a move in the game.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oklahoma @ Texas Tech JRutledge Basketball 7 Wed Feb 24, 2016 02:30am
Texas vs Texas tech (Video) Texref Basketball 8 Sun Jan 18, 2015 12:53pm
Texas vs Texas Tech Play carldog Basketball 7 Tue Jan 27, 2004 04:56pm
Texas/Texas Tech officials johnSandlin Basketball 4 Wed Jan 16, 2002 01:05am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1