The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 134
Throw-in question

A1 has ball out of bounds in the back-court. Throws in to A2, who is the the front court-- but it is a bounce pass, and the bounce was in the back-court. Is that over-and-back?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 236
Um, no. Why would it be?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 31, 2018, 12:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotationslim View Post
A1 has ball out of bounds in the back-court. Throws in to A2, who is the the front court-- but it is a bounce pass, and the bounce was in the back-court. Is that over-and-back?
I think you mean "adjacent to the back-court." That might help answer the question (or the similar question where the ball bounces in the FC and is recovered in the BC)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 12:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 116
During a throw-in, the ball does not have backcourt or frontcourt "status" until it is possessed in bounds. Since possession is first gained by A2 in the frontcourt, no it would not be.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 12:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedAndWhiteRef View Post
During a throw-in, the ball does not have backcourt or frontcourt "status" until it is possessed in bounds. Since possession is first gained by A2 in the frontcourt, no it would not be.
I wouldn't say that. It has frontcourt/backcourt status as soon as it touches the floor or a player inbounds. However, it usually doesn't matter until after it is in player control.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 12:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedAndWhiteRef View Post
During a throw-in, the ball does not have backcourt or frontcourt "status" until it is possessed in bounds. Since possession is first gained by A2 in the frontcourt, no it would not be.
Someone can perhaps find definition of "status" but I think location of the ball is defined as where it is (roughly speaking). So ball touches BC therefore the ball's location is BC. Then it goes to A2 and then ball's location is FC. Sound right?

Does status = location?

Don't believe that possession is part of definition of location. No book handy though.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Someone can perhaps find definition of "status" but I think location of the ball is defined as where it is (roughly speaking). So ball touches BC therefore the ball's location is BC. Then it goes to A2 and then ball's location is FC. Sound right?

Does status = location?

Don't believe that possession is part of definition of location. No book handy though.
The rule book uses "location" not "status" and a balls location is defined based on what the ball is touching (player or court) or last touched. None of which matters to the OP.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 09:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
The rule book uses "location" not "status" and a balls location is defined based on what the ball is touching (player or court) or last touched. None of which matters to the OP.
Yes, although the case book has references to the word "status." Case 9.9.1 sit D comes to mind and it happens to involve a BC ruling.

Is it safe to say that "location" and "status" are synonymous as far as NFHS rules/cases? Can anyone provide evidence that would suggest otherwise?
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 117
So let's change the play in the OP

A1 throwin near the division line. A1 throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in what will be A1's FC then comes up to A2 standing in A's BC.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:24am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
So let's change the play in the OP

A1 throwin near the division line. A1 throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in what will be A1's FC then comes up to A2 standing in A's BC.
Still Ok. Must have team and player control established in the front court before a BC violation can occur.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:31am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
So let's change the play in the OP

A1 throwin near the division line. A1 throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in what will be A1's FC then comes up to A2 standing in A's BC.
What's the difference between that play and the play were A3 in the FC deflects the ball into the BC and A2 retrieves it?
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 12,574
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Still Ok. Must have team and player control established in the front court before a BC violation can occur.
Incorrect. There must be PC established anywhere on the court AND at some point TC in the FC.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,655
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
What's the difference between that play and the play were A3 in the FC deflects the ball into the BC and A2 retrieves it?
No difference, if they are both during throw-ins.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 01, 2018, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valley Man View Post
So let's change the play in the OP

A1 throwin near the division line. A1 throws a bounce pass to A2. The ball bounces in what will be A1's FC then comes up to A2 standing in A's BC.
Not what "will be". It IS A's FC. It is always A's FC whether A has the ball or not. It is just that it doesn't mean much until A has control of the ball.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in question Terrapins Fan Basketball 4 Fri Feb 22, 2013 12:56am
Another throw-in question Mark Padgett Basketball 26 Tue Dec 07, 2010 07:27pm
Throw in question ripcord51 Basketball 4 Mon Nov 30, 2009 11:57am
Throw in question. mu4scott Basketball 7 Fri Feb 22, 2008 06:27pm
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1