The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2018, 12:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by so cal lurker View Post
So in the hopeless unlikely scenario that Billy Mac raised, if a team is out of time outs at the end of the game that is going to OT, but requests one (thinking he has a new one for OT) before OT starts, does the R, (A) grant a TO and give a T for not having any, or (B) tell the coach that he can't be granted the additional TO until after the OT starts?

(And for the life of me I can't figure out why a realistic reason a coach would do that anyway . . .maybe the star is still having a cut wrapped up?)
B, then A if the coach still wants it. (This is kind of the exception to the "grant any request that meets the requirements" guideline.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2018, 12:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
B, then A if the coach still wants it. (This is kind of the exception to the "grant any request that meets the requirements" guideline.)
Agree.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2018, 01:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
B, then A if the coach still wants it. (This is kind of the exception to the "grant any request that meets the requirements" guideline.)
I agree but I would also, and some may disagree with this, tell the coach that if he still wants to call a TO, then he would receive a T.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2018, 12:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 45
Ok, how about this sitch:

Tie game. 2.3 seconds left. Team A inbounding bedding to go the length of the floor to score. Team B steals the inbounds pass just outside the 3 point line and turns to shoot. B1 is fouled in the act of shooting a three point shot as time expires. Team A still has 3 time outs.

Is there any reason Team A couldn’t call a timeout before the first free throw is attempted, and then if that is missed, call another one before the second FT, and if that misses, take another timeout before the final FT.

I had that in a game yesterday, just without the timeouts mixed in. Player misses the first two before making the third to win the game.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2018, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by Big_Blue_Wannabe View Post
Is there any reason Team A couldn’t call a timeout before the first free throw is attempted, and then if that is missed, call another one before the second FT, and if that misses, take another timeout before the final FT.
So -- you're asking whether a successive timeout may (not) be granted depends on whether the ball becomes live or the clock starts?

The definition of successive timeout is clear.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 26, 2018, 01:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
So -- you're asking whether a successive timeout may (not) be granted depends on whether the ball becomes live or the clock starts?

The definition of successive timeout is clear.
"STO is one which is granted to either team before the clock has started following the previous time-out." So, no, could not request them between FT's. Ball was live but clock did not start.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 11:35am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,370
Either Team ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
"STO is one which is granted to either team before the clock has started following the previous time-out." So, no, could not request them between FT's. Ball was live but clock did not start.
Either team.

Just to be clear: In a tied game, with both teams having multiple timeouts still available, with Team A in the double bonus, A1 is fouled so close to the end of the fourth period that the buzzer subsequently sounds and the clock shows 0:00:00.

Officials meet and decide that while the foul occurred barely before the buzzer, nobody has any definite knowledge regarding how much time was on the clock when the foul occurred. As the officials are moving into position to allow A1 free throws with the lane cleared, Team A requests and is granted a sixty second time out.

After the timeout, A1 misses the first of two free throws. Team B now requests a sixty second timeout.

The officials deny Team B's timeout request because the rule states that successive timeouts may not be granted to either team.

Right?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 27, 2018 at 12:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Either team.

... The officials deny Team B's timeout request because the rule states that successive timeouts may not be granted to either team.

Right?
Right. Only after time has expired (which in this case, it has) but yes, right.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 08:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Either team.

Just to be clear: In a tied game, with both teams having multiple timeouts still available, with Team A in the double bonus, A1 is fouled so close to the end of the fourth period that the buzzer subsequently sounds and the clock shows 0:00:00.

Officials meet and decide that while the foul occurred barely before the buzzer, nobody has any definite knowledge regarding how much time was on the clock when the foul occurred. As the officials are moving into position to allow A1 free throws with the lane cleared, Team A requests and is granted a sixty second time out.

After the timeout, A1 misses the first of two free throws. Team B now requests a sixty second timeout.

The officials deny Team B's timeout request because the rule states that successive timeouts may not be granted to either team.

Right?
I vote incorrect. I feel that successive TO's, based on the wording, refers to each team.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Timeout for a CE Sharpshooternes Basketball 1 Sat Oct 12, 2013 07:34am
Timeout soundedlikeastrike Basketball 18 Fri Oct 28, 2011 11:52am
timeout timeout Basketball 3 Thu Feb 17, 2011 09:25am
Timeout??? Bchill24 Basketball 6 Tue Dec 25, 2001 12:34am
Timeout Rookie Basketball 17 Wed Dec 12, 2001 04:44am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1