The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2018, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Seaford, Virginia
Posts: 132
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
This isn't a block/charge play, this is a grounded play. Defenders are not allowed to be grounded in the RA, they must jump vertically to take contact and contest a shot.
What does that mean?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2018, 11:39am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Arem is correct. Contact on a shooter by a grounded secondary defender is by rule a foul on the defender. Crap rule, easy correct call.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2018, 11:40am
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrPete View Post
What does that mean?
It means you should read a NCAA-M rule book or watch the NCAA-M videos explaining the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2018, 11:48am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
It means you should read a NCAA-M rule book or watch the NCAA-M videos explaining the rule.
That is not what the rule says. The rule is clear that there must be illegal contact and the purpose of drawing an offensive foul. He was not doing that, he was defending the play and by all accounts was vertical.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2018, 12:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
That is not what the rule says. The rule is clear that there must be illegal contact and the purpose of drawing an offensive foul. He was not doing that, he was defending the play and by all accounts was vertical.

Peace
Agree. I'd have a no call on that anywhere on the floor.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2018, 12:39pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
JD is pretty clear in the coaches rules training video from this summer that the defender must jump and may not remain grounded in the RA to contest the shot.

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2018, 01:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
JD is pretty clear in the coaches rules training video from this summer that the defender must jump and may not remain grounded in the RA to contest the shot.
I disagree. He was clear that the defender has a right to jump up and down (Point A to Point A) in order to contest the shot, and should not be penalized if contact occurs in his vertical plane. What happens when he remains grounded while contesting the shot was not made clear, so I am to assume that such a play remains an RA block if contact occurs, even if the defender remains in his vertical plane. But I can't get my head wrapped around the concept of calling a block in this instance just because some extremely marginal contact occurred on a grounded vertical defender inside the RA. I discount any notion that this was the committee's intent.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 05, 2018, 05:47pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
I disagree. He was clear that the defender has a right to jump up and down (Point A to Point A) in order to contest the shot, and should not be penalized if contact occurs in his vertical plane. What happens when he remains grounded while contesting the shot was not made clear, so I am to assume that such a play remains an RA block if contact occurs, even if the defender remains in his vertical plane. But I can't get my head wrapped around the concept of calling a block in this instance just because some extremely marginal contact occurred on a grounded vertical defender inside the RA. I discount any notion that this was the committee's intent.
You would be correct. Rulebook states "illegal contact", not "all contact". I had this back-and-forth" with a coach this weekend concerning 2 plays where his team scored and there was marginal contact in the RA.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2018, 05:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: 3 hrs east of the western time zone
Posts: 895
Correct Call

Gentlemen,

Please ignore amount of contact or whether it is "legal". Defender is "grounded" in RA. L "patiently" waits to see if ball goes in basket, it does not. Lead comes late. Larry K doesn't understand rule. Easy correct call....on to the next play. If the defender gets an inch off the ground in a vertical manner we would have had a no call.
__________________
Go ugly early, avoid the rush !!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2018, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Multiple Sports View Post
Gentlemen,

Please ignore amount of contact or whether it is "legal". Defender is "grounded" in RA. L "patiently" waits to see if ball goes in basket, it does not. Lead comes late. Larry K doesn't understand rule. Easy correct call....on to the next play. If the defender gets an inch off the ground in a vertical manner we would have had a no call.
He, indeed, may have been an inch off the ground.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 06, 2018, 08:32am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
JD is pretty clear in the coaches rules training video from this summer that the defender must jump and may not remain grounded in the RA to contest the shot.

So I just watch this video for the upteenth time and I still don't hear anywhere in the video JD say ANY contact leads to a foul. And the rule book says illegal contact.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Arizona @ Colorado Plays (Video) JRutledge Basketball 5 Fri Feb 26, 2016 07:19am
Utah vs Duke (Video 2/2) Nevadaref Basketball 12 Sat Mar 28, 2015 06:24am
Arizona/Utah: an announcer knows the rule! bballref3966 Basketball 4 Sun Mar 01, 2015 03:11pm
Arizona/Arizona State Block-Charge (video) JetMetFan Basketball 11 Mon Feb 17, 2014 11:13am
Video Request Arizona/Oregon (Video) OKREF Basketball 14 Sat Feb 08, 2014 05:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1