![]() |
|
|
|||
Team Control Foul
Scenario: A1 is on a breakaway with A2 and defender B1 in close proximity. As A1 is in the 'try' for basket (with the ball in A1's hand) A2 makes illegal contact with B1 to cause a TC foul. Partner blew the whistle and allowed the try to continue and counted the goal and then administered the TC foul on A2. Team B was then given the ball OOB for a throw-in. If this was correct (I have my doubts) then I assume of course if the ball was 'released' and then the TC foul occurred then the shot would count as well?
Comments/rule references are welcome? Thank you ! |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
As described, this is not correct.
If the ball was still in A1's hands, then the try is cancelled. Award B the ball OOB at the spot nearest the foul. If the ball had been released on the try, then the try counts. If it is successful and B is NOT in the bonus, B can run the end-line. IF the try is not successful and B is NOT in the bonus, the B gets a spot throw-in. If B is in the bonus, B shoots FTs, whether or not the try was successful. |
|
|||
Team Control Foul
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
If it is after the release, then there is no longer TC, and merited free throws would be shot regardless of the success of the original try.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Team Control Foul and Player Control | The_Rookie | Basketball | 19 | Mon Oct 29, 2012 05:03pm |
Player Control or Team Control Foul | The_Rookie | Basketball | 1 | Sun Jan 16, 2011 04:19pm |
team control foul | yankeesfan | Basketball | 33 | Wed Jan 25, 2006 08:55am |
Team Control Foul | refnrev | Basketball | 33 | Tue Jul 26, 2005 01:10pm |
Player control vs Team control foul | QuebecRef87 | Basketball | 6 | Wed Jan 26, 2005 07:42am |