Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP
It is not a fundamental concept that you must have player control before establishing team control. There are 20 fundamental rules. This is not one.
Art 5 does not overrule Art 2. Art 2 says that you have team control during a pass.
You still did not answer my question about the casebook comment.
|
4-12-5 explains that 4-12-2 does not apply during rebounding. 4-12-5 is there specifically so people don't do what you are trying to do. It specifies (pretty clearly at that) the circumstances that allow team control to be re-established when it has been ended by rule.
By rule, there is no team control once the ball has become loose on a tap or try for goal until player control has been reestablished.
I'll be the first to argue that the basketball rules are poorly written (I still haven't found a rule that actually awards the first free throw in the 1 and 1, only the rule that awards the second if the first is successful). However, this issue is fairly clear if you'd actually look at what people are showing you instead of focusing on trying not to be proven wrong.