The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2017, 10:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
I would hardly say that in your scenario that there is a specific target.
The teammate in the corner is not a specific target? Again, when would you start your back court count?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2017, 10:32pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
The teammate in the corner is not a specific target? Again, when would you start your back court count?
1.) Player and team control is needed to start the count.
2.) If the ball was batted so high that it took 3 seconds to reach the target 25 feet away then I would not say it was specifically intended to target that individual. You can but I won't.

Last edited by CJP; Wed Dec 06, 2017 at 10:38pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2017, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
1.) Player and team control is needed to start the count.
2.) If the ball was batted so high that it took 3 seconds to reach the target 25 feet away then I would not say it was specifically intended to target that individual. You can but I won't.
Then how can you say A5's batting a rebound all the way into the back court was specifically intended for A1? By the way, in my situation I'm not starting the back court count until the teammate establishes player/team control when he catches the ball just as in the OP. When A5 bats a rebound all the way into the back court, player/team control did not begin until A1 recovered the ball. No violation, just the start of a back court count.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2017, 11:16pm
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Then how can you say A5's batting a rebound all the way into the back court was specifically intended for A1? By the way, in my situation I'm not starting the back court count until the teammate establishes player/team control when he catches the ball just as in the OP. When A5 bats a rebound all the way into the back court, player/team control did not begin until A1 recovered the ball. No violation, just the start of a back court count.
1. By the time the ball reaches the corner in your hypothetical situation, there would be multiple players there.
2. There has not been enough detail provided about the intentional batting of the ball in the OP. I am saying it is possible to have a backcourt violation. Others are saying it is impossible.
3. Of course you would not start your 10 count until there was player contol in the backcourt in your b5 rebounding situation. That is the rule.

Last edited by CJP; Wed Dec 06, 2017 at 11:21pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 06, 2017, 11:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
3. Of course you would not start your 10 count until there was player contol in the backcourt in your b5 rebounding situation. That is the rule.
How so? The 10 count is about team control, not player control. If there is team control, the 10 count starts the instant the ball goes into the backcourt. If, as you say, a bat starts team control, then it would start on a ball batted to the backcourt on a rebound. And if it were to another player, it would have to be a backcourt violation. But it isn't.

Just trust me, you can't have team control without having had player control first. That is rules 101.

As for your casebook reference, they have to spell it out that way because some people will try to insist there is team control when there has never been player control. That just is not the case.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Dec 06, 2017 at 11:56pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 12:04am
CJP CJP is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
How so? The 10 count is about team control, not player control. If there is team control, the 10 count starts the instant the ball goes into the backcourt. If, as you say, a bat starts team control, then it would start on a ball batted to the backcourt on a rebound. And if it were to another player, it would have to be a backcourt violation. But it isn't.

Just trust me, you can't have team control without having had player control first. That is rules 101.
Rule 9 Section 8. Paste it here for people to read and decide when to count. Then I can decide if I should trust you.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2017, 03:12am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by CJP View Post
Rule 9 Section 8. Paste it here for people to read and decide when to count. Then I can decide if I should trust you.
Not really relevant to this discussion, but if you insist....

Rule 9-8
Quote:
A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.
You can't have player control without also having team control, so all you really need to know with respect to the 10 count is that when there team control with the ball in the backcourt the count starts. There may or may not be player control too but it is completely irrelevant. The part about player control in that rule could be left out and it wouldn't change anything whatsoever.

Again....team control starts with player control, always. Batting the ball, even to another player, despite how much you want to twist the wording of the rules, does not constitute the start of player control. That phrase, as you've been told, only means to say that team control continues even when the ball is being passed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Dec 07, 2017 at 03:15am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:36pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1