![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Yes. Once a defensive player has obtained (NFHS) a LGP, he/she may move to maintain it and if there is contact with the player in control of the ball when the contact occurs, the offensive player is responsible for the contact as long as the defensive player is not moving obliquely toward the player with the ball. I do not have my rules books with me but you will fund the definition of LGP in Rule 4 under Guarding in the NFHS, NCAA Men's, and NCAA Women's Rules Books. The wording will be exactly the same except that the NCAA still uses the word "establish" instead of the word "obtain". The NFHS made the change about 20 years ago. The FIBA definition is also exactly the same (it also uses the word " establish") but I do not remember which Rule it is in in the FUBA Rules Book. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
|
|||
|
You are correct on both questions.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Test results | just another ref | Basketball | 6 | Sat Dec 01, 2012 01:17pm |
| NCAA CFO test results?? | BoBo | Football | 1 | Sat Sep 10, 2011 12:55pm |
| IAABO Test Results | shavano | Basketball | 17 | Sun Nov 21, 2010 12:38pm |
| Game results | MWI | Basketball | 1 | Fri Nov 18, 2005 01:42pm |
| still waiting for cfoa test results | beachgirl | Football | 6 | Thu Aug 29, 2002 11:48pm |