The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 19, 2017, 08:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
This happened today to me. Shooter A-1 drives to the hoop and the ball enters the basket. After he returns to the floor he is fouled by B-1. I called the hoop good and had team A take the ball out of bounds at the spot of the foul (not in the bonus).
During a time out my partner says he had never seen this call before and had been thinking about my call. He asks that after the ball passes through the hoop the ball becomes dead (until at the disposal of team B)... shouldn't my foul call have been a technical in that case.
Not sure if he is correct or not. Any thoughts people? Casebook ?

PS: Explaining the first call was hard enough. If we had administered at technical foul there that would have really set off coach A.
If it was hard to explain it shouldn't have been made. Once it's through hoop it has to be intentional or flagrant. Even an accidental train wreck isn't a foul. Leave it alone. If it has to be called it will be obvious to everybody in the gym and easy to explain..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 05:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
As others have pointed out this contact should have been ignored as it took place during a dead ball. Your rules reference is 4-19-1 Note.

What you did was call a common foul during a dead ball, which is not permissible, unless the foul is committed by an airborne shooter.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 08:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
I will add that you can have a personal foul during this dead ball period in NCAAW -- so expect a little more confusion on this rules difference.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 20, 2017, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 117
Thanks for the input guys. I have never in 20 yrs had this happen. If I make a call like this its usually been a jump shooter who returns to the floor and the shot did not go in making it a reasonable call. That being said. I had no idea the ball went through until after I blew the whistle as I was watching both players land. I wouldn't say the contact was intentional or flagrant ... they just both landed fairly hard because of the contact... hence the whistle. I think in the future I will ignore the contact on this type of play unless as stated it was flagrant.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 23, 2017, 12:34pm
#thereferee99
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 624
NCAA-W rule change this year.

NCAA-W now allows for a foul in this dead ball period to be ruled a common foul.

Fouls - Personal Foul. (Rule 10-10.1). A personal foul is a player’s illegal contact with an opponent during a live ball, except for the dead-ball period immediately following a successful goal.
__________________
-- #thereferee99
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Airborne shooter tref Basketball 10 Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:30pm
Non-airborne shooter? Mark Padgett Basketball 7 Sat Dec 08, 2007 12:40pm
no airborne shooter Junker Basketball 24 Sun Jan 14, 2007 06:34pm
Airborne Shooter? johnnyrao Basketball 3 Sat Sep 24, 2005 12:30am
Airborne Passer vs Airborne Shooter SDREGIIBB Basketball 8 Mon Apr 11, 2005 04:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1