The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #121 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 11:32am
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,412
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
No. That's PC (not TC), and only during a dribble.

If Camron's plays are not violations, it's because of the "last to touch" criterion, not because of the "TC" or the "front court" criteria.
Thank you! I got into a mini-argument with a partner during halftime of a high school varsity game (I say "mini" because I dropped it right away as it wasn't important enough to keep arguing about). She happens to work college as well, and I didn't know if the rule was different. Even though the player was not dribbling, she insisted (and my other partner in a three man crew even backed her up) that all three points need to move into the frontcourt.
Reply With Quote
  #122 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 12:35pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,391
Send a message via AIM to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via MSN to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Send a message via Yahoo to Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
1) As the person who posted the first comment after the OP, and am only now making my second comment in the thread, I am amused that this thread is still going and nine pages long.

2) If one does an Advanced Search one will see that this thread is only the latest in a number of many long thread on this Rule.

3) One will also see that I have always been a proponent of the Interpretation that many many people here do not like. And by always, I mean since 1971, when I started officiating. I graduated from H.S. in 1969 (I started playing JrHS basketball in 1964-64.) and I know that this was the Interpretation from the National Basketball Committee of the United States and Canada (the rules maker for boys'/girls' H.S. and men's college until it split into the NFHS and NCAA Men's Rules Committees either after the 1977-78 or 1978-79 seasons, and without climbing up into the attic to check I am favoring the former rather than the latter.

4) Since I retired from officiating women's college and men's jr. college after the 2007-08 season I download the NCAA Men's and Women's Rules and Casebook Plays but I do not really read them in detail as I probably should and rely on Jeff and Bob, to keep me abreast of those Rules when they make comments in the Forum.

5) And after nine pages are we not beating a dead horse to further death. LOL!

Have a good one everyone!

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #123 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 06:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,294
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawkeyes View Post
In Camron’s cases: Team A never has team control in the front court?

Team control would mean all three points in the front court - correct?

The OP begins in the front court with actual team control in the front court.
His scenarios begin with team control in the back court. Team control is never established in the front court.
I don’t like the NF interpretation, but I don’t see how his scenarios are remotely similar?

Incorrect, on my cases. Even those team A has control of the ball in the backcourt, the instant team B (who is in the frontcourt) bats the ball, the ball gains FC status. Team control by Team A continues throughout this time since nothing that ends team control has occurred. This is because the ball location is determined by where the player is when touching the ball. With team B in the FC, the ball is in the FC the moment they touch it while in the FC. Team A does not need to be involved in giving the ball FC status.

Then, when the ball again touches team A, still in the BC, the ball would have been in the FC from team B's touch, but not returns to the BC when team A touches it again. By the interpretation, that would be a violation....a very silly violation not supported by the rules.

Now that I think about it, I might just rule that the "tap" by team B established team control for team B so that I wouldn't have to call a bogus BC violation.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #124 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 27, 2018, 10:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 74
[QUOTE=Camron Rust;1015742]Incorrect
Now that I think about it, I might just rule that the "tap" by team B established team control for team B so that I wouldn't have to call a bogus BC violation. [/

Hey Hawk,
What did you see on Camronís call?

Coach, I had a good look at it too, and I completely agree him!!!



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
"Coach, that was an easy call for me to make"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Straddling the foul line scarolinablue Baseball 16 Fri May 10, 2013 01:10pm
"Short Gyms" Division Line is still Division Line? NoFussRef Basketball 16 Mon Feb 28, 2011 11:09pm
Division line phansen Basketball 4 Sat Jan 17, 2009 01:05pm
What was (is) the purpose of the division line? CMHCoachNRef Basketball 36 Fri Jan 16, 2009 05:24pm
Straddling the division line. mick Basketball 21 Wed Feb 09, 2005 09:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1