The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Oct 18, 2017, 09:56am
Official Forum Member

Did I miss this?

I've been playing basketball for 35 years, and I was playing last night, and my competitor came up with 2 new rules that I wasn't aware of, or he's making them up from his way of learning it.

I was on defense in the key, offense was in green.

Green wing was moving towards the left post. When that happened, I was going to help and contest the other player, but my guy that I was guarding, with his back to the hoop, was moving down the block, so that I could not get past him. To me, that seemed like a moving screen, but he said he was just moving normally around the court.
Old Wed Oct 18, 2017, 09:59am
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by slinky View Post
To me, that seemed like a moving screen, but he said he was just moving normally around the court.
That's why officials get the big bucks.
Old Wed Oct 18, 2017, 10:32am
Official Forum Member

Some rules that would apply in general to this situation:

SECTION 23 GUARDING
ART. 1 . . . Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. There is no minimum distance required between the guard and opponent, but the maximum is 6 feet when closely guarded. Every player is entitled to a spot on the playing court provided such player gets there first without illegally contacting an opponent. A player who extends an arm, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs.

SECTION 27 INCIDENTAL CONTACT
Incidental contact is contact with an opponent which is permitted and which does not constitute a foul.
ART. 1 . . . The mere fact that contact occurs does not constitute a foul. When 10 players are moving rapidly in a limited area, some contact is certain to occur.