The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 09, 2017, 07:41am
This IS My Social Life
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: at L, T, or C
Posts: 2,379
2017-18 NFHS Interpretations, Pt.2

SITUATION 8: A1, while dribbling the ball in the frontcourt near the midcourt line, has the ball strike the midcourt line and as the ball comes up from the dribble, A1 touches the ball and continues to dribble. RULING: Backcourt violation. A1 may not be the first to touch the ball in the backcourt if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt, before it went to the backcourt. (9-9-1)

SITUATION 9: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball to A2, who had been standing in the free-throw lane since A1 had the ball at his/her disposal. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the three-second rule specifically requires that a team be in control in its frontcourt for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the frontcourt. (4-35-2, 9-7)

SITUATION 10: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her backcourt. The administering official reaches a four-second count when A1 passes the ball onto the court. A1’s pass to A2, who is also in Team A’s backcourt, takes several bounces and six seconds before A2 picks up and controls the ball. RULING: Legal. Even though a team is now in control during a throw-in, the 10-second rule specifically requires that a player/team be in continuous control in its backcourt for 10 seconds for a violation to occur. Technically speaking, the thrower-in is out of bounds and not located in the backcourt. (4-35-2, 9-8)

SITUATION 11: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the free-throw line, is high, bounces several times and goes into Team A’s backcourt
untouched. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player control and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball in the backcourt and the backcourt count starts as soon as A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2, 9-9)

SITUATION 12: A1 has the ball for an end-line throw-in in his/her frontcourt. A1’s pass to A2, who is in the frontcourt standing near the division line, is high and deflects off A2’s hand and goes into Team A’s backcourt. A2 is then the first to control the ball in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Legal. There is no backcourt violation since player control and team control had not yet been established in Team A’s frontcourt before the ball went into Team A’s backcourt. The throw-in ends when A2 legally touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A2 gains control in his/her backcourt. (4-12-2, 9-9)

SITUATION 13: The head coach of Team A is upset that the foul count against his team is 7 to 2. He voices his opinion in an unsporting manner to the contest official. RULING: The official should stop play if it is not a break situation with a potential scoring opportunity and give the coach an official warning by notifying the scorekeeper and then letting the coach know that he has been warned. The scorekeeper should make note of the warning in the scorebook. This situation does not have to be given a warning; the coach could be issued a technical immediately. (4-48)

SITUATION 14: During a live ball, the assistant coach is off the bench and out of the coaching box giving instructions to a player on the court. RULING: The official should rule a technical on the assistant coach for being off the bench and out of the coaching box. (4-48)

SITUATION 15: During the second quarter, the head coach is off the bench expressing his disapproval of several calls made. As the team brings the ball down the floor into the frontcourt, the trail official stops play to issue a warning. RULING: The official is correct in issuing a warning to the coach for the complaints. The scorekeeper is notified, as well as the coach, of the warning. Another warning cannot be given. (4-48)

SITUATION 16: During the warm-up period, the referee notices on the back of Team B’s jersey the letters (a) PHHS and (b) P+E+T. RULING: Legal in (a) as the letters on the jersey represent the official name of the school; illegal in (b) as the letters do not represent the name of the school, which makes the jersey illegal. The head coach shall be charged with a direct technical foul and the game will begin with the opponents shooting two free throws and receiving the ball for a division line throw-in. The head coach will lose coaching-box privileges. (3-4-4, 10-6-4)

SITUATION 17: Team A is wearing a jersey with the school name above the number on the front and the player name in the shoulder area across the back. RULING: Legal. It is permissible to place the names in these locations. (3-4-4)
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2017, 04:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
SITUATION 13: The head coach of Team A is upset that the foul count against his team is 7 to 2. He voices his opinion in an unsporting manner to the contest official. RULING: The official should stop play if it is not a break situation with a potential scoring opportunity and give the coach an official warning by notifying the scorekeeper and then letting the coach know that he has been warned. The scorekeeper should make note of the warning in the scorebook. This situation does not have to be given a warning; the coach could be issued a technical immediately. (4-48)
Glad to see this got cleaned up.
__________________
Lurker from Massachusetts. Not an official in any sport.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2017, 07:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by bwburke94 View Post
Glad to see this got cleaned up.
Wasn't there a substantially similar case already in the book?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 12, 2017, 08:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 536
Iowa has taken this a step farther. Warnings issued during play will be recorded in the book during the next stoppage in play. Officials will not stop play just for a warning.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
SITUATION 14: During a live ball, the assistant coach is off the bench and out of the coaching box giving instructions to a player on the court. RULING: The official should rule a technical on the assistant coach for being off the bench and out of the coaching box. (4-48)
Until I read this, I thought I had this in perspective. I have often addressed a HC about an AC's actions, including varying degrees of the above offense.

This interp makes it appear this is a Major offense of 10-5-2 and/or 10/5/4, since those are "warnable" offenses. Do you think it is the "out of the coaching box" that makes this a T?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
Until I read this, I thought I had this in perspective. I have often addressed a HC about an AC's actions, including varying degrees of the above offense.

This interp makes it appear this is a Major offense of 10-5-2 and/or 10/5/4, since those are "warnable" offenses. Do you think it is the "out of the coaching box" that makes this a T?
Assistant coaches don't get warnings.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
NFHS says they do

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
Assistant coaches don't get warnings.
According to 10-5-1a,b,d,e,f,2&4, officials shall warn the head coach unless the offense is judged to be major. Guess I need to step up my game.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scratch85 View Post
According to 10-5-1a,b,d,e,f,2&4, officials shall warn the head coach unless the offense is judged to be major. Guess I need to step up my game.
The situation you referenced was specifically about what the assistant coach was doing, and the new rule specifically says that assistant coaches do not get the courtesy of a warning. So if the assistant coach is misbehaving, and you need to punish him for it, the new official warning is not an option.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Oct 16, 2017, 04:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 569
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smitty View Post
the new rule specifically says that assistant coaches do not get the courtesy of a warning.
Is that derived from the interp or is it written somewhere that I missed?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2017, 08:17am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
According to the NFHS Preseason Guide, it is improper to warn a coach more than once, even if the infractions are different.

Play 3: Team A's head coach is outside of the coaching box and is coaching his or her team. An official stops play to have the scorer record the warning in the scorebook and then notifies team A's head coach that he or she has been warned for being outside the coaching box. Later in the game team A's head coach, while within the coaching box, is demonstratively waving his or her hands at an official in disgust over a foul ruling. An official stops play and goes through the process to have a warning recorded.
Ruling 3: The official was correct to rule a warning to the coach for being outside of the coaching box. It also is acceptable to work through the same preventive officiating practices to remind the coach to remain within the coaching box as done in prior years. Repeated or constant attempts to keep a coach within a coaching box is not acceptable. It is not correct to rule a warning later to the same coach who was already warned. Once another or different rule is broken, a technical foul must be ruled. Further, a coach demonstratively waving his or her hands is a major violation of the rule and is a direct technical foul regardless of a prior warning.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2017, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
According to the NFHS Preseason Guide, it is improper to warn a coach more than once, even if the infractions are different.

Play 3: Team A's head coach is outside of the coaching box and is coaching his or her team. An official stops play to have the scorer record the warning in the scorebook and then notifies team A's head coach that he or she has been warned for being outside the coaching box. Later in the game team A's head coach, while within the coaching box, is demonstratively waving his or her hands at an official in disgust over a foul ruling. An official stops play and goes through the process to have a warning recorded.
Ruling 3: The official was correct to rule a warning to the coach for being outside of the coaching box. It also is acceptable to work through the same preventive officiating practices to remind the coach to remain within the coaching box as done in prior years. Repeated or constant attempts to keep a coach within a coaching box is not acceptable. It is not correct to rule a warning later to the same coach who was already warned. Once another or different rule is broken, a technical foul must be ruled. Further, a coach demonstratively waving his or her hands is a major violation of the rule and is a direct technical foul regardless of a prior warning.
Good catch. NFHS already addressed it. Thanks.

With this in mind, I think my tendency will be to save my warning for conduct stuff, because non-egregious box issues can be handled with preventive officiating just as the interp above suggests.

Definitely worth including in the pre-game with the crew. I don't think it would behoove us to have three different philosophies out there when it comes to warnings.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 18, 2017, 10:56pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,440
The Palmetto State ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by SC Official View Post
It is not correct to rule a warning later to the same coach who was already warned. Once another or different rule is broken, a technical foul must be ruled
Nice citation SC Official. Thanks.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 19, 2017, 06:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
There's a case play that says the below regarding this violation and leaving or entering the semicircle is a violation.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1)
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2017, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 847
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
There's a case play that says the below regarding this violation and leaving or entering the semicircle is a violation.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e Penalty 1)
It looks like you are referring to Case Book play 9.1.3 SITUATION I:

The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e PENALTY 1)


Nothing about Shooter A1 entering the Free throw area after the ball is at his/Her disposal. Go to 10.4.5c
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 24, 2017, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
It looks like you are referring to Case Book play 9.1.3 SITUATION I:

The official administering a free throw awarded to A1 places the ball at his/her disposal. A1, who is inside the free-throw semicircle leaves the semicircle to confer with a teammate.

RULING: Violation. After the ball has been placed at the disposal of the free thrower, he/she is not permitted to leave or enter the free-throw semicircle without violating, until restrictions have ended. (9-1-3e PENALTY 1)


Nothing about Shooter A1 entering the Free throw area after the ball is at his/Her disposal. Go to 10.4.5c
Huh?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NFHS Past Interpretations Archive (2024-25 Added) Nevadaref Basketball 39 Tue Nov 05, 2024 09:52am
NFHS 2017-18 Rules Changes SC Official Basketball 275 Wed Nov 08, 2017 03:37pm
2017-18 NFHS Interpretations, Pt.1 Freddy Basketball 17 Tue Oct 10, 2017 06:31pm
2017-18 NFHS Error(s) SC Official Basketball 13 Fri Sep 08, 2017 02:03pm
2017-18 NFHS Comments, POE's SC Official Basketball 19 Mon Jun 05, 2017 04:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1