![]() |
|
|||
![]()
Here's a link to one of those videos that gives the impression that the official made the wrong call. He calls a shooting foul in the final seconds of a girls game. However, if you look closely, you will see that the shooter traveled just prior to taking the shot. She intercepts a pass and then hops on her left foot just before taking the shot. Watch her feet as she catches the ball to see the hop.
Do you agree? Comments? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dHSPqqVh7tw
__________________
Yom HaShoah |
|
|||
You gave it away with the play by play
![]() In looking @it live, I most likely would have had nothing. Watching it 3 times, same result ![]() She definitely traveled. Not sure about the foul. Did it costem?
__________________
"A picture is worth a thousand words". |
|
|||
i see no foul.
Difficult even with replay to indentify clearly when she has it caught, isn't fumbling, if foot clears floor at time ball has been controlled etc. If you see a travel I might see why but in real time other than it looks funny I don't definitively have anything ( and I try to get all the travels). Let's assume for a minute she does have control and doe hop in one foot. Does Anyone else think it an odd nunance in the rule that she can catch on one and hop to 2 and shoot so long as she doesn't pivot, but she can't have that 1 hop to 1 and shoot?
__________________
Coach: Hey ref I'll make sure you can get out of here right after the game! Me: Thanks, but why the big rush. Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we! |
|
|||
1. The calling ref was in direct earshot of the team bemch, maybe he was influenced by the chatter?
2. Or maybe the ref had some angle/look at the play that we are not afforded by the angle/view from the video? 3. Despite the issue, I did admire the very professional manner in which the partner officials exerted control of the coaches /bench personnel and calmed a potentially calamatous situation. Last edited by Kansas Ref; Sun Sep 10, 2017 at 12:45am. |
|
|||
From the angle of the video, I believe it is not possible to be conclusive about whether there was a foul or not. I'd love to see the angle the official had.
As for the travel, I believe it is technically a travel but one that would be incredibly hard to detect live.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
Looked to me as if calling official was opposite benches. Anyway...
I have no travel. Did not appear to have control. Foul was called on blue 24 (has 4 fouls btw), who appears to take a jab at white 22. Now, keep an eye on both players during the first play. White 22 dribbles down court and gives a hand-off/pass to a teammate. In doing so, white 22 cracks blue 24. During ensuing throw-in, white 22 is the one who steals it. Blue 24 is called for her 5th foul. I found it interesting that blue 24 was the only blue player not terribly upset with the call or in disbelief over it. She even appears to confide/say something to a teammate as the official approaches the table. Her body language makes me think that possibly she got caught with her "hand in the cookie jar." With a no call, nobody would have said anything. Calling official appears pretty adamant with the 'ol hold-the-arm-in-the-air-a-long-time routine. Definitely need the angle from the other side and more importantly, I would love to hear what 24 said to her teammate. I also wish we could see how blue 24 fully reacted after that initial crack by white 22. I am only guessing and not using objectivity at all but I hypothesize that blue 24 took umbrage with the white 22 initial crack and was caught during her revenge move.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist? ![]() Last edited by bucky; Sun Sep 10, 2017 at 01:17am. |
|
|||
I know the Lead and Center officials in this play very well. If there's any contact its when the girl slaps in on the shot, however its really hard to tell from this angle. After watching again, I was thinking the foul was called on 00, but it seems the foul is on 24.
Last edited by OKREF; Sun Sep 10, 2017 at 11:50am. |
|
|||
There is a lot going on in this clip.
I definitely wish we had another angle. I would like to see the pass and potential illegal screen by white on the long three pointer.
Anyone else have a delay of game warning at the 20 second mark when the white player bats the ball out of bounds? I know we tend to err on the side of not calling it but that one was pretty blatant. I see the travel, but would probably not have seen it in the game. That is really tough if you have tunnel vision trying to figure out if the shooter was fouled. The other thing that stood out to me is how close the official got to the table. It lended to the fact that we think he is confused or possibly doesn't like the call. |
|
|||
I seriously doubt that. I think it is because it is an endgame situation and he wants it to be very clear what he has.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association Last edited by Camron Rust; Mon Sep 11, 2017 at 10:58am. |
|
|||
No. She's trying to get the ball in the other team's hands to speed up the throw-in. If that ends up costing her team time, that's a pretty natural consequence. This is situational awareness to me.
|
|
|||
She knocked the ball OOB to where the throw-in would occur, so nothing was delayed.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
What if I know my call is wrong? | ballgame99 | Basketball | 9 | Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:17pm |
You make the call! | reffish | Basketball | 54 | Tue Jul 19, 2011 07:39am |
Make the call | tref | Basketball | 95 | Mon Jun 20, 2011 12:22am |
Wrong call | jemiller | Football | 9 | Mon Oct 04, 2010 01:16pm |
Wrong Call | Rev.Ref63 | Basketball | 6 | Tue Nov 08, 2005 11:21pm |