The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2017, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial View Post
So between the real job and ample amounts of reading, I'm still not seeing much as far as correct/incorrect ruling on the personal foul followed by the F1.

While I was watching the game, that ruling just didn't seem right. Can someone help me out?

We all know what they called and how it was administered.

My questions - After the personal foul, the ball becomes dead, at that moment, any contact that is illegal and excessive would have to become a dead ball contact technical foul. Is that correct or incorrect? If administered as a personal foul and then a dead ball contact, they would shoot the personal foul first (if in bonus), then the dead ball contact, with the ball being awarded at the division line for a throw in?

Sorry if it has already been discussed in this thread, I just haven't found it yet.

Thanks guys, it's been a pleasure this year!
From what I saw, it was ruled a double-foul that involved a F1 on Gonzaga #24 and common foul UNC #2. From there, the procedure is as follows:

The penalty for double fouls is no free throws and play
is resumed at the point of interruption unless one of the fouls is
a flagrant foul.
Gonzaga #24 will shoot a one-and-one free throw with no
players in the marked lane spaces for the common foul charged to
UNC #2. Following these free throws, UNC #2 will shoot two free throws with
no players in the marked lane spaces for the flagrant 1 personal foul
charged to Gonzaga #24. Play is resumed with a throw-in to UNC at the point
of interruption, which is nearest to where the fouls occurred.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2017, 02:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
NCAA Men's National Championship Video Requests

Quote:
Originally Posted by MOofficial View Post
So between the real job and ample amounts of reading, I'm still not seeing much as far as correct/incorrect ruling on the personal foul followed by the F1.



While I was watching the game, that ruling just didn't seem right. Can someone help me out?



We all know what they called and how it was administered.



My questions - After the personal foul, the ball becomes dead, at that moment, any contact that is illegal and excessive would have to become a dead ball contact technical foul. Is that correct or incorrect? If administered as a personal foul and then a dead ball contact, they would shoot the personal foul first (if in bonus), then the dead ball contact, with the ball being awarded at the division line for a throw in?



Sorry if it has already been discussed in this thread, I just haven't found it yet.



Thanks guys, it's been a pleasure this year!
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
From what I saw, it was ruled a double-foul that involved a F1 on Gonzaga #24 and common foul UNC #2. From there, the procedure is as follows:



The penalty for double fouls is no free throws and play

is resumed at the point of interruption unless one of the fouls is

a flagrant foul.
Gonzaga #24 will shoot a one-and-one free throw with no

players in the marked lane spaces for the common foul charged to

UNC #2. Following these free throws, UNC #2 will shoot two free throws with

no players in the marked lane spaces for the flagrant 1 personal foul

charged to Gonzaga #24. Play is resumed with a throw-in to UNC at the point

of interruption, which is nearest to where the fouls occurred.

I think dahoopref has it right. That I'm aware, there is no "unless" clause in NFHS. It's important to point this out because most forum members are not collegiate officials, and what was administered on TV last night would not be the way to administer it in a high school game.

As to whether this could/should have been a false double foul……meh. I think this was so bang-bang that it qualifies as "two fouls committed by opponents against each other at approximately the same time" per the definition of a double foul. I was ok with the ruling (if not the use of the word "followed" in the explanation to the TV crew).






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 04, 2017, 02:19pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
I think dahoopref has it right. That I'm aware, there is no "unless" clause in NFHS. It's important to point this out because most forum members are not collegiate officials, and what was administered on TV last night would not be the way to administer it in a high school game.

As to whether this could/should have been a false double foul……meh. I think this was so bang-bang that it qualifies as "two fouls committed by opponents against each other at approximately the same time" per the definition of a double foul. I was ok with the ruling (if not the use of the word "followed" in the explanation to the TV crew).



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

One foul occurred while Karnowski had the ball, the other foul occurred while the ball was loose. Harris correctly described the play. The administration, well......
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 15, 2017, 05:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
From what I saw, it was ruled a double-foul that involved a F1 on Gonzaga #24 and common foul UNC #2. From there, the procedure is as follows:

The penalty for double fouls is no free throws and play
is resumed at the point of interruption unless one of the fouls is
a flagrant foul.
Gonzaga #24 will shoot a one-and-one free throw with no
players in the marked lane spaces for the common foul charged to
UNC #2. Following these free throws, UNC #2 will shoot two free throws with
no players in the marked lane spaces for the flagrant 1 personal foul
charged to Gonzaga #24. Play is resumed with a throw-in to UNC at the point
of interruption, which is nearest to where the fouls occurred.
7-4-10 says when one of the doubles is flagrant the ball goes to offended team on either side of division line. I don't think NC fouled him but I understand the call. I saw this as false double. Personal and a dead ball contact T. The result should have been same. What they did but NC should have gotten ball at either side of division line.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 16, 2017, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
7-4-10 says when one of the doubles is flagrant the ball goes to offended team on either side of division line. I don't think NC fouled him but I understand the call. I saw this as false double. Personal and a dead ball contact T. The result should have been same. What they did but NC should have gotten ball at either side of division line.
Per Art Hyland's RULES CLARIFICATIONS AND REWRITE- RULE 7-4.7 THROUGH .18 – November 15, 2016

The corrections and revisions of Rule 7 below (noted in red) should be implemented immediately. They should be viewed in connection with Rules 4-27, 8-3.4, 10-1 PENALTY f. and g. and 10-3.1 PENALTY and RESUMPTION OF PLAY.

Rule 7 Sec 4 Art. 10. After any double personal or technical fouls or any simultaneous personal or technical fouls when there is team control and only one of the fouls is a flagrant foul, the ball is awarded to the team offended by the flagrant foul for a throw-in at the point of interruption.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Apr 16, 2017, 09:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
Per Art Hyland's RULES CLARIFICATIONS AND REWRITE- RULE 7-4.7 THROUGH .18 – November 15, 2016

The corrections and revisions of Rule 7 below (noted in red) should be implemented immediately. They should be viewed in connection with Rules 4-27, 8-3.4, 10-1 PENALTY f. and g. and 10-3.1 PENALTY and RESUMPTION OF PLAY.

Rule 7 Sec 4 Art. 10. After any double personal or technical fouls or any simultaneous personal or technical fouls when there is team control and only one of the fouls is a flagrant foul, the ball is awarded to the team offended by the flagrant foul for a throw-in at the point of interruption.
Thx for pointing out the change. Glad it didn't happen to me in a game...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Tourn - Thursday March 22 Video Requests JRutledge Basketball 42 Fri Mar 24, 2017 04:25pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Saturday March 18 JRutledge Basketball 55 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:42am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Sunday March 19 JRutledge Basketball 51 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:40am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Friday March 17 JRutledge Basketball 15 Mon Mar 20, 2017 04:03pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Thursday March 16 Nevadaref Basketball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2017 06:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:39am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1