The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Men's National Championship Video Requests (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102527-ncaa-mens-national-championship-video-requests.html)

Kansas Ref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:16pm

802 in 2nd half...in a tussle for a deflected pass, Berry contacts arm of Karnov, foul whistled, then on follow thru motion Karnov contacts neck of Berry--vid review leads to F1----was it defensible to interpret it as 'dead ball' foul ?

Kansas Ref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:22pm

623 2nd half...was it really necessary to have vid review on the last second shot clock made basket by carolina?

AremRed Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 1004306)
623 2nd half...was it really necessary to have vid review on the last second shot clock made basket by carolina?

Yes.

NCAA Rule 11-2.1.b.4

"Determine if the ball was released on a try for goal before the
sounding of the shot clock horn when the try is successful. The
officials must recognize the potential mistake and signal to the
scorer that an instant replay review is required prior to the ball
next becoming live
. When the try is unsuccessful, a review is not
permissible."

Once the ball becomes next becomes live (when Gonzaga has possession of ball OOB for throw-in) they can no longer review. If you are asking whether they should have reviewed it....well it was pretty close.

AremRed Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1004302)
That is not a FF1, or even a foul on Berry

Both the Lead and Trail officials had a whistle for the foul on Berry....and in real time I had a foul as well.

FF1 is acceptable on video review, especially nowadays.

crosscountry55 Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004304)
8:02 left 2nd half

Call on the floor is a foul against Berry.

Video review is a FF1 on Karnowski.



Called it as s DPF, got that. But Gonzaga had team control going in. So that tells me that in NCAAM, when one part is of greater severity, the offended team shoots last and gets the ball. Do I have that right?

In NFHS, as I was reminded a few weeks ago, there are no FTs and you resume with POI, regardless if one part of the DPF was more severe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:45pm

About 50 seconds left.
Call on the floor was a held ball.
Was Meeks OOB?

AremRed Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:47pm

The announcers needed to STFU about the officiating. Both teams were being very physical and never adjusted IMO. Raftery needs to retire the "nickel-dimer" phrase as well, doesn't help anything.

The floor on the Gonzaga end seemed to be consistently slippery, not sure what's up with that.

dahoopref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004310)
About 50 seconds left.
Call on the floor was a held ball.
Was Meeks OOB?

I saw that too. His right arm was out of bounds while he was in contact with the ball.

AremRed Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004310)
About 50 seconds left.
Call on the floor was a held ball.
Was Meeks OOB?

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1004312)
I saw that too. His right arm was out of bounds while he was in contact with the ball.

Can't fault Eades for that IMO, Meeks' arm was OOB for tenths of a second, while he was watching for a held ball between two and then three players.

OKREF Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1004314)
Can't fault Eades for that IMO, Meeks' arm was OOB for tenths of a second, while he was watching for a held ball between two and then three players.

except it wasn't a held ball when he was OOB

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:05am

If I question the administration of a play will I be told I'm a high school official or that's why I'm not working a national final?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

AremRed Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1004315)
except it wasn't a held ball when he was OOB

So? He was still watching to see if it got held or not.

MechanicGuy Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1004314)
Can't fault Eades for that IMO, Meeks' arm was OOB for tenths of a second, while he was watching for a held ball between two and then three players.

Do you think he faults himself for missing it?

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:30am

8:02 of the 2nd half. I believe the double foul should have been a false double foul with the second foul being a dead ball contact technical foul.

I just listened to the audio of Verne Harris explaining the call to the television commentators. He said there was a foul on #2 White FOLLOWED by an F1 on Karnowski. He didn't say it was a double foul. He said there was one foul followed by another foul.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

AremRed Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1004319)
Do you think he faults himself for missing it?

I'm sure he does, but I don't and I doubt anyone should. Can't watch two things at once. Sometimes we miss things. And notice they never went to the review -- he probably didn't even know he missed it until he got in the locker room.

But I can ask him if I see him again this summer. I'll keep you posted.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1