The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Men's National Championship Video Requests (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102527-ncaa-mens-national-championship-video-requests.html)

JRutledge Mon Apr 03, 2017 08:17pm

NCAA Men's National Championship Video Requests
 
It will be easier to follow if you keep all the NC game plays on this thread.

Do not just pick the obvious plays either. I am sure we all will be watching.

Peace

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 08:56pm

3:52 of the first half.
Foul called against Collins of Gonzaga by Verne Harris from the Lead position.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 08:57pm

About 18:30 left in the first half.
UNC saves the ball twice on the defensive end line.

ODog Mon Apr 03, 2017 09:03pm

2:03 first half. UNC's Berry fouled attempting a 3.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1004290)
2:03 first half. UNC's Berry fouled attempting a 3.

Comment: there were four fouls against 3pt shooters in the first half.

crosscountry55 Mon Apr 03, 2017 09:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004289)
About 18:30 left in the first half.

UNC saves the ball twice on the defensive end line.



That was cool. In slow mo I think the NC player on the first save may have had a foot touch OOB just before he flicked the ball, but I was ok with the no call in real time.

Heck of a patient whistle. I'm not sure I could have held off. That's why they're on the floor and I'm in my living room.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 09:39pm

17:58 remaining in the 2nd half.
Karnowski with the ball near the basket.
No whistle on the play until the ball went OOB. Seemed that it should have been either a defensive foul or a travel.

RefRich Mon Apr 03, 2017 09:46pm

16:31, double whistle, lead calls the foul across the court.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 1004296)
16:31, double whistle, lead calls the foul across the court.

If this is the foul on Berry of UNC, it was in transition. At the NCAAM level the Lead is extremely aggressive in such situations. Given that the C had a whistle, I would have let him take it, but perhaps the instruction is to force more switches.

RefRich Mon Apr 03, 2017 09:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004297)
If this is the foul on Berry of UNC, it was in transition. At the NCAAM level the Lead is extremely aggressive in such situations. Given that the C had a whistle, I would have let him take it, but perhaps the instruction is to force more switches.

As it was in transition, that was my question, but he seemed to go a long way to get that call.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:03pm

10:13 left
Is Meeks correct that Tillie traveled after the defensive rebound?

crosscountry55 Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004299)
10:13 left

Is Meeks correct that Tillet traveled after the defensive rebound?


Yes. But it took me ten replays to come to that conclusion. So I'm plenty ok with that no call.




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OKREF Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:14pm

That is not a FF1, or even a foul on Berry

RefRich Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:14pm

8:02, the first foul and then the FF1. 21 fouls called in the second half with 8:02 left on the clock.

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:16pm

8:02 left 2nd half
Call on the floor is a foul against Berry.
Video review is a FF1 on Karnowski.

Kansas Ref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:16pm

802 in 2nd half...in a tussle for a deflected pass, Berry contacts arm of Karnov, foul whistled, then on follow thru motion Karnov contacts neck of Berry--vid review leads to F1----was it defensible to interpret it as 'dead ball' foul ?

Kansas Ref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:22pm

623 2nd half...was it really necessary to have vid review on the last second shot clock made basket by carolina?

AremRed Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 1004306)
623 2nd half...was it really necessary to have vid review on the last second shot clock made basket by carolina?

Yes.

NCAA Rule 11-2.1.b.4

"Determine if the ball was released on a try for goal before the
sounding of the shot clock horn when the try is successful. The
officials must recognize the potential mistake and signal to the
scorer that an instant replay review is required prior to the ball
next becoming live
. When the try is unsuccessful, a review is not
permissible."

Once the ball becomes next becomes live (when Gonzaga has possession of ball OOB for throw-in) they can no longer review. If you are asking whether they should have reviewed it....well it was pretty close.

AremRed Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1004302)
That is not a FF1, or even a foul on Berry

Both the Lead and Trail officials had a whistle for the foul on Berry....and in real time I had a foul as well.

FF1 is acceptable on video review, especially nowadays.

crosscountry55 Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004304)
8:02 left 2nd half

Call on the floor is a foul against Berry.

Video review is a FF1 on Karnowski.



Called it as s DPF, got that. But Gonzaga had team control going in. So that tells me that in NCAAM, when one part is of greater severity, the offended team shoots last and gets the ball. Do I have that right?

In NFHS, as I was reminded a few weeks ago, there are no FTs and you resume with POI, regardless if one part of the DPF was more severe.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Nevadaref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:45pm

About 50 seconds left.
Call on the floor was a held ball.
Was Meeks OOB?

AremRed Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:47pm

The announcers needed to STFU about the officiating. Both teams were being very physical and never adjusted IMO. Raftery needs to retire the "nickel-dimer" phrase as well, doesn't help anything.

The floor on the Gonzaga end seemed to be consistently slippery, not sure what's up with that.

dahoopref Mon Apr 03, 2017 10:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004310)
About 50 seconds left.
Call on the floor was a held ball.
Was Meeks OOB?

I saw that too. His right arm was out of bounds while he was in contact with the ball.

AremRed Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004310)
About 50 seconds left.
Call on the floor was a held ball.
Was Meeks OOB?

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1004312)
I saw that too. His right arm was out of bounds while he was in contact with the ball.

Can't fault Eades for that IMO, Meeks' arm was OOB for tenths of a second, while he was watching for a held ball between two and then three players.

OKREF Mon Apr 03, 2017 11:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1004314)
Can't fault Eades for that IMO, Meeks' arm was OOB for tenths of a second, while he was watching for a held ball between two and then three players.

except it wasn't a held ball when he was OOB

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:05am

If I question the administration of a play will I be told I'm a high school official or that's why I'm not working a national final?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

AremRed Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1004315)
except it wasn't a held ball when he was OOB

So? He was still watching to see if it got held or not.

MechanicGuy Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1004314)
Can't fault Eades for that IMO, Meeks' arm was OOB for tenths of a second, while he was watching for a held ball between two and then three players.

Do you think he faults himself for missing it?

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:30am

8:02 of the 2nd half. I believe the double foul should have been a false double foul with the second foul being a dead ball contact technical foul.

I just listened to the audio of Verne Harris explaining the call to the television commentators. He said there was a foul on #2 White FOLLOWED by an F1 on Karnowski. He didn't say it was a double foul. He said there was one foul followed by another foul.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

AremRed Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MechanicGuy (Post 1004319)
Do you think he faults himself for missing it?

I'm sure he does, but I don't and I doubt anyone should. Can't watch two things at once. Sometimes we miss things. And notice they never went to the review -- he probably didn't even know he missed it until he got in the locker room.

But I can ask him if I see him again this summer. I'll keep you posted.

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1004322)
I'm sure he does, but I don't and I doubt anyone should. Can't watch two things at once. Sometimes we miss things. And notice they never went to the review -- he probably didn't even know he missed it until he got in the locker room.

But I can ask him if I see him again this summer. I'll keep you posted.

That play is not eligible for monitor review.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

AremRed Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004323)
That play is not eligible for monitor review.

Correct. I still believe Eades didn't know he missed it until the game was over.

I found a picture of the moment Meeks touched OOB....I know I would be looking at that ball which is extremely close to being tied up.

https://i.imgur.com/XyVByyJ.jpg

Camron Rust Tue Apr 04, 2017 02:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004317)
If I question the administration of a play will I be told I'm a high school official or that's why I'm not working a national final?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Only if you're correct.

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 02:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004289)
About 18:30 left in the first half.
UNC saves the ball twice on the defensive end line.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/qCwWj0jqFMg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 02:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004288)
3:52 of the first half.
Foul called against Collins of Gonzaga by Verne Harris from the Lead position.

I know we all look alike to many, but Verne Harris is the lighter skinned brotha. :D IJS

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/xD3KHrdvEu0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 02:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ODog (Post 1004290)
2:03 first half. UNC's Berry fouled attempting a 3.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/GXqF9sKbs-8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

Nevadaref Tue Apr 04, 2017 03:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004310)
About 50 seconds left.
Call on the floor was a held ball.
Was Meeks OOB?

Officiating at this level has become so difficult. The HDTV cameras have all the angles and the slo-mo to catch everything which we humans miss in live action from our vantage point. I used to think that I wanted to work the ESPN games and the D1 tournament someday. Not anymore. I don't want that kind of scrutiny and the BS that Higgins had to deal with from the Kentucky fans. It just isn't worth it. Besides there's more money in coaching.

As for my above quoted post...yep, Meeks was out of bounds. Photos of it have now been published. Unfortunate, and not reviewable.

https://www.yahoo.com/sports/news/of...064537595.html

ReffingAce Tue Apr 04, 2017 08:06am

So as officials, the key to all the video being shown with the scrutiny of how "bad" they called the game isn't always going to be judgement calls where, was it a foul or not a foul? Was he in or out? Yes, the video will show it and it will be "obvious" at that point. But in real time, we all know this is a difficult job to process all that is happening i.e. the hand touching the out-of-bounds on the tie up. Watch that play in real time and you'll see how quickly his hand hit and was pulled back.

The key with the video is the positioning and many great officials understand this. To get calls correct, you need to be in the proper positioning. Eades may not have seen the hand because he was too close to the play as it was right at his feet. Backing out with a wider angle may have allowed him to see the hand touch.

The first foul of the game from the Slot, did he even have an angle to see the play? Was he reaching out of his primary. What was the vantage point from T? Where was each official looking on that play at that time?

We know every call and non call will be looked at because of the tape these days, but it's how you use the tape to your advantage to get better and not worry about how it will be microscoped and used against you.

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 08:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ReffingAce (Post 1004336)
So as officials, the key to all the video being shown with the scrutiny of how "bad" they called the game isn't always going to be judgement calls where, was it a foul or not a foul? Was he in or out? Yes, the video will show it and it will be "obvious" at that point. But in real time, we all know this is a difficult job to process all that is happening i.e. the hand touching the out-of-bounds on the tie up. Watch that play in real time and you'll see how quickly his hand hit and was pulled back.

The key with the video is the positioning and many great officials understand this. To get calls correct, you need to be in the proper positioning. Eades may not have seen the hand because he was too close to the play as it was right at his feet. Backing out with a wider angle may have allowed him to see the hand touch.

The first foul of the game from the Slot, did he even have an angle to see the play? Was he reaching out of his primary. What was the vantage point from T? Where was each official looking on that play at that time?

We know every call and non call will be looked at because of the tape these days, but it's how you use the tape to your advantage to get better and not worry about how it will be microscoped and used against you.

Conversations about positioning die on the vine pretty quickly....LOL

OKREF Tue Apr 04, 2017 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1004318)
So? He was still watching to see if it got held or not.

And he still missed it.

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1004322)
I'm sure he does, but I don't and I doubt anyone should. Can't watch two things at once. Sometimes we miss things. And notice they never went to the review -- he probably didn't even know he missed it until he got in the locker room.

But I can ask him if I see him again this summer. I'll keep you posted.

99% of the country didn't know he missed it until still photos were posted on social media. How many folks noticed it when the play happened?

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:00am

If you read any reports of someone's head exploding in the Hampton Roads section of VA, it's because I just read another post on social media asking why the officials didn't go to the monitor when Meeks' hand touched OOB.

AremRed Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004345)
99% of the country didn't know he missed it until still photos were posted on social media. How many folks noticed it when the play happened?

OKREF, apparently. :D

Adam Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AremRed (Post 1004347)
OKREF, apparently. :D

And 20 Gonzaga fans.

SD Referee Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 1004302)
That is not a FF1, or even a foul on Berry

That's what I said. Berry didn't foul and then the contact by Karnowski was not flagrant.

SD Referee Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 1004306)
623 2nd half...was it really necessary to have vid review on the last second shot clock made basket by carolina?

No it wasn't. It was clearly out of his hand. Just another way the crew slowed down the game and broke any flow the game was getting.

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004295)
17:58 remaining in the 2nd half.
Karnowski with the ball near the basket.
No whistle on the play until the ball went OOB. Seemed that it should have been either a defensive foul or a travel.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/E4W8ORoIIYw" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RefRich (Post 1004296)
16:31, double whistle, lead calls the foul across the court.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DOcYd_RBayE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004299)
10:13 left
Is Meeks correct that Tillie traveled after the defensive rebound?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/OY_dgKvyUjk" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

SD Referee Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004345)
99% of the country didn't know he missed it until still photos were posted on social media. How many folks noticed it when the play happened?

I noticed it immediately in real time. I would think a lot of us here did too. How could you not?

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kansas Ref (Post 1004306)
623 2nd half...was it really necessary to have vid review on the last second shot clock made basket by carolina?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/Y7fn8MzGGto" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004310)
About 50 seconds left.
Call on the floor was a held ball.
Was Meeks OOB?

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/MgSwgvL71Mc" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 04, 2017 09:58am

Flagrant Foul Review (Video coming)
 
I have the video in place, I am going to wait little before I post it. I think this play will be tagged by YouTube and want to see if I can do it later in the week.

Peace

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SD Referee (Post 1004370)
I noticed it immediately in real time. I would think a lot of us here did too. How could you not?

The same way you didn't notice that Karnowski grabbed Berry's neck. ;)

BktBallRef Tue Apr 04, 2017 10:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004345)
99% of the country didn't know he missed it until still photos were posted on social media. How many folks noticed it when the play happened?

I did. I was praying they wouldn't review it. Then I realized it wasn't reviewable.

Zoochy Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004345)
99% of the country didn't know he missed it until still photos were posted on social media. How many folks noticed it when the play happened?

I DID. I even pointed it out to my friend during the replay. I also mentioned it was not reviewable because it was not the original call.

OKREF Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004345)
99% of the country didn't know he missed it until still photos were posted on social media. How many folks noticed it when the play happened?

I noticed it live, told my son that he was oob.

SD Referee Tue Apr 04, 2017 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004376)
The same way you didn't notice that Karnowski grabbed Berry's neck. ;)

Well played sir!

I did not see the neck grab, but I did see Meeks OOB in real time.

dahoopref Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1004327)
I know we all look alike to many, but Verne Harris is the lighter skinned brotha. :D IJS

Peace

Gotta admit, snorted my iced coffee, :D Thanks for the laugh.

MOofficial Tue Apr 04, 2017 12:41pm

So between the real job and ample amounts of reading, I'm still not seeing much as far as correct/incorrect ruling on the personal foul followed by the F1.

While I was watching the game, that ruling just didn't seem right. Can someone help me out?

We all know what they called and how it was administered.

My questions - After the personal foul, the ball becomes dead, at that moment, any contact that is illegal and excessive would have to become a dead ball contact technical foul. Is that correct or incorrect? If administered as a personal foul and then a dead ball contact, they would shoot the personal foul first (if in bonus), then the dead ball contact, with the ball being awarded at the division line for a throw in?

Sorry if it has already been discussed in this thread, I just haven't found it yet.

Thanks guys, it's been a pleasure this year!

dahoopref Tue Apr 04, 2017 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MOofficial (Post 1004393)
So between the real job and ample amounts of reading, I'm still not seeing much as far as correct/incorrect ruling on the personal foul followed by the F1.

While I was watching the game, that ruling just didn't seem right. Can someone help me out?

We all know what they called and how it was administered.

My questions - After the personal foul, the ball becomes dead, at that moment, any contact that is illegal and excessive would have to become a dead ball contact technical foul. Is that correct or incorrect? If administered as a personal foul and then a dead ball contact, they would shoot the personal foul first (if in bonus), then the dead ball contact, with the ball being awarded at the division line for a throw in?

Sorry if it has already been discussed in this thread, I just haven't found it yet.

Thanks guys, it's been a pleasure this year!

From what I saw, it was ruled a double-foul that involved a F1 on Gonzaga #24 and common foul UNC #2. From there, the procedure is as follows:

The penalty for double fouls is no free throws and play
is resumed at the point of interruption unless one of the fouls is
a flagrant foul.
Gonzaga #24 will shoot a one-and-one free throw with no
players in the marked lane spaces for the common foul charged to
UNC #2. Following these free throws, UNC #2 will shoot two free throws with
no players in the marked lane spaces for the flagrant 1 personal foul
charged to Gonzaga #24. Play is resumed with a throw-in to UNC at the point
of interruption, which is nearest to where the fouls occurred.

BigCat Tue Apr 04, 2017 01:31pm

I'm the only person here who didn't get to see the game. Jeff can you post it all:eek: or tell me where I can watch it? Don't tell me who won...:eek:

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MOofficial (Post 1004393)
So between the real job and ample amounts of reading, I'm still not seeing much as far as correct/incorrect ruling on the personal foul followed by the F1.

While I was watching the game, that ruling just didn't seem right. Can someone help me out?

We all know what they called and how it was administered.

My questions - After the personal foul, the ball becomes dead, at that moment, any contact that is illegal and excessive would have to become a dead ball contact technical foul. Is that correct or incorrect? If administered as a personal foul and then a dead ball contact, they would shoot the personal foul first (if in bonus), then the dead ball contact, with the ball being awarded at the division line for a throw in?

Sorry if it has already been discussed in this thread, I just haven't found it yet.

Thanks guys, it's been a pleasure this year!

Some a$$hole brought it up in this thread and on Facebook. He's probably just a HS referee.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004320)
8:02 of the 2nd half. I believe the double foul should have been a false double foul with the second foul being a dead ball contact technical foul.

I just listened to the audio of Verne Harris explaining the call to the television commentators. He said there was a foul on #2 White FOLLOWED by an F1 on Karnowski. He didn't say it was a double foul. He said there was one foul followed by another foul.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk


crosscountry55 Tue Apr 04, 2017 02:14pm

NCAA Men's National Championship Video Requests
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MOofficial (Post 1004393)
So between the real job and ample amounts of reading, I'm still not seeing much as far as correct/incorrect ruling on the personal foul followed by the F1.



While I was watching the game, that ruling just didn't seem right. Can someone help me out?



We all know what they called and how it was administered.



My questions - After the personal foul, the ball becomes dead, at that moment, any contact that is illegal and excessive would have to become a dead ball contact technical foul. Is that correct or incorrect? If administered as a personal foul and then a dead ball contact, they would shoot the personal foul first (if in bonus), then the dead ball contact, with the ball being awarded at the division line for a throw in?



Sorry if it has already been discussed in this thread, I just haven't found it yet.



Thanks guys, it's been a pleasure this year!

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1004396)
From what I saw, it was ruled a double-foul that involved a F1 on Gonzaga #24 and common foul UNC #2. From there, the procedure is as follows:



The penalty for double fouls is no free throws and play

is resumed at the point of interruption unless one of the fouls is

a flagrant foul.
Gonzaga #24 will shoot a one-and-one free throw with no

players in the marked lane spaces for the common foul charged to

UNC #2. Following these free throws, UNC #2 will shoot two free throws with

no players in the marked lane spaces for the flagrant 1 personal foul

charged to Gonzaga #24. Play is resumed with a throw-in to UNC at the point

of interruption, which is nearest to where the fouls occurred.


I think dahoopref has it right. That I'm aware, there is no "unless" clause in NFHS. It's important to point this out because most forum members are not collegiate officials, and what was administered on TV last night would not be the way to administer it in a high school game.

As to whether this could/should have been a false double foul……meh. I think this was so bang-bang that it qualifies as "two fouls committed by opponents against each other at approximately the same time" per the definition of a double foul. I was ok with the ruling (if not the use of the word "followed" in the explanation to the TV crew).






Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Raymond Tue Apr 04, 2017 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by crosscountry55 (Post 1004401)
I think dahoopref has it right. That I'm aware, there is no "unless" clause in NFHS. It's important to point this out because most forum members are not collegiate officials, and what was administered on TV last night would not be the way to administer it in a high school game.

As to whether this could/should have been a false double foul……meh. I think this was so bang-bang that it qualifies as "two fouls committed by opponents against each other at approximately the same time" per the definition of a double foul. I was ok with the ruling (if not the use of the word "followed" in the explanation to the TV crew).



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


One foul occurred while Karnowski had the ball, the other foul occurred while the ball was loose. Harris correctly described the play. The administration, well......

thedewed Tue Apr 04, 2017 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 1004328)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/GXqF9sKbs-8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

one clue for officials on this is if the shooter goes down in a direction not consistent with the direction that the contact came from, then consider the possibility it was a flop. good grief. there was another one from the left wing same half for UNC that was same situation, very minor contact that shouldn't have been called. I'm glad some NBA guys and media are calling out the tightness of the calls during this game. I think Collins from Gonzaga in particular got a raw deal. May help an adjustment to a little looser whistle to looking for advantage as more of a factor.

Camron Rust Tue Apr 04, 2017 06:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by thedewed (Post 1004412)
one clue for officials on this is if the shooter goes down in a direction not consistent with the direction that the contact came from, then consider the possibility it was a flop. good grief. there was another one from the left wing same half for UNC that was same situation, very minor contact that shouldn't have been called. I'm glad some NBA guys and media are calling out the tightness of the calls during this game. I think Collins from Gonzaga in particular got a raw deal. May help an adjustment to a little looser whistle to looking for advantage as more of a factor.

Agree. The shooter stuck his foot out to make contact. Reggie Miller would have been proud.

Raymond Tue Apr 11, 2017 05:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004320)
8:02 of the 2nd half. I believe the double foul should have been a false double foul with the second foul being a dead ball contact technical foul.

I just listened to the audio of Verne Harris explaining the call to the television commentators. He said there was a foul on #2 White FOLLOWED by an F1 on Karnowski. He didn't say it was a double foul. He said there was one foul followed by another foul.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

Any chance of getting this play posted still? Thanks if you can

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

JRutledge Tue Apr 11, 2017 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 1004670)
Any chance of getting this play posted still? Thanks if you can

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/EX6cJliYi0M" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Peace

JRutledge Tue Apr 11, 2017 09:14am

It appears they blocked it. Which I figured that was going to happen.

Peace

BigCat Sat Apr 15, 2017 05:18pm

Just ugly basketball. Dribble down throw it up.brick....etc.

BigCat Sat Apr 15, 2017 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 1004299)
10:13 left
Is Meeks correct that Tillie traveled after the defensive rebound?

He got ball. Jumped off floor, then started dribble. Violation.

BigCat Sat Apr 15, 2017 05:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1004396)
From what I saw, it was ruled a double-foul that involved a F1 on Gonzaga #24 and common foul UNC #2. From there, the procedure is as follows:

The penalty for double fouls is no free throws and play
is resumed at the point of interruption unless one of the fouls is
a flagrant foul.
Gonzaga #24 will shoot a one-and-one free throw with no
players in the marked lane spaces for the common foul charged to
UNC #2. Following these free throws, UNC #2 will shoot two free throws with
no players in the marked lane spaces for the flagrant 1 personal foul
charged to Gonzaga #24. Play is resumed with a throw-in to UNC at the point
of interruption, which is nearest to where the fouls occurred.

7-4-10 says when one of the doubles is flagrant the ball goes to offended team on either side of division line. I don't think NC fouled him but I understand the call. I saw this as false double. Personal and a dead ball contact T. The result should have been same. What they did but NC should have gotten ball at either side of division line.

BigCat Sat Apr 15, 2017 06:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 1004415)
Agree. The shooter stuck his foot out to make contact. Reggie Miller would have been proud.

I did not see first 3 minutes of first half. I didn't care for the foul calls on the two 3 pointers that went in. Gonzaga had one made on left wing. Didn't think it foul. Then later Berry made one. His follow through was over then contact.
I couldn't see the next one where Berry missed the 3 and a foul was called.

Thought second half they could have passed on some things but that can be said about many games. hard game to Ref. Ball didn't go in.

dahoopref Sun Apr 16, 2017 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 1004816)
7-4-10 says when one of the doubles is flagrant the ball goes to offended team on either side of division line. I don't think NC fouled him but I understand the call. I saw this as false double. Personal and a dead ball contact T. The result should have been same. What they did but NC should have gotten ball at either side of division line.

Per Art Hyland's RULES CLARIFICATIONS AND REWRITE- RULE 7-4.7 THROUGH .18 – November 15, 2016

The corrections and revisions of Rule 7 below (noted in red) should be implemented immediately. They should be viewed in connection with Rules 4-27, 8-3.4, 10-1 PENALTY f. and g. and 10-3.1 PENALTY and RESUMPTION OF PLAY.

Rule 7 Sec 4 Art. 10. After any double personal or technical fouls or any simultaneous personal or technical fouls when there is team control and only one of the fouls is a flagrant foul, the ball is awarded to the team offended by the flagrant foul for a throw-in at the point of interruption.

BigCat Sun Apr 16, 2017 09:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by dahoopref (Post 1004825)
Per Art Hyland's RULES CLARIFICATIONS AND REWRITE- RULE 7-4.7 THROUGH .18 – November 15, 2016

The corrections and revisions of Rule 7 below (noted in red) should be implemented immediately. They should be viewed in connection with Rules 4-27, 8-3.4, 10-1 PENALTY f. and g. and 10-3.1 PENALTY and RESUMPTION OF PLAY.

Rule 7 Sec 4 Art. 10. After any double personal or technical fouls or any simultaneous personal or technical fouls when there is team control and only one of the fouls is a flagrant foul, the ball is awarded to the team offended by the flagrant foul for a throw-in at the point of interruption.

Thx for pointing out the change. Glad it didn't happen to me in a game...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1