The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 06:46pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,607
FF1 in NCAAW semifinal

Late in overtime they had a review which ultimately led to a FF1 call. I knew that a review could elevate a foul call to flagrant, but I was not aware that it could be used when the call on the floor was NOTHING. What are the specs on this? Who must ask for the review and when must it occur? First dead ball, change of possession or..................?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 07:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 16,824
Anyone, during the CE window. IF a coach asks and it's not changed, charge the coach with a TO.

2�
When officials err and fail to observe the fouls according to
11-2�1�d�1 (this shall not include a common foul) or a fight, they are
permitted to correct and penalize these infraction(s), with the use of
a monitor review, when the act occurs:
a�
When the game clock was stopped, it must be corrected:
1�
During the first dead ball after the clock was properly started�
b� When the game clock was running, it must be corrected:
1�
During the first dead ball after the clock was properly stopped;
or
2�
Before the second live ball when the ball became dead after a
successful goal but the clock continued to run�
3�
When it is determined that a flagrant 1 or 2 personal foul, a flagrant
2 contact technical foul, a contact dead ball technical foul or a fight
did occur within the prescribed time frame, the infraction(s) should
be penalized and play shall be resumed by awarding the ball to the
offended team where the stoppage of play occurred to review the
flagrant act� Any previous activity before the monitor review shall
not be canceled or nullified� When it is determined that a flagrant 1
or 2 personal foul, a flagrant 2 contact technical foul, a contact dead
ball technical foul or a fight did not occur within the prescribed time
frame, play shall be resumed where the stoppage of play occurred to
review the act�
4�
A coach may request a monitor review to determine if any flagrant foul
involving contact or a contact dead ball technical foul occurred� When
a flagrant 1 or 2 contact foul or contact dead ball technical foul is not
assessed, a timeout shall be charged to that team�
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 01, 2017, 08:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 471
Thanks, Bob! A lot of us had been hoping for an answer like that since last night.

So, in common-sense world vs. NCAAW world, seems most here who have weighed in on the play think this was a common foul at best. If the officials had reviewed the play at Auriemma's request and come to the same conclusion (common foul that was missed), it seems from reading this that UConn would have been charged a TO and play would have resumed as normal?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAAW - End of TO bob jenkins Basketball 7 Fri Nov 07, 2014 10:03pm
I got a semifinal match SCalScoreKeeper Volleyball 3 Wed Nov 20, 2013 12:53am
Ncaaw bob jenkins Volleyball 5 Wed Aug 28, 2013 01:08pm
4 line judges in NCAA men's semifinal SCalScoreKeeper Volleyball 2 Sat May 07, 2011 12:36pm
Uniform T in 1-point state semifinal loss Amesman Basketball 54 Tue Sep 22, 2009 01:55pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1