The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FF1 in NCAAW semifinal (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102516-ff1-ncaaw-semifinal.html)

just another ref Sat Apr 01, 2017 06:46pm

FF1 in NCAAW semifinal
 
Late in overtime they had a review which ultimately led to a FF1 call. I knew that a review could elevate a foul call to flagrant, but I was not aware that it could be used when the call on the floor was NOTHING. What are the specs on this? Who must ask for the review and when must it occur? First dead ball, change of possession or..................?

bob jenkins Sat Apr 01, 2017 07:49pm

Anyone, during the CE window. IF a coach asks and it's not changed, charge the coach with a TO.

2�
When officials err and fail to observe the fouls according to
11-2�1�d�1 (this shall not include a common foul) or a fight, they are
permitted to correct and penalize these infraction(s), with the use of
a monitor review, when the act occurs:
a�
When the game clock was stopped, it must be corrected:
1�
During the first dead ball after the clock was properly started�
b� When the game clock was running, it must be corrected:
1�
During the first dead ball after the clock was properly stopped;
or
2�
Before the second live ball when the ball became dead after a
successful goal but the clock continued to run�
3�
When it is determined that a flagrant 1 or 2 personal foul, a flagrant
2 contact technical foul, a contact dead ball technical foul or a fight
did occur within the prescribed time frame, the infraction(s) should
be penalized and play shall be resumed by awarding the ball to the
offended team where the stoppage of play occurred to review the
flagrant act� Any previous activity before the monitor review shall
not be canceled or nullified� When it is determined that a flagrant 1
or 2 personal foul, a flagrant 2 contact technical foul, a contact dead
ball technical foul or a fight did not occur within the prescribed time
frame, play shall be resumed where the stoppage of play occurred to
review the act�
4�
A coach may request a monitor review to determine if any flagrant foul
involving contact or a contact dead ball technical foul occurred� When
a flagrant 1 or 2 contact foul or contact dead ball technical foul is not
assessed, a timeout shall be charged to that team�

ODog Sat Apr 01, 2017 08:36pm

Thanks, Bob! A lot of us had been hoping for an answer like that since last night.

So, in common-sense world vs. NCAAW world, seems most here who have weighed in on the play think this was a common foul at best. If the officials had reviewed the play at Auriemma's request and come to the same conclusion (common foul that was missed), it seems from reading this that UConn would have been charged a TO and play would have resumed as normal?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1