The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 24, 2017, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
This is a good one. Wisconsin/Florida. Just before 15:06 2nd Half.

FL try in flight. W22 commits pushing foul during rebounding action under the basket, so ball remains live. Then F12 appears to commit offensive BI by getting his hand entangled in the net while the ball was on/within the basket. The try ends up being successful.

Crew gets together to discuss. It could very well be that they just weren't sure who's hand ended up in the net because W22's was in the neighborhood as well. But replay clearly showed that it was F12's hand. In any case, they counted the basket, which I believe was incorrect.

Should have been wipe the basket, but then give the ball to FL for a throw-in as a result of the common foul.

After the lengthy discussion, the crew forgot who the initial foul was on, so they went to the monitor to confirm W22. In the subsequent explanation to the TV crew (which I like that they do, by the way), it was even asked about the pulling on the net, and the official correctly stated, "no, that part of the call is not reviewable."

So this time Rule 11 was applied correctly, but the inability to apply common sense with replay review here gave FL two free points.

Yeah, I definitely think some major tweaking to Rule 11 is in order after this year.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2017, 01:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
This is a good one. Wisconsin/Florida. Just before 15:06 2nd Half.

FL try in flight. W22 commits pushing foul during rebounding action under the basket, so ball remains live. Then F12 appears to commit offensive BI by getting his hand entangled in the net while the ball was on/within the basket. The try ends up being successful.

Crew gets together to discuss. It could very well be that they just weren't sure who's hand ended up in the net because W22's was in the neighborhood as well. But replay clearly showed that it was F12's hand. In any case, they counted the basket, which I believe was incorrect.

Should have been wipe the basket, but then give the ball to FL for a throw-in as a result of the common foul.

After the lengthy discussion, the crew forgot who the initial foul was on, so they went to the monitor to confirm W22. In the subsequent explanation to the TV crew (which I like that they do, by the way), it was even asked about the pulling on the net, and the official correctly stated, "no, that part of the call is not reviewable."

So this time Rule 11 was applied correctly, but the inability to apply common sense with replay review here gave FL two free points.

Yeah, I definitely think some major tweaking to Rule 11 is in order after this year.
I think your assumption about what they were talking about was incorrect. I do not think the were talking about the net at all. I think they were talking about how to administer the foul or if there was a reason (rules wise) to negate the foul. The questions I think they were considering was does the basket count? Does the foul get penalized? If so, how. I think they went to the monitor to see either who fouled or who was fouled. Ultimately, they got all of that right.

As for common sense relating to the BI, I see hands touch the net every game that go uncalled. It is just one of those things that is often passed on. You may or may not agree, but it happens too often to be just missed.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Mar 25, 2017, 02:26am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,583
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
This is a good one. Wisconsin/Florida. Just before 15:06 2nd Half.

FL try in flight. W22 commits pushing foul during rebounding action under the basket, so ball remains live. Then F12 appears to commit offensive BI by getting his hand entangled in the net while the ball was on/within the basket. The try ends up being successful.

Crew gets together to discuss. It could very well be that they just weren't sure who's hand ended up in the net because W22's was in the neighborhood as well. But replay clearly showed that it was F12's hand. In any case, they counted the basket, which I believe was incorrect.

Should have been wipe the basket, but then give the ball to FL for a throw-in as a result of the common foul.

After the lengthy discussion, the crew forgot who the initial foul was on, so they went to the monitor to confirm W22. In the subsequent explanation to the TV crew (which I like that they do, by the way), it was even asked about the pulling on the net, and the official correctly stated, "no, that part of the call is not reviewable."

So this time Rule 11 was applied correctly, but the inability to apply common sense with replay review here gave FL two free points.

Yeah, I definitely think some major tweaking to Rule 11 is in order after this year.


Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Tourn - Thursday March 22 Video Requests JRutledge Basketball 42 Fri Mar 24, 2017 04:25pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Saturday March 18 JRutledge Basketball 55 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:42am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Sunday March 19 JRutledge Basketball 51 Wed Mar 22, 2017 07:40am
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Friday March 17 JRutledge Basketball 15 Mon Mar 20, 2017 04:03pm
NCAA Tournament Video Requests - Thursday March 16 Nevadaref Basketball 15 Sun Mar 19, 2017 06:17pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1