The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 02:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Ball isn't in the backcourt when he touches it.
Since you are using a pronoun, "he", not sure to whom you are referring. Ball was in BC when #2 touched it.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 03:04pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
It was in the air over the backcourt and still had FC status. The ball didn't touch the floor until AFTER the touch. So at that point it had backcourt status, but it needed to be touched by another (or the same) white player for it to be a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
It was in the air over the backcourt and still had FC status. The ball didn't touch the floor until AFTER the touch. So at that point it had backcourt status, but it needed to be touched by another (or the same) white player for it to be a violation.
Had that white player tipped the ball in his save attempt, such that the ball bounced almost right down the midcourt line, and was recovered by A2 reaching over the time line such that he stayed entirely in the front court, is there a violation there? Same question, but if the ball took 2-3 bounces in the back court before landing in the FC, and was then recovered?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 03:34pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Had that white player tipped the ball in his save attempt, such that the ball bounced almost right down the midcourt line, and was recovered by A2 reaching over the time line such that he stayed entirely in the front court, is there a violation there? Same question, but if the ball took 2-3 bounces in the back court before landing in the FC, and was then recovered?
The ball either hits the division line or doesn't in your first scenario, which are you intending?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 683
Quote:
Originally Posted by frezer11 View Post
Had that white player tipped the ball in his save attempt, such that the ball bounced almost right down the midcourt line, and was recovered by A2 reaching over the time line such that he stayed entirely in the front court, is there a violation there? Same question, but if the ball took 2-3 bounces in the back court before landing in the FC, and was then recovered?
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
The ball either hits the division line or doesn't in your first scenario, which are you intending?

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
Sorry, I mean it is rolling in the backcourt. No player in team A touches the ball while that player has BC status in my scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 04:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
It was in the air over the backcourt and still had FC status. The ball didn't touch the floor until AFTER the touch. So at that point it had backcourt status, but it needed to be touched by another (or the same) white player for it to be a violation.
Yes, agreed, accept it was then touched by another player, #2.
__________________
If some rules are never enforced, then why do they exist?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 04:14pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bucky View Post
Yes, agreed, accept it was then touched by another player, #2.


#2 and the ball both had frontcourt status when he touched it.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 04:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
Just so everybody is clear White #2 is the wing that is opposite the table. I can't see the numbers of the player who made the errant pass or the one who tried to "save" that pass (the wing on the table side).

The whistle is blown shortly after the table side player touches the ball. It should not have been. #2 eventually picks up the ball in the back court in the center circle.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Altor View Post
The whistle is blown shortly after the table side player touches the ball. It should not have been. #2 eventually picks up the ball in the back court in the center circle.
Right, so No. 2 is just picking up a dead ball. That doesn't suddenly make an incorrect backcourt call correct.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 785
I don't disagree. Just trying to clarify Bucky's comments.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 26, 2017, 05:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by ODog View Post
Right, so No. 2 is just picking up a dead ball. That doesn't suddenly make an incorrect backcourt call correct.
Technically, it should have been an IW, with ball back to white. That's picking nits on what was going to be an obvious violation.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Charlotte @ Maryland plays (Video) JRutledge Basketball 15 Thu Dec 22, 2016 10:26am
Wisconsin @ Iowa Plays (Video) JRutledge Basketball 7 Thu Feb 25, 2016 02:08pm
video request Iowa/Wisconsin (Video) blindzebra Basketball 7 Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:58am
Maryland/Wake Forest (W)...Two plays JetMetFan Basketball 21 Mon Feb 11, 2013 06:12am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1