The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Block charge and aftermath (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102210-block-charge-aftermath.html)

stripes Mon Feb 06, 2017 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SD Referee (Post 999388)
The easy, and CORRECT call, is to wave off the basket. What we really have here is a team control foul and the basket should not have counted as the contact occurred before the shooter is even going up. To count this basket is terrible officiating.

Unless he clearly got the shot off before the contact, this is an easy basket to wave off.

I talked with the cc about this very thing. After seeing the video, he agreed.

ronny mulkey Mon Feb 06, 2017 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 999397)
I was under the impression that the WNBA, NBA, and D-League all operate under the same training philosophies.

And, does that extend to the College Women's?

Raymond Mon Feb 06, 2017 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ronny mulkey (Post 999440)
And, does that extend to the College Women's?

I don't know, outside of floor coverage, which does.

A Pennsylvania Coach Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 999387)
Some would say:

"The offense must go 'to and through' the defender to be a charge."

I understand where you are coming from on the other platitudes (if I'm using that word correctly), but what is about "to and through" that you don't like, specifically?

frezer11 Wed Feb 08, 2017 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 999616)
I understand where you are coming from on the other platitudes (if I'm using that word correctly), but what is about "to and through" that you don't like, specifically?

I know the question was not directed to me, but "to and through" has nothing to do with the rule. That phrase often implies that it is required for the offensive player to drive through the defender, and put them on the ground for it to be a foul. If there is legal guarding position and sufficient contact to cause displacement, then it should be an offensive foul. I've called charges where the defender remained standing and the offensive player was on the ground before (though these are typically better left as a no-call).

bob jenkins Wed Feb 08, 2017 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by frezer11 (Post 999631)
I know the question was not directed to me, but "to and through" has nothing to do with the rule. That phrase often implies that it is required for the offensive player to drive through the defender, and put them on the ground for it to be a foul. If there is legal guarding position and sufficient contact to cause displacement, then it should be an offensive foul.

Basically, this.

A Pennsylvania Coach Wed Feb 08, 2017 05:13pm

I guess I just don't interpret "to and through" that way. To me, it's a good reminder not to reward a defender who goes down from too little contact. Interesting to hear another viewpoint or two. Thanks!

bob jenkins Thu Feb 09, 2017 08:32am

Quote:

Originally Posted by A Pennsylvania Coach (Post 999681)
I guess I just don't interpret "to and through" that way. To me, it's a good reminder not to reward a defender who goes down from too little contact. Interesting to hear another viewpoint or two. Thanks!

I agree we shouldn't do that either.

Too often when the offense would make contact and "transfer" all his momentum to the defense so the defense moved backwards, there would be no call because the offense also stopped moving and never went through the spot where the defense was (think of billiard balls, for example).

OKREF Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:29am

Seems to be a PC. I think the lead missed this one, and it looks like to me he is talked into counting the basket by the trail. The trail immediately goes to him and then the discussion happens.

JRutledge Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:35am

I think this is clearly a charge. But if you are going to call the block, I think the basket can and should count in this situation.

Peace

stripes Thu Feb 09, 2017 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by OKREF (Post 999735)
Seems to be a PC. I think the lead missed this one, and it looks like to me he is talked into counting the basket by the trail. The trail immediately goes to him and then the discussion happens.

I talked to the T. I can guarantee you that he was not "talking the L" into counting the basket.

They talked about the status of the ball when the foul occurred and the crew (with much input from the C) decided that the basket should count.

OKREF Thu Feb 09, 2017 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by stripes (Post 999772)
I talked to the T. I can guarantee you that he was not "talking the L" into counting the basket.

They talked about the status of the ball when the foul occurred and the crew (with much input from the C) decided that the basket should count.

Fair enough. I just disagree with it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1