The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2017, 07:23pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,454
PC Foul w/ BI or Goaltending

I know that if A1 drives the lane, releases a try, and is then called for a player control foul the basket (assuming it goes in) does not count. Is that the same if the try is interfered with (basket interference or goaltending)?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2017, 07:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,007
e
4.19.6 SITUATION A:

B1 obtains a legal position in A1's path before A1 becomes airborne. A1 jumps and releases the ball on a try for goal. Before returning to the floor, airborne shooter A1 charges into B1. (a) Before the foul by A1, B2 commits basket interference; or (b) after the foul on A1, B2 slaps the ball on its downward flight.

RULING: In (a), both the violation and the foul are penalized. The basket interference by B2 causes the ball to become dead immediately. The violation is penalized by awarding the two points. The player-control foul on A1 is also charged. Team B is awarded the ball for a throw-in anywhere along the end line. A defensive-goaltending or basket-interference violation committed prior to a player-control foul does not contradict the general statement that when a player-control foul occurs that player cannot score. In the case of a defensive violation, it is the violation which results in awarding the score. In (b), the ball becomes dead and the try ends immediately when the player-control foul on A1 occurs. The action of B2 is ignored as goaltending cannot occur after the try has ended. The ball is awarded to Team B for a throw-in from a designated spot out of bounds closest to where the foul occurred. (4-12-1; 6-7-4; 6-7-9 Exception; 7-5-4a; 9-11)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2017, 07:46pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,454
Thanks. I looked in this year's case book and didn't see anything. Is that from a previous year, or am I having more sight issues than coaches already think I do?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2017, 09:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,007
Its in the 16/17 book, try looking again
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 22, 2017, 09:05pm
Stubborn Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 1,454
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
Its in the 16/17 book, try looking again
damn!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 11:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 546
Does anyone recall seeing a video example of the first situation (where the BI or goal-tending occurs before the player returns to the floor?)

It seems like it would be logistically very difficult for this to occur, although not impossible.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 12:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by HokiePaul View Post
Does anyone recall seeing a video example of the first situation (where the BI or goal-tending occurs before the player returns to the floor?)



It seems like it would be logistically very difficult for this to occur, although not impossible.


I agree, this is hard to imagine happening. If it happened at all it would probably have to be bang-bang right in front of the basket.

Situation (a) would take five minutes alone to explain to Team B's incredulous coach:

Coach B: "How in the world do they get two points when they charged into my guy???"

Young U2: "Well coach, by rule in this particular case..."

Yeah, have fun with that one.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 01:08pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,654
This ruling makes no sense whatsover -- not unless a basket would count if released before the PC foul.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 02:00pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
Also the ball become dead immediately on the basket interference so the contact on the PC foul would be dead ball contact.

Last edited by Ed Maeder; Mon Jan 23, 2017 at 02:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 02:05pm
Moderator M-800
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
This ruling makes no sense whatsover -- not unless a basket would count if released before the PC foul.
I agree completely. Defender interfered with a dead ball.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 02:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
Also the ball become dead immediately on the basket interference so the contact on the PC foul would be dead ball contact.
Read the definition of PC foul. I don't have the books handy, but I'm pretty sure it includes the airborne shooter even after the ball is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 02:20pm
Never Stop Learning
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 518
4-19-6 A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.
No mention of after the ball is dead.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 02:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
4=19=6 A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.
No mention of after the ball is dead.
Exception in rule 6. BI does not make ball dead if airborne shooter not returned to floor.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,411
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed Maeder View Post
4-19-6 A player-control foul is a common foul committed by a player while he/she is in control of the ball or by an airborne shooter.
No mention of after the ball is dead.


Read the definition of airborne shooter; I think the answer is there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 23, 2017, 02:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,789
Quote:
Originally Posted by crosscountry55 View Post
Read the definition of airborne shooter; I think the answer is there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The answer is in Rule6-9. The exception.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Duke-Louisville foul and/or goaltending clip (Plumlee 1st half) JetMetFan Basketball 6 Mon Apr 01, 2013 02:30pm
Foul, then goaltending. McMac Basketball 7 Sun Mar 11, 2012 07:47am
Foul + goaltending smbbcoach99 Basketball 6 Wed Dec 16, 2009 09:23pm
Foul on goaltending play pank Basketball 1 Sat Jan 29, 2005 02:06am
goaltending or technical foul?? Josh Ovens Basketball 4 Sun Feb 10, 2002 10:42am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1