The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 02:14pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Official View Post
I'm in the minority with Mark. Continuous motion (NFHS) states .....if pivoting or stepping when fouled, may complete the usual foot or body movement in any activity while holding the ball. Shooting, Try, Tap (NFHS) states...The try starts when the player begins the motion which habitually precedes the release of the the ball.

In my opinion the player ended her dribble, started her 1st step while holding the ball, was then pushed (fouled), completed a legal jump stop and released the ball for a try.

I keep thinking would the view change if the 2nd movement was a step with the right foot (instead of the jump stop) and then the release of the ball? Is the jump stop throwing off the play? To me continuous motion says that shooting motions can start from the floor and the player still has the right to complete the usual movement.

Resource:
Basketball - Continuous Motion - Referee Magazine

" the true determining factor in ruling to award free throws or not is what the player is doing at the time of the foul. The player is doing one of three things: dribbling, passing or shooting."

The amazing thing about the Referee article is what I have said has been the the way the game as been officiated for well over 50 years. What you have said is the essence of the Continuous Motion rule. The rule is written such that a defensive player does not gain an unfair advantage over the offensive player in this situation. I am about to post two plays (actually four plays) for everyone to study.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 24, 2017, 02:23pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,171
I should be taking my post-lunch nap right now in preparation for the girls' JrHS basketball DH I am not supposed to be officiating this afternoon, but I promised that I would get back with some plays. Big Cat I would hope that you will take a real good look at them and give me your rulings.

I should also like to address the poster who referred to my initial post as a "disertation". Yes, it seemed long, but my comments were meant to show that even a simple play as the one in the video we are discussing can and does have many rules that must be applied simultaneously. I am a (retired) structural engineer and was a rules interpreter for ten years (as well as an OhioHSAA Certified Basketball Officiating Instructor) and sat on two IAABO National Committees for instruction and exams and that attention to detail is just how I do things.


Play A: Team A has the ball in its FC. A1, Team A's 7'-00" right handed
center is set up in the low post with his back to the basket. A1 either: 1)
receives a pass from A2 and in one continuous motion picks up his left foot
and starts to step across the lane jumping off his right foot then landing on his
left foot and then jumps off his left foot, and then either: a) releases the ball
on a pass to A3, or b) releases the ball for a sky-hook that kisses the glass on
it way through the basket; or 2) after stopping his dribble and in one
continuous motion picks up in left foot and starts to step across the lane
jumping off his right foot then landing on his left foot and then jumps off of his
left foot, and then either: a) releases the ball on a pass to A3, or b) releases the ball for a sky-hook that kisses the glass on it way through the basket. In both Play A-1 and Play A-2, A1 is fouled by B1 after he has starts to step with his left foot but before but before he releases the ball for the pass in (a) or the sky hook in (b). What it your Ruling?


Play B: A1: 1) catches a pass from A2 while both of her feet are in the air. She then, in one continuous motion, lands on her right foot, then jumps off her right foot, then lands on her left foot, and then jumps off of her left foot, after which she releases the ball: a) on a pass to A3, or b)a layup high and soft off of the backboard that goes through the basket; or 2) A1 ends her dribble while both of her feet are in the air. She then, in one continuous motion, lands on her right foot, the jumps off her right foot, then lands on her left foot, and then jumps off of her left foot, after which she releases the ball: a) on a pass to A3, or b) a layup high and soft off of the backboard that goes through the basket. In Play B-1 A1 is fouled by B1 after she has caught the ball and anytime before she releases the ball for the pass in (a) or the layup in (b). In Play B-2 A1 is fouled by B1 after she ends her dribble and anytime before she releases the ball for the pass in (a) or the layup in (b). What it your Ruling?

Do not forget to cite NFHS Rules and Casebook Plays (and would like everyone that NCAA Rules and Approved Rules will be the same as the NFHS Rules and Casebook Plays).

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 25, 2017, 02:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
[QUOTE=Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.;998358]I should be taking my post-lunch nap right now in preparation for the girls' JrHS basketball DH I am not supposed to be officiating this afternoon, but I promised that I would get back with some plays. Big Cat I would hope that you will take a real good look at them and give me your rulings.

I should also like to address the poster who referred to my initial post as a "disertation". Yes, it seemed long, but my comments were meant to show that even a simple play as the one in the video we are discussing can and does have many rules that must be applied simultaneously. I am a (retired) structural engineer and was a rules interpreter for ten years (as well as an OhioHSAA Certified Basketball Officiating Instructor) and sat on two IAABO National Committees for instruction and exams and that attention to detail is just how I do things.


Play A: Team A has the ball in its FC. A1, Team A's 7'-00" right handed
center is set up in the low post with his back to the basket. A1 either: 1)
receives a pass from A2 and in one continuous motion picks up his left foot
and starts to step across the lane jumping off his right foot then landing on his
left foot and then jumps off his left foot, and then either: a) releases the ball
on a pass to A3, or b) releases the ball for a sky-hook that kisses the glass on
it way through the basket; or 2) after stopping his dribble and in one
continuous motion picks up in left foot and starts to step across the lane
jumping off his right foot then landing on his left foot and then jumps off of his
left foot, and then either: a) releases the ball on a pass to A3, or b) releases the ball for a sky-hook that kisses the glass on it way through the basket. In both Play A-1 and Play A-2, A1 is fouled by B1 after he has starts to step with his left foot but before but before he releases the ball for the pass in (a) or the sky hook in (b). What it your Ruling?


I'll humor you.

You say he was fouled By B1 after he starts to step with left foot but before he releases ball on sky hook or pass. There's a gap there. If he fouls just after he began the step, arms doing nothing then no shot. If he completes the step, arms start going up,(or started going up before that) then i need to decide shot or pass. i will look at him and the play and decide if he was going to shoot it or dump it. There is a decision there. may error on side of shot. have to see it.

In this other play, w4 has to come down out of the air when she is fouled. She can then stand still, shoot or pass it. She was fouled while going down. It is too far back in time to say that is in the act. The throwing motion has never started.

finally, theres a certain amount of pornography involved here. Habitually precedes release…requires some "i know it when i see it" stuff. This girl is in no way shooting when she's fouled.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does RPP apply? Coach Bill Basketball 8 Thu Jan 12, 2012 05:47pm
Apply NFHS to WSH-Tampa Playoff FredFan7 Football 8 Mon Jan 09, 2006 01:18pm
Does pass interferance really apply? kbarnett Football 9 Fri Oct 29, 2004 05:18pm
Does PSK apply? GPC2 Football 2 Fri Aug 27, 2004 10:14am
I know the NFL rules don't apply to us, but... OverAndBack Football 7 Thu Aug 19, 2004 04:03am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1