The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 13, 2017, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 53
Free throw shooter missed off the front of the rim.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 13, 2017, 08:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cole4088 View Post
Free throw shooter missed off the front of the rim.
Did players just stand there or did they make an effort to rebound? Interesting. Lets say everybody froze except shooter. He gets rebound dribbles twice then throws ball out of bounds. Players were motionless because of erroneous info but does that have to be caught at that time to go to 8-6? Rule says ball should be declared dead immediately. If shooter rebounds, play continues, he or she dribbles around and then fires ball out of bounds. Is there any correction to make?

That isnt a 2-10 a-e error...

I know what id do but i just want to see what think rules require
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 13, 2017, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post

I know what id do but i just want to see what think rules require
If "everyone" acts as if it really was 1-1, then just play on.

If "no one" acts as it it were a 1-1, go to the arrow.

In between, well, sometimes you have to officiate.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 13, 2017, 11:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If "everyone" acts as if it really was 1-1, then just play on.

If "no one" acts as it it were a 1-1, go to the arrow.

In between, well, sometimes you have to officiate.
We'd like to think that if no one moves the officials would figure it out. Let's say they don't. ball comes to shooter. He dribbles around then throws it away. Then they realize something wasn't right...I'd like to think I'd never let it get that far. I'd still go to the arrow. I think that would be right thing to do still. Not sure technical rules would agree. Your thoughts?

Last edited by BigCat; Fri Jan 13, 2017 at 11:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 15, 2017, 08:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
We'd like to think that if no one moves the officials would figure it out. Let's say they don't. ball comes to shooter. He dribbles around then throws it away. Then they realize something wasn't right...I'd like to think I'd never let it get that far. I'd still go to the arrow. I think that would be right thing to do still. Not sure technical rules would agree. Your thoughts?
I'm confused because going to the arrow is the "technical rule" in the play you describe.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 15, 2017, 09:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I'm confused because going to the arrow is the "technical rule" in the play you describe.
The case play 8.6 that billy set out above says officials recognize their error just after ball rebounded. One team disadvantaged so go to arrow etc. The correction comes under this rule and case play.

Suppose the rebound comes to the shooter with most if not all on lane thinking it was 2 shots because officials announced it. Little to no effort made to rebound. Unlike the play in 8.6, let say these officials still dont recognize the screw up. Shooter dribbles around and either throws it out of bounds or say she scores. In other words, play continues. After the ball is thrown out of bounds or basket made everybody starts yelling about it. Now they go to the table and figure it out.

Is it too late, technically speaking, under the rules to correct this? It is within the correctable error time frames but this really isnt one of the a-e in 2-10. Sniper's play doesnt really say if everybody attempted to rebound but we see in it that play it goes to POI. Do the rules require us to recognize and fix this right away? If we dont and play continues do we say too late to address it.

I havnt had it happen and if it did id still go back to the arrow rather than saying it is too late to fix but im wondering if that is supported under the rules. Hopefully, its a never in a career play. Just curious...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 14, 2017, 08:28am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Erroneously Awards Two Free Throws ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
If "everyone" acts as if it really was 1-1, then just play on.If "no one" acts as it it were a 1-1, go to the arrow.
8.6.1 SITUATION: A1 is about to attempt the first of a one-and-one free-throw
situation. The administering official steps in and erroneously informs players that
two shots will be taken. A1's first attempt is unsuccessful. The missed shot is
rebounded by: (a) B1, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another
throw; (b) A2, with all other players motionless in anticipation of another throw;
or (c) B2, with several players from both teams attempting to secure the rebound.
The officials recognize their error at this point. RULING: In (a) and (b), the official's
error clearly put one team at a disadvantage (players stood motionless and
didn't attempt to rebound). Play should be whistled dead immediately and
resumed using the alternating-possession procedure. In (c), both teams made an
attempt to rebound despite the official's error and had an equal opportunity to
gain possession of the rebound. Play should continue. (2-3)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Jan 14, 2017 at 08:35am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Messed up inbounds play HokiePaul Basketball 1 Mon Feb 02, 2015 03:37pm
Messed up 1 & 1 Coach Keough Basketball 3 Tue Mar 11, 2014 09:32pm
Messed One Up Tonight!!!! walter Basketball 24 Wed Feb 17, 2010 02:39pm
Haha, might have messed up... AlabamaBlue Football 6 Fri Sep 19, 2003 02:34pm
messed up kick off bluezebra58 Football 6 Sun Sep 14, 2003 08:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1