The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2017, 07:26am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,378
Violation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by marc.reppermund View Post
... he never stepped on the line or out, and his intent was to throw in, has he violated, since he never left the field of play, after the made basket. Violation?
Yes.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2017, 09:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
OK, what do you have if player clearly headed "north" OOB after an opponent's made basket, flips it back "south" to an opponent headed up court?

In other words, not yet fully OOB but inbounding the ball while momentum is taking him OOB. One foot either in play still, or still in air while stepping into OOB territory.

This is usually done casually, without back court pressure, of course, and often when it's late in the game or not a close score. I'm not talking about jumping the gun to start a fastbreak, either.

I'd say, like Big Cat, it can depend on the age and level of the players. Young 'uns get a pass (and maybe a caution). Men's league-no bother. But where should one, ahem, draw the line?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2017, 09:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,263
I like the old caseplay that basically said once it becomes apparent that the throw-in team will not make a legal throw-in to call the violation(5 second).
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2017, 10:35am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
I like the old caseplay that basically said once it becomes apparent that the throw-in team will not make a legal throw-in to call the violation(5 second).
Not a 5 second violation, it's a violation for not being out of bounds for the throw-in.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2017, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amesman View Post
In other words, not yet fully OOB but inbounding the ball while momentum is taking him OOB. One foot either in play still, or still in air while stepping into OOB territory.
It depends a little on what you mean by "fully OOB". As long as one foot is OOB and the other is not touching inbounds, the play is legal. OR, if the player jumped form the foot that was OOB, the play is legal.

On the rest -- I will look at what I need to look at. What I need to look at depends on the game and the time / score.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB View Post
I like the old caseplay that basically said once it becomes apparent that the throw-in team will not make a legal throw-in to call the violation(5 second).
It's not a 5-second violation.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2017, 10:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,263
Not in that case play.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2017, 11:49am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,557
There was an interpretation a few years ago that gave an option for either continuing a 5 second count or calling a violation immediately. I think the first one is problematic for many reasons not needing to be stated. The second one is what I do regardless of level. I do not feel the need to help with an obvious violation. I believe this was in the NF Preseason Guidebook where this was specifically discussed. Also the NCAA has addressed this in video as well.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 12, 2017, 12:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post
There was an interpretation a few years ago that gave an option for either continuing a 5 second count or calling a violation immediately.
I don't think that was it.

I think the discussion here was (a) wait 5 seconds; (b) bring them back and have them do it right; or, (c) immediate violation.

NFHS came out and said C.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inbound after made basket/timeout CoachP Basketball 7 Tue Jul 22, 2008 06:08pm
time out after made basket Question todd pen Basketball 98 Thu Aug 23, 2007 07:02pm
foul on made basket question roadking Basketball 3 Wed Dec 20, 2006 02:44pm
inbound after made basket shont Basketball 6 Fri Dec 03, 2004 11:57am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1