The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Inbound after made basket question- throws in before stepping out. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102091-inbound-after-made-basket-question-throws-before-stepping-out.html)

marc.reppermund Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:06pm

Inbound after made basket question- throws in before stepping out.
 
This happened in 2 games recently. After the offense makes a shot, the team now going on offense, goes to take the ball out of bounds, but before stepping completely out of play, throws it in. Since he was not out of play, would this be a throw in violation? Couldn't this just be a player tossing to another player, who will be inbounding? In the first case, it was a youth player who did not step out or on the line. In the 2nd case, the player stepped on the line, and a little out of play with one foot, while throwing it in. What is the right call here.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

BigCat Wed Jan 11, 2017 10:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by marc.reppermund (Post 997139)
This happened in 2 games recently. After the offense makes a shot, the team now going on offense, goes to take the ball out of bounds, but before stepping completely out of play, throws it in. Since he was not out of play, would this be a throw in violation? Couldn't this just be a player tossing to another player, who will be inbounding? In the first case, it was a youth player who did not step out or on the line. In the 2nd case, the player stepped on the line, and a little out of play with one foot, while throwing it in. What is the right call here.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I would look at the player throwing in and player catching. If the original player grabs ball and happens to have foot on line, then tosses to other kid who is approaching him and it looks like they want him to throw it in I'll hold whistle. Same if kid is invoubds and tosses to player. If I see the player who catches head up floor I will call the violation.

All of this is relative to the age. If your talking young grade school I'd help them. Send them back. High school, violation as soon as they show me it isn't a toss to other player to throw it in. If the thrower is already OOB and he tosses it to other kid who is heading to him and that player steps OOB not much choice but violation unless young grade school.

bas2456 Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 997140)
I would look at the player throwing in and player catching. If the original player grabs ball and happens to have foot on line, then tosses to other kid who is approaching him and it looks like they want him to throw it in I'll hold whistle. Same if kid is invoubds and tosses to player. If I see the player who catches head up floor I will call the violation.

All of this is relative to the age. If your talking young grade school I'd help them. Send them back. High school, violation as soon as they show me it isn't a toss to other player to throw it in. If the thrower is already OOB and he tosses it to other kid who is heading to him and that player steps OOB not much choice but violation unless young grade school.

I'll second what Big Cat said.

Welcome to the forum Marc!

BillyMac Thu Jan 12, 2017 07:18am

Line ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by marc.reppermund (Post 997139)
... the player stepped on the line, and a little out of play with one foot, while throwing it in.

Remember, on the line is out of bounds, over the line is inbounds. A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line.

marc.reppermund Thu Jan 12, 2017 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 997164)
Remember, on the line is out of bounds, over the line is inbounds. A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line.



Billy, yes I do know that. I think what made me wonder was since in one of the cases, he never stepped on the line or out, and his intent was to throw in, has he violated, since he never left the field of play, after the made basket. Violation?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

BillyMac Thu Jan 12, 2017 07:26am

Violation ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by marc.reppermund (Post 997167)
... he never stepped on the line or out, and his intent was to throw in, has he violated, since he never left the field of play, after the made basket. Violation?

Yes.

Amesman Thu Jan 12, 2017 09:42am

OK, what do you have if player clearly headed "north" OOB after an opponent's made basket, flips it back "south" to an opponent headed up court?

In other words, not yet fully OOB but inbounding the ball while momentum is taking him OOB. One foot either in play still, or still in air while stepping into OOB territory.

This is usually done casually, without back court pressure, of course, and often when it's late in the game or not a close score. I'm not talking about jumping the gun to start a fastbreak, either.

I'd say, like Big Cat, it can depend on the age and level of the players. Young 'uns get a pass (and maybe a caution). Men's league-no bother. But where should one, ahem, draw the line?

SNIPERBBB Thu Jan 12, 2017 09:52am

I like the old caseplay that basically said once it becomes apparent that the throw-in team will not make a legal throw-in to call the violation(5 second).

Adam Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 997177)
I like the old caseplay that basically said once it becomes apparent that the throw-in team will not make a legal throw-in to call the violation(5 second).

Not a 5 second violation, it's a violation for not being out of bounds for the throw-in.

Adam Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by marc.reppermund (Post 997139)
This happened in 2 games recently. After the offense makes a shot, the team now going on offense, goes to take the ball out of bounds, but before stepping completely out of play, throws it in. Since he was not out of play, would this be a throw in violation? Couldn't this just be a player tossing to another player, who will be inbounding? In the first case, it was a youth player who did not step out or on the line. In the 2nd case, the player stepped on the line, and a little out of play with one foot, while throwing it in. What is the right call here.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Play 1: immediate violation once you realize this was not throwing to another player to perform the throw-in.

Play 2: I need more information to clarify where the player was when he threw it. Was his foot completely out of bounds (to include being on the line) or was part of it touching in bounds? If that foot was OOB, where was the other foot?

bob jenkins Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Amesman (Post 997176)
In other words, not yet fully OOB but inbounding the ball while momentum is taking him OOB. One foot either in play still, or still in air while stepping into OOB territory.

It depends a little on what you mean by "fully OOB". As long as one foot is OOB and the other is not touching inbounds, the play is legal. OR, if the player jumped form the foot that was OOB, the play is legal.

On the rest -- I will look at what I need to look at. What I need to look at depends on the game and the time / score.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 997177)
I like the old caseplay that basically said once it becomes apparent that the throw-in team will not make a legal throw-in to call the violation(5 second).

It's not a 5-second violation.

SNIPERBBB Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:45am

Not in that case play.

JRutledge Thu Jan 12, 2017 11:49am

There was an interpretation a few years ago that gave an option for either continuing a 5 second count or calling a violation immediately. I think the first one is problematic for many reasons not needing to be stated. The second one is what I do regardless of level. I do not feel the need to help with an obvious violation. I believe this was in the NF Preseason Guidebook where this was specifically discussed. Also the NCAA has addressed this in video as well.

Peace

bob jenkins Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 997206)
There was an interpretation a few years ago that gave an option for either continuing a 5 second count or calling a violation immediately.

I don't think that was it.

I think the discussion here was (a) wait 5 seconds; (b) bring them back and have them do it right; or, (c) immediate violation.

NFHS came out and said C.

JRutledge Thu Jan 12, 2017 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 997219)
I don't think that was it.

I think the discussion here was (a) wait 5 seconds; (b) bring them back and have them do it right; or, (c) immediate violation.

NFHS came out and said C.

There was a write up about this advocating those. But then again that was probably 8-10 years ago as well. It was when the IHSA started giving these out to us instead of the rulebooks every year.

Peace


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1