The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 02:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Last Second Shot: Kansas State at Kansas

Thoughts on the coverage of this play:



Putting myself as the C in transition, the "travel" was probably missed due to the secondary defender (#32) setting up in the key as he would get my attention during the drive. I'm not sure why the L was rotating during the drive.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 04:37pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
There is good constructive discussion to be had here, let's keep it to that.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 04:44pm
AremRed
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
Putting myself as the C in transition, the "travel" was probably missed due to the secondary defender (#32) setting up in the key as he would get my attention during the drive. I'm not sure why the L was rotating during the drive.
I can agree with your analysis of the Slot official. I understood why the Lead rotated -- he knew the amount of time remaining and correctly anticipated that there would be a layup play at the rim. He saw the offensive player coming down Slot side and got over there to have the best look at the play coming down the pipe. There are a LOT of hits on the arm that are missed between Lead and Slot during these drives down the weak side lane line (example: this NBA play from a couple years ago) and he got over there to see those.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 05:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
This is a blatant traveling violation. The player took FOUR steps after ending his dribble. It is unfortunate that the winning score resulted from this. The defense didn't have a fair chance.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 08:11pm
beware big brother
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: illinois
Posts: 996
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is a blatant traveling violation. The player took FOUR steps after ending his dribble. It is unfortunate that the winning score resulted from this. The defense didn't have a fair chance.
I don't think it is that blatant. I think and argument can be made that he did not actually end his dribble until his right foot is down. Then he steps with his left, jumps from that foot, and completes the layup. The play looks ugly because he lets the ball come up to his left shoulder, but until the point that his right hand touches the ball, we cannot know if he is going to legally dribble again, or end his dribble.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 08:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
I don't think it is that blatant. I think and argument can be made that he did not actually end his dribble until his right foot is down. Then he steps with his left, jumps from that foot, and completes the layup. The play looks ugly because he lets the ball come up to his left shoulder, but until the point that his right hand touches the ball, we cannot know if he is going to legally dribble again, or end his dribble.
Agree. It happens quick in real time. Fact is. Lot of these type travels aren't called in college. Didn't see the r st of game but I'm betting this wasn't the only one not called.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2017, 07:04am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnny d View Post
I don't think it is that blatant. I think and argument can be made that he did not actually end his dribble until his right foot is down. Then he steps with his left, jumps from that foot, and completes the layup. The play looks ugly because he lets the ball come up to his left shoulder, but until the point that his right hand touches the ball, we cannot know if he is going to legally dribble again, or end his dribble.
I see the same possibility. Told some folks that in a non-officiating forum. Definitely not 4 steps. The earliest he may have gathered is with the left foot down followed by a right foot-left foot step sequence, which would be a travel. But I could see an argument for that the gather wasn't complete until the right foot was down.

Bottom line, it's not as blatant as people want to make it seem. As Adam pointed out, the high dribble throws it off.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR

Last edited by Raymond; Thu Jan 05, 2017 at 07:08am.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2017, 10:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef View Post
I see the same possibility. Told some folks that in a non-officiating forum. Definitely not 4 steps. The earliest he may have gathered is with the left foot down followed by a right foot-left foot step sequence, which would be a travel. But I could see an argument for that the gather wasn't complete until the right foot was down.

Bottom line, it's not as blatant as people want to make it seem. As Adam pointed out, the high dribble throws it off.

Sent from my SM-N920P using Tapatalk
Count me in the camp that thinks this was not a travel, or perhaps a very marginal one at best. Not blatant. Also, it took me looking at the play in slow motion ten times to come to that conclusion, which says something. If I'm the slot and I'm not 110% sure in that situation, my lips are sealed.

What looks bad isn't always bad. I've had lots of occasions where I thought I might have missed a travel (as did one bench and half the crowd), only to look at the video later and determine that I indeed did not miss it. Of course I've also confirmed some of my own NCIs, but we won't talk about that.

Bottom line is that these types of travels are very hard to have a reasonable level of certainty on, especially when focusing on torsos and restricted areas at the same time. Many of them get missed. Maybe Steve Kerr is on to something with the idea of assigning a fourth official that focuses solely on travels. Not that I ever want that idea to come to fruition....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 02:15pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is a blatant traveling violation. The player took FOUR steps after ending his dribble. It is unfortunate that the winning score resulted from this. The defense didn't have a fair chance.


WRONG.

Not even close to four steps. At most it's a pivot foot lifted and returned, no worse than any other travel.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
WRONG.

Not even close to four steps. At most it's a pivot foot lifted and returned, no worse than any other travel.
He ended the dribble with the right foot on the floor (right foot the piviot) and stepped to his left, his right (travel), and then his left one more time.

So, it is more than a basic travel of lifting the pivot and returning it. He did that and still took one more.

__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Jan 06, 2017 at 03:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 03:13pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
He ended the dribble with the right foot on the floor (right foot the piviot) and stepped to his left, his right (travel), and then his left one more time.

So, it is more than a basic travel of lifting the pivot and returning it. He did that and still took one more.

I have the left as the pivot.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2017, 09:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
He ended the dribble with the right foot on the floor (right foot the piviot) and stepped to his left, his right (travel), and then his left one more time.

So, it is more than a basic travel of lifting the pivot and returning it. He did that and still took one more.

Unless there had been travel calls on similar plays throughout the game, I probably would have passed on it and then wondered if I got it correct. With that much time, I am probably more focused on whether the player got the shot off in time or whether any contact is marginal or not. Then again, I've never worked a game with the benefit of having instant replay to determine whether the horn sounded first.

I think it comes down to when the dribble ends and I don't think the dribbler has two hands on the ball in the first picture. It looks like it in the picture near the half-court logo, but not when you watch the replay (around :28). He might not have two hands on the ball until both feet are in the air around the three point line (generous interpretation). Then, each foot touches the floor once, which would make this a correct no call.

Last edited by JeffM; Sun Jan 08, 2017 at 09:24pm. Reason: Clarify that saying the dribble didn't end until both feet were in the air is a generous interpetation
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 07:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 460
Quote:
Originally Posted by AremRed View Post
I can agree with your analysis of the Slot official. I understood why the Lead rotated -- he knew the amount of time remaining and correctly anticipated that there would be a layup play at the rim. He saw the offensive player coming down Slot side and got over there to have the best look at the play coming down the pipe. There are a LOT of hits on the arm that are missed between Lead and Slot during these drives down the weak side lane line (example: this NBA play from a couple years ago) and he got over there to see those.
Thanks for the dialogue. I guess it's one of those things that you "had to be there" on the floor or through experience that the Lead figured to rotate on the drive. In the end, the KU player's drive ended up where the L started from. The L also ended up with a closed look with a view of KSt #32 back; he did a good job staying vertical.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
This is a blatant traveling violation. The player took FOUR steps after ending his dribble. It is unfortunate that the winning score resulted from this. The defense didn't have a fair chance.
NVRef, good input.

I agree the travel was blatant but with everything JD Collins preaching about officiating the defense first on drives to the basket, how else is the C supposed to officiate this play in transition? I'm not expecting the KU player to pickup his dribble that far from the key and would look into the paint for the secondary defender. For me, this is a hard play to dissect for coverage. In the end, it'll unfortunately go down as a NCI for the C.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 07:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
NVRef, good input.

I agree the travel was blatant but with everything JD Collins preaching about officiating the defense first on drives to the basket, how else is the C supposed to officiate this play in transition? I'm not expecting the KU player to pickup his dribble that far from the key and would look into the paint for the secondary defender. For me, this is a hard play to dissect for coverage. In the end, it'll unfortunately go down as a NCI for the C.
I believe that the Lead should be responsible for that secondary defender. As C, I would be focused on the ball-handler and any primary defender near him.

This is a bad miss, which impacts the outcome of the game. This is the kind of violation that officials are supposed to catch. We discuss quite frequently that we want to get the travels which give a clear advantage. This one is in that category.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 08:26pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,143
I am a life long KU fan and I called traveling as I watched the game live.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Request -- Kansas State/Iowa State -- Block/Charge VTOfficial Basketball 0 Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:42pm
NCAA Question - Kansas/Kansas State game jdw3018 Basketball 4 Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:49pm
Xavier vs Kansas State Stillblind Basketball 67 Mon Mar 29, 2010 05:59am
Kansas State vs DePaul All_Heart Basketball 4 Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:25pm
Colorado vs Kansas State firstyearref Basketball 7 Fri Mar 14, 2003 12:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1