The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
WRONG.

Not even close to four steps. At most it's a pivot foot lifted and returned, no worse than any other travel.
He ended the dribble with the right foot on the floor (right foot the piviot) and stepped to his left, his right (travel), and then his left one more time.

So, it is more than a basic travel of lifting the pivot and returning it. He did that and still took one more.

__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Jan 06, 2017 at 03:15pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 03:13pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
He ended the dribble with the right foot on the floor (right foot the piviot) and stepped to his left, his right (travel), and then his left one more time.

So, it is more than a basic travel of lifting the pivot and returning it. He did that and still took one more.

I have the left as the pivot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 03:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
I have the left as the pivot.
My image wasn't loading right when you replied. Look at it now...ball clearly in both hands with the right foot down just after the left came up....before 3 more steps.

The only way the left was the pivot is if he actually caught it before my first screenshot....but that would make it even worse.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 03:19pm
Rich's Avatar
Get away from me, Steve.
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 15,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
My image wasn't loading right when you replied. Look at it now...ball clearly in both hands with the right foot down just after the left came up....before 3 more steps.
At the risk of sounding like someone else here, I still have the left as the pivot. Regardless, it's still a travel.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 07:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
At the risk of sounding like someone else here, I still have the left as the pivot. Regardless, it's still a travel.
Can I ask what, in the screenshots I provided, leads you to not see the first frame as holding the ball with the right foot on or just coming down to the floor? (I know you're not suggesting he had picked up the ball on the prior step on the left foot.)

Are you saying that, live, you would have only recognized the left as the pivot due to the speed? (OK with me if that is what you're saying)
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Jan 06, 2017 at 07:54pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2017, 03:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
If I slow it down. He may have touched ball with two hands ending dribble, 5 feet outside 3 line.

I don't like slowing it down because I don't referee in slow mo. It happens so fast and, again, at that level they are accepting that it is ok. I wish we had a view of Weber to see if he is screaming travel. As I mentioned earlier, I called a euro step travel next play down my partner doesn't. Problem.

If it's allowed on both ends it isn't a complaint. I don't like it but as I've said before, it does the game no good if I'm the only person calling travel.

There's no doubt this was travel.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 08, 2017, 09:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 152
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
He ended the dribble with the right foot on the floor (right foot the piviot) and stepped to his left, his right (travel), and then his left one more time.

So, it is more than a basic travel of lifting the pivot and returning it. He did that and still took one more.

Unless there had been travel calls on similar plays throughout the game, I probably would have passed on it and then wondered if I got it correct. With that much time, I am probably more focused on whether the player got the shot off in time or whether any contact is marginal or not. Then again, I've never worked a game with the benefit of having instant replay to determine whether the horn sounded first.

I think it comes down to when the dribble ends and I don't think the dribbler has two hands on the ball in the first picture. It looks like it in the picture near the half-court logo, but not when you watch the replay (around :28). He might not have two hands on the ball until both feet are in the air around the three point line (generous interpretation). Then, each foot touches the floor once, which would make this a correct no call.

Last edited by JeffM; Sun Jan 08, 2017 at 09:24pm. Reason: Clarify that saying the dribble didn't end until both feet were in the air is a generous interpetation
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 09, 2017, 04:03am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffM View Post
I think it comes down to when the dribble ends and I don't think the dribbler has two hands on the ball in the first picture. It looks like it in the picture near the half-court logo, but not when you watch the replay (around :28). He might not have two hands on the ball until both feet are in the air around the three point line (generous interpretation). Then, each foot touches the floor once, which would make this a correct no call.
First, two hands on the ball isn't necessary. When the ball comes to rest in one hand, the player is holding the ball and the travel rules come into effect.

However, even if we go by your opinion of when the player got two hands on the ball, it is still a travel.

For it to not be a travel, he would have had to catch it no sooner than near the FT line where the right foot is coming down.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video Request -- Kansas State/Iowa State -- Block/Charge VTOfficial Basketball 0 Thu Mar 13, 2014 12:42pm
NCAA Question - Kansas/Kansas State game jdw3018 Basketball 4 Mon Jan 31, 2011 10:49pm
Xavier vs Kansas State Stillblind Basketball 67 Mon Mar 29, 2010 05:59am
Kansas State vs DePaul All_Heart Basketball 4 Tue Mar 20, 2007 12:25pm
Colorado vs Kansas State firstyearref Basketball 7 Fri Mar 14, 2003 12:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1