The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 04:51pm
sj sj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Throw in case

9.2.2.C - A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though as preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds with both feet remaining in-bounds. B1 immediately passes up the court to a fast-breaking teammate who scores a basket.

Ruling: Cancel team B’s goal. Throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1’s disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. 7-4-3; 7-5-7

I was trying to understand the specific violation here so would this be correct?

The ball is at B1’s disposal when it’s in his possession and therefore the throw-in procedure has legally begun. Then B1 threw the ball and the ball touched another player who was in-bounds which legally ended the throw-in. So we had a throw-in which started and ended but B1 was never OB. Therefore it’s a violation.

Last edited by sj; Thu Jan 05, 2017 at 03:44pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 04:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Unless I'm missing something in your wording ... you answered your own question correctly.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 05:04pm
sj sj is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Just wanted to see if it's correct. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 05:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,255
9-2-2
The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 05:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
He's got to be out of bounds. If an inbounds player tosses it to another inbounds player, maybe he's giving it to him to throw in. The moment he heads up court call the violation. You have discretion to call a T. I wouldn't do it unless they done it before.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 05:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
He's got to be out of bounds. If an inbounds player tosses it to another inbounds player, maybe he's giving it to him to throw in. The moment he heads up court call the violation. You have discretion to call a T. I wouldn't do it unless they done it before.
This is just a violation. What's the T for?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 05:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
This is just a violation. What's the T for?
This is an exact case play. Other option is T if you deem unsportsmanlike. I would have had to see it before to call it a T. It is an option under the play
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,255
This play happens all the time in worse than usual girls junior high/elementary school games and is never, ever going to be a T.

Only if the new defense does this is it a T
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
This is just a violation. What's the T for?
My screw up. The play calling it a T is if I score and then I grab ball out of net etc. I was thinking of that.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 04, 2017, 06:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 592
At the very least this is a 5-second violation of not having completed a throw-in properly after having the ball at one's disposal (not that I've ever called it that way).
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 05, 2017, 04:05pm
High Five Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 669
Throw in case

My guess would be he meant one foot oob and the other still on floor in bounds. I know him and he wouldn't screw this up

Last edited by BlueDevilRef; Thu Jan 05, 2017 at 04:11pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The case against two man biggravy Basketball 25 Wed Jan 13, 2010 10:32am
case 10.5.1 Sit C Splute Basketball 56 Tue Oct 09, 2007 03:04pm
A case for delay during free throw? Rick Durkee Basketball 7 Thu Jul 28, 2005 08:55am
Who is out in this case ? Mrhappybigpants Softball 3 Fri Jul 26, 2002 05:07pm
ASA case oppool Softball 6 Wed Feb 14, 2001 11:11pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1