The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throw in case (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/102048-throw-case.html)

sj Wed Jan 04, 2017 04:51pm

Throw in case
 
9.2.2.C - A1 scores a basket. After the ball goes through the net B1 grabs it and makes a move toward the end line as though as preparing to make a throw-in. However, B1 never legally steps out of bounds with both feet remaining in-bounds. B1 immediately passes up the court to a fast-breaking teammate who scores a basket.

Ruling: Cancel team B’s goal. Throw-in violation on B1. The ball was at B1’s disposal after the made basket to make a throw-in. B1 must be out of bounds to make a legal throw-in. 7-4-3; 7-5-7

I was trying to understand the specific violation here so would this be correct?

The ball is at B1’s disposal when it’s in his possession and therefore the throw-in procedure has legally begun. Then B1 threw the ball and the ball touched another player who was in-bounds which legally ended the throw-in. So we had a throw-in which started and ended but B1 was never OB. Therefore it’s a violation.

MD Longhorn Wed Jan 04, 2017 04:58pm

Unless I'm missing something in your wording ... you answered your own question correctly.

sj Wed Jan 04, 2017 05:04pm

Just wanted to see if it's correct. Thanks.

SNIPERBBB Wed Jan 04, 2017 05:06pm

9-2-2
The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bounds so it touches or is touched by another player (inbounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched.

BigCat Wed Jan 04, 2017 05:09pm

He's got to be out of bounds. If an inbounds player tosses it to another inbounds player, maybe he's giving it to him to throw in. The moment he heads up court call the violation. You have discretion to call a T. I wouldn't do it unless they done it before.

MD Longhorn Wed Jan 04, 2017 05:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigCat (Post 996335)
He's got to be out of bounds. If an inbounds player tosses it to another inbounds player, maybe he's giving it to him to throw in. The moment he heads up court call the violation. You have discretion to call a T. I wouldn't do it unless they done it before.

This is just a violation. What's the T for?

BigCat Wed Jan 04, 2017 05:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 996340)
This is just a violation. What's the T for?

This is an exact case play. Other option is T if you deem unsportsmanlike. I would have had to see it before to call it a T. It is an option under the play

SNIPERBBB Wed Jan 04, 2017 05:23pm

This play happens all the time in worse than usual girls junior high/elementary school games and is never, ever going to be a T.

Only if the new defense does this is it a T

BigCat Wed Jan 04, 2017 05:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 996340)
This is just a violation. What's the T for?

My screw up. The play calling it a T is if I score and then I grab ball out of net etc. I was thinking of that.

Amesman Wed Jan 04, 2017 06:06pm

At the very least this is a 5-second violation of not having completed a throw-in properly after having the ball at one's disposal (not that I've ever called it that way).

Adam Thu Jan 05, 2017 01:06am

Years ago, the argument went round and round on which of three options was best.
1. Immediate violation.
2. Start/continue the 5 second count and call the violation when you get to 5.
3. Blow the whistle and tell them to bring it in right.

3 is really only an option for the games where the players still look up to their parents.

1 and 2 created a pretty good debate here until the NFHS issued the case play and settled the debate. The idea is to kill the play early; otherwise you risk having to call a foul or a travel or something while they're bringing the ball up.

Plus, once you start the count, the player holding the ball is a thrower and there's a strong case that any contact with him should be an intentional foul.

zm1283 Thu Jan 05, 2017 01:23pm

I had this happen twice on the same team in a boys varsity game earlier this season as I was the new Trail after a made basket. They just grabbed it and got in a hurry and had one foot that never got out of bounds each time. I killed it each time and called the violation and no one said a word.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 05, 2017 03:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 996444)
I had this happen twice on the same team in a boys varsity game earlier this season as I was the new Trail after a made basket. They just grabbed it and got in a hurry and had one foot that never got out of bounds each time. I killed it each time and called the violation and no one said a word.

I'm not sure if you phrased that correctly, but the player does not need to have both feet touch the floor OOB. The player can have one foot touch OOB, as long as the other foot is NOT touching inbounds (it can be ion the air).

Adam Thu Jan 05, 2017 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 996444)
I had this happen twice on the same team in a boys varsity game earlier this season as I was the new Trail after a made basket. They just grabbed it and got in a hurry and had one foot that never got out of bounds each time. I killed it each time and called the violation and no one said a word.

I'm with bob on this. Why was this a violation?

BigCat Thu Jan 05, 2017 03:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Adam (Post 996471)
I'm with bob on this. Why was this a violation?

I'm hoping he meant one foot never got OoBs.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1