The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2016, 05:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 75
If a player dribbles for the 2nd time without the ball returning to his hands and you don't call it double dribble, you won't hear a word from an assigner and you can always say your judgement was it was not a dribble.

But mess it up the other way and call a double dribble and be wrong you will most definitely hear about it.

Again, to me this is simple and it is being made complicated. I'm never going to call a double dribble if the 2nd dribble doesn't return to the hands, ever!
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2016, 05:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 75
I read in another thread someone said we shouldn't think about intent while applying the rules. How are we to know with 100% certainty that a 2nd dribble attempt is not a pass, or a drop of the ball or whatever.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2016, 05:40pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shooter14 View Post
I read in another thread someone said we shouldn't think about intent while applying the rules. How are we to know with 100% certainty that a 2nd dribble attempt is not a pass, or a drop of the ball or whatever.
I disagree with that advice. Many times we are required to judge intent.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2016, 05:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I disagree with that advice. Many times we are required to judge intent.
For example...a shot is or is not shot based not on whether the ball goes in or hits the rim but based on whether the official believes the player was trying to shoot the ball. We must absolutely judge intent in several situations.

A player should not get out of an illegal dribble after starting it because they realize they shouldn't have dribbled. Once they push it towards the floor, we have to judge if it was a pass or a dribble. Even if it goes to another player, it can still be a dribble (by rule)...that just means the other player intercepted the ball during the dribble.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2016, 05:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shooter14 View Post
If a player dribbles for the 2nd time without the ball returning to his hands and you don't call it double dribble, you won't hear a word from an assigner and you can always say your judgement was it was not a dribble.

But mess it up the other way and call a double dribble and be wrong you will most definitely hear about it.

Again, to me this is simple and it is being made complicated. I'm never going to call a double dribble if the 2nd dribble doesn't return to the hands, ever!
By your argument, you could never be wrong...just say you judged it to be a dribble.

Waiting to see what happens next to see of you can somehow avoid blowing the whistle is not refereeing.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2016, 06:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shooter14 View Post
I read in another thread someone said we shouldn't think about intent while applying the rules. How are we to know with 100% certainty that a 2nd dribble attempt is not a pass, or a drop of the ball or whatever.
If what he does looks like a pass ...it is one unless he is the first person to touch it. If he simply drops the ball...it is a drop unless he is the first to touch it. If what he does is dribble then it's a violation without another touch.

Something like walks like duck, quacks like duck, it's a duck.....
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2016, 06:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
I disagree with that advice. Many times we are required to judge intent.
I actually agree with you. Just stating something I saw previously where someone used that as an explanation
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 22, 2016, 08:38pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,583
Many years ago, we had quite the looooong and spirited discussion on this. As was often the case, opinions ran quite strong. I was in quite the small minority at the time.



https://forum.officiating.com/basket...s-self-17.html

https://forum.officiating.com/basket...pretation.html
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
double dribble

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dribble out of bounds or not? johnyd Basketball 4 Tue Feb 05, 2013 08:15am
Double dribble tref Basketball 13 Fri Feb 18, 2011 01:05pm
Interrupted Dribble - Out of Bounds CallMeMrRef Basketball 9 Sat Mar 07, 2009 02:44pm
Is it Double Dribble? remargo Basketball 18 Sun Feb 10, 2008 01:29pm
double dribble? theshortbaldref Basketball 4 Thu Feb 20, 2003 04:38am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1