The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2016, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef View Post
Black 21 gets a def rebound. White 20 is now playing defense on the rebounding action and fouls. As I am going up with the fist and calling foul on W20, B21 swings elbow and contacts W20, above the shoulders . I totally dropped the proverbial ball and didn't call anything, just staying with the foul on W20. It was late in the game and as soon as we were done, I noted to my partner (a fairly new guy) that I missed it. My thought is I missed a false double, with the 2nd foul by B21 being intentional. And I'm pretty ticked I swallowed on the 2nd foul.
Your thoughts?
Was it an intentional swing of the elbow? Obviously, if it's within the flow of play as you're calling the foul (if that makes sense) you have nothing. But if you feel it's intentional contact while the ball is dead, then yes, you should have called the tech (or flagrant).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2016, 01:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Was it an intentional swing of the elbow? Obviously, if it's within the flow of play as you're calling the foul (if that makes sense) you have nothing. But if you feel it's intentional contact while the ball is dead, then yes, you should have called the tech (or flagrant).
I think I'm going to disagree here... Swinging elbow that makes contact above the shoulders has to be called. Makes no difference if it is intentional act for not. Its going to be two shots and the ball. The only thing that's left is to determine if player is ejected.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2016, 07:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
I think I'm going to disagree here... Swinging elbow that makes contact above the shoulders has to be called. Makes no difference if it is intentional act for not. Its going to be two shots and the ball. The only thing that's left is to determine if player is ejected.


If the ball is live, sure. But if the ball is dead because the first foul has already been called, I'm not sure it's automatic.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2016, 10:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
If the ball is live, sure. But if the ball is dead because the first foul has already been called, I'm not sure it's automatic.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Elbow to head ... Live or dead has to be called...if you don't... There are upset coaches, retaliation, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 14, 2016, 11:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 862
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
Elbow to head ... Live or dead has to be called...if you don't... There are upset coaches, retaliation, etc.
Rule 10-4-7 (Player Technical) says a player should be charged with a technical if "intentionally or flagrantly contacting an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul."

Obviously, if the contact is deemed to be either intentional or flagrant, address it accordingly.

My point is that I don't think the situation is absolute. If you would only call a player control foul if the ball were live, I wouldn't have a problem not calling a technical foul.

I understand I may be in the minority, and I understand that the "safe" thing to do would be to call the technical, but I'd better see clear intent if I'm hitting a kid with a dead ball contact technical.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2016, 07:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
Rule 10-4-7 (Player Technical) says a player should be charged with a technical if "intentionally or flagrantly contacting an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul."

Obviously, if the contact is deemed to be either intentional or flagrant, address it accordingly.

My point is that I don't think the situation is absolute. If you would only call a player control foul if the ball were live, I wouldn't have a problem not calling a technical foul.

I understand I may be in the minority, and I understand that the "safe" thing to do would be to call the technical, but I'd better see clear intent if I'm hitting a kid with a dead ball contact technical.
It's not the minority, it's flat out wrong. It has been stressed that elbow contact to the head IS a foul. Common/technical/flagrant. Therefore it cannot be ignored simply because the ball is dead. It has nothing to do with "safe". It has to do with expectations of the job. IF there is intent its a flagrant and not a technical.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2016, 08:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
It's not the minority, it's flat out wrong. It has been stressed that elbow contact to the head IS a foul. Common/technical/flagrant. Therefore it cannot be ignored simply because the ball is dead. It has nothing to do with "safe". It has to do with expectations of the job. IF there is intent its a flagrant and not a technical.

Common / Intentional / Flagrant. Whether Personal or Technical. (Recognizing that "common Technical" is not really a defined term -- but it should be. )

If the ball is live, it's a flagrant personal. If the ball is dead, it's a flagrant Technical.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 15, 2016, 11:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
It's not the minority, it's flat out wrong. It has been stressed that elbow contact to the head IS a foul. Common/technical/flagrant. Therefore it cannot be ignored simply because the ball is dead. It has nothing to do with "safe". It has to do with expectations of the job. IF there is intent its a flagrant and not a technical.
If it is deemed common, it can and should be ignored if the ball is dead.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2016, 07:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kelvin green View Post
I think I'm going to disagree here... Swinging elbow that makes contact above the shoulders has to be called. Makes no difference if it is intentional act for not. Its going to be two shots and the ball. The only thing that's left is to determine if player is ejected.
Elbow contact to the head cannot be ignored. If a foul has already been called then the only option is a Technical foul (you could have a flagrant, but its a you have to be there to make the distinction).
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2016, 08:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
Quote:
Originally Posted by bas2456 View Post
you should have called the tech (or flagrant).
Could be both.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missed 2nd FT Mel and weet Basketball 4 Thu Dec 13, 2012 10:48am
One of Our Own Will be Missed Here SAump Baseball 2 Mon Apr 23, 2012 04:28pm
Missed it Rufus Basketball 20 Wed Nov 23, 2011 10:01am
Missed Plate Lapopez Baseball 7 Mon Jun 23, 2008 08:40am
85% missed this one lawump Baseball 69 Thu Feb 28, 2008 10:23pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1