The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Think I missed one.... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/101950-think-i-missed-one.html)

BlueDevilRef Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:28pm

Think I missed one....
 
Black 21 gets a def rebound. White 20 is now playing defense on the rebounding action and fouls. As I am going up with the fist and calling foul on W20, B21 swings elbow and contacts W20, above the shoulders . I totally dropped the proverbial ball and didn't call anything, just staying with the foul on W20. It was late in the game and as soon as we were done, I noted to my partner (a fairly new guy) that I missed it. My thought is I missed a false double, with the 2nd foul by B21 being intentional. And I'm pretty ticked I swallowed on the 2nd foul.
Your thoughts?

bas2456 Tue Dec 13, 2016 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 994740)
Black 21 gets a def rebound. White 20 is now playing defense on the rebounding action and fouls. As I am going up with the fist and calling foul on W20, B21 swings elbow and contacts W20, above the shoulders . I totally dropped the proverbial ball and didn't call anything, just staying with the foul on W20. It was late in the game and as soon as we were done, I noted to my partner (a fairly new guy) that I missed it. My thought is I missed a false double, with the 2nd foul by B21 being intentional. And I'm pretty ticked I swallowed on the 2nd foul.
Your thoughts?

Was it an intentional swing of the elbow? Obviously, if it's within the flow of play as you're calling the foul (if that makes sense) you have nothing. But if you feel it's intentional contact while the ball is dead, then yes, you should have called the tech (or flagrant).

Kelvin green Tue Dec 13, 2016 01:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 994742)
Was it an intentional swing of the elbow? Obviously, if it's within the flow of play as you're calling the foul (if that makes sense) you have nothing. But if you feel it's intentional contact while the ball is dead, then yes, you should have called the tech (or flagrant).

I think I'm going to disagree here... Swinging elbow that makes contact above the shoulders has to be called. Makes no difference if it is intentional act for not. Its going to be two shots and the ball. The only thing that's left is to determine if player is ejected.

bas2456 Tue Dec 13, 2016 07:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kelvin green (Post 994747)
I think I'm going to disagree here... Swinging elbow that makes contact above the shoulders has to be called. Makes no difference if it is intentional act for not. Its going to be two shots and the ball. The only thing that's left is to determine if player is ejected.



If the ball is live, sure. But if the ball is dead because the first foul has already been called, I'm not sure it's automatic.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

deecee Tue Dec 13, 2016 07:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kelvin green (Post 994747)
I think I'm going to disagree here... Swinging elbow that makes contact above the shoulders has to be called. Makes no difference if it is intentional act for not. Its going to be two shots and the ball. The only thing that's left is to determine if player is ejected.

Elbow contact to the head cannot be ignored. If a foul has already been called then the only option is a Technical foul (you could have a flagrant, but its a you have to be there to make the distinction).

BlueDevilRef Tue Dec 13, 2016 08:38am

It was very bang bang. I would not have called it flagrant, but I do realize I should have had a whistle. I'm kinda pissed I did not.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 13, 2016 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 994742)
you should have called the tech (or flagrant).

Could be both.

deecee Tue Dec 13, 2016 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BlueDevilRef (Post 994753)
It was very bang bang. I would not have called it flagrant, but I do realize I should have had a whistle. I'm kinda pissed I did not.

I had a similar play last year. Rebound by A1, foul by B1, then about .5-1 seconds after the whistle A1 swings to clear space and contacts B1 in the noggin. Not to the flagrant level but a foul. I called a T and we moved on.

My personal feeling is that many officials let to much stuff go after the whistle because they don't want to call the T.

BlueDevilRef Tue Dec 13, 2016 10:15am

I don't mind calling the T, doesn't bother me at all. Especially since this was a local JH league where if a T is called, the only report is an email to the assignor and AD with a short note explaining it. In this case, which sounds exactly like what you described, I simply missed it/didn't call it. And as soon as I reported the white foul, I knew the opportunity was gone. But, won't make that mistake again.

griblets Wed Dec 14, 2016 07:59am

Having just read this thread, I was prepared for this situation last night in BJV game. A1 gets held by B1 (just a clumsy JV play). Right after I whistle for the foul, A1 swings his arm to clear B1 away from him, making contact in the torso. Easy T to A1.

Kelvin green Wed Dec 14, 2016 10:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 994750)
If the ball is live, sure. But if the ball is dead because the first foul has already been called, I'm not sure it's automatic.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Elbow to head ... Live or dead has to be called...if you don't... There are upset coaches, retaliation, etc.

bas2456 Wed Dec 14, 2016 11:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kelvin green (Post 994910)
Elbow to head ... Live or dead has to be called...if you don't... There are upset coaches, retaliation, etc.

Rule 10-4-7 (Player Technical) says a player should be charged with a technical if "intentionally or flagrantly contacting an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul."

Obviously, if the contact is deemed to be either intentional or flagrant, address it accordingly.

My point is that I don't think the situation is absolute. If you would only call a player control foul if the ball were live, I wouldn't have a problem not calling a technical foul.

I understand I may be in the minority, and I understand that the "safe" thing to do would be to call the technical, but I'd better see clear intent if I'm hitting a kid with a dead ball contact technical.

deecee Thu Dec 15, 2016 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bas2456 (Post 994913)
Rule 10-4-7 (Player Technical) says a player should be charged with a technical if "intentionally or flagrantly contacting an opponent when the ball is dead and such contact is not a personal foul."

Obviously, if the contact is deemed to be either intentional or flagrant, address it accordingly.

My point is that I don't think the situation is absolute. If you would only call a player control foul if the ball were live, I wouldn't have a problem not calling a technical foul.

I understand I may be in the minority, and I understand that the "safe" thing to do would be to call the technical, but I'd better see clear intent if I'm hitting a kid with a dead ball contact technical.

It's not the minority, it's flat out wrong. It has been stressed that elbow contact to the head IS a foul. Common/technical/flagrant. Therefore it cannot be ignored simply because the ball is dead. It has nothing to do with "safe". It has to do with expectations of the job. IF there is intent its a flagrant and not a technical.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 15, 2016 08:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 994922)
It's not the minority, it's flat out wrong. It has been stressed that elbow contact to the head IS a foul. Common/technical/flagrant. Therefore it cannot be ignored simply because the ball is dead. It has nothing to do with "safe". It has to do with expectations of the job. IF there is intent its a flagrant and not a technical.


Common / Intentional / Flagrant. Whether Personal or Technical. (Recognizing that "common Technical" is not really a defined term -- but it should be. ;) )

If the ball is live, it's a flagrant personal. If the ball is dead, it's a flagrant Technical.

deecee Thu Dec 15, 2016 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 994923)
Common / Intentional / Flagrant. Whether Personal or Technical. (Recognizing that "common Technical" is not really a defined term -- but it should be. ;) )

If the ball is live, it's a flagrant personal. If the ball is dead, it's a flagrant Technical.

you are right, i rushed through the response.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:53am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1