The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 01:06pm
Official Forum Member

Refusal/Decline

What are your guys perameters or personal guidelines for decling games. I don't mean you are already working or can't get to the game but more conflicts of interest or issues that would stop you from working a game that you could work. What are your personal standards for why to decline/refuse to work a game assigned.

Me: Thanks, but why the big rush.

Coach: Oh I thought you must have a big date . . .we're not the only ones your planning on F$%&ing tonite are we!
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member

One of my assignors has asked that no one work games for a school they attended or have a child that attends/has played basketball. I follow these guidelines with the others as well. Being a teacher I won't work my own school at all and try to avoid games that may impact the standings in my school's conference, but that won't help most people.
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member

I personally only have one, and that is to never work a game my wife coaches. The reason is simple. She's the boss. Since she hates basketball and doesn't coach I don't have to worry about that. If I were a cop I would ticket my mother if she broke the law.
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member

The conflicts of interest standard varies by area. A major factor is the size of the location which impacts how easy/difficult it is to get other officials for the schools there as well as the other options for local officials.