![]() |
|
|
|||
9-9....?
Backcourt violation, or not?
https://youtu.be/1xqD1erJTEk
__________________
Making Every Effort to Be in the Right Place at the Right Time, Looking at the Right Thing to Make the Right Call |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
While I agree that this is a violation, I would be highly in favor or a rule change (and I've mentioned it before) allowing a player who established team control while in the air to land in the backcourt without penalty. There are many ways it could be done and it would be consistent with the existing exceptions.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association |
|
|||
I agree 100%.
Do you really want to start a game by calling this? I don't want to be that guy. Is not calling it technically wrong? I suppose so, but I'm not calling it. Play on and let's get the game going. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
There is nothing more technical than by rule this is a BC violation. In reality it won't and shouldn't get called.
__________________
in OS I trust |
|
|||
There's also the question of which official would even get a good look at it.
R (or the tossing official) is in the best position, but probably won't be looking over there until players clear the jump circle. In a 3-person game, neither of the umpires is going to be in a good position to see it... U1 might have a chance. In a 2-person game, the U would probably get a look (assuming she hasn't moved off the division line yet). Personally, I'm no-calling this, but I'm also not going to attempt to overrule a partner if they call it. |
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with the poster who stated that a 2-person crew is actually better positioned to make this call than a 3-person crew. |
|
||||
Quote:
I'm not sure a crew of 2 is going to see this significantly better, since the U is going to be on the opposite side of the court looking through the jumpers. If U can see it, though, it's going to be with the perfect line of sight (as opposed to trying to call this from the FT line extended.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners. |
|
|||
100% correct. Don't be the guy that wants to show how great he knows the rules and call this. Play on!
|
|
|||
Why shouldn't it get called if it's witnessed by an official who knows the rules and knows it's a violation?
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|