The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 28, 2016, 08:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Illinois
Posts: 1,804
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddy View Post
Backcourt violation, or not?
https://youtu.be/1xqD1erJTEk
Looks like it to me. She caught ball in air while jumping from FC. That gives her FC status. Lands in back court. Violation. The exception doesnt apply to her as it was already touched by other player. I wouldnt lose ANY sleep over not calling it as it happened quick etc. it was a BC violation though.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 01:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Looks like it to me. She caught ball in air while jumping from FC. That gives her FC status. Lands in back court. Violation. The exception doesnt apply to her as it was already touched by other player. I wouldnt lose ANY sleep over not calling it as it happened quick etc. it was a BC violation though.
Correct answer and correct reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 03:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,010
Ok. I was wrong.
__________________
If you ain't first, you're LAST!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 03:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
While I agree that this is a violation, I would be highly in favor or a rule change (and I've mentioned it before) allowing a player who established team control while in the air to land in the backcourt without penalty. There are many ways it could be done and it would be consistent with the existing exceptions.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 10:10am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
While I agree that this is a violation, I would be highly in favor or a rule change (and I've mentioned it before) allowing a player who established team control while in the air to land in the backcourt without penalty. There are many ways it could be done and it would be consistent with the existing exceptions.
They simply need to change to something closer to the way it was worded when we had a long drawn out discussion on whether the parenthetical exceptions were meant to be all-inclusive. Once the current wording was adopted, it was clear that they were, in fact, all inclusive.

I agree, I'd like to see it changed to include any situation where the player catching the ball establishes initial team control in the air.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 10:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 782
Loosely applied: 9-9-3 . . . while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.

Thus, no violation - remember, "loosely applied."
__________________
To be good at a sport, one must be smart enough to play the game -- and dumb enough to think that it's important . . .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 10:45am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob1968 View Post
Loosely applied: 9-9-3 . . . while on defense, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt.

Thus, no violation - remember, "loosely applied."
"on defense" is never defined in the rules, but any reasonable interpretation would require an offense. "offense" is again really not defined, but the existence of team control is generally expected.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Correct answer and correct reasons.
I agree 100%.

Do you really want to start a game by calling this? I don't want to be that guy.

Is not calling it technically wrong? I suppose so, but I'm not calling it. Play on and let's get the game going.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 12:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 308
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigCat View Post
Looks like it to me. She caught ball in air while jumping from FC. That gives her FC status. Lands in back court. Violation. The exception doesnt apply to her as it was already touched by other player. I wouldnt lose ANY sleep over not calling it as it happened quick etc. it was a BC violation though.
I'm not going to argue with either side of the argument. You can't really get this one wrong...............unless you really want to get technical and really look at it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by SD Referee View Post
I'm not going to argue with either side of the argument. You can't really get this one wrong...............unless you really want to get technical and really look at it.
There is nothing more technical than by rule this is a BC violation. In reality it won't and shouldn't get called.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 01:07pm
TODO: creative title here
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 1,250
There's also the question of which official would even get a good look at it.

R (or the tossing official) is in the best position, but probably won't be looking over there until players clear the jump circle.

In a 3-person game, neither of the umpires is going to be in a good position to see it... U1 might have a chance.

In a 2-person game, the U would probably get a look (assuming she hasn't moved off the division line yet).

Personally, I'm no-calling this, but I'm also not going to attempt to overrule a partner if they call it.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 01:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee View Post
There is nothing more technical than by rule this is a BC violation. In reality it won't and shouldn't get called.
In reality, it may get missed, but SHOULD get called. It's illegal. It's that simple.

I agree with the poster who stated that a 2-person crew is actually better positioned to make this call than a 3-person crew.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 04:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
In reality, it may get missed, but SHOULD get called. It's illegal. It's that simple.

I agree with the poster who stated that a 2-person crew is actually better positioned to make this call than a 3-person crew.
If I see this, I'm 99% sure I'd call it. I'm not convinced I'd see it, though.

I'm not sure a crew of 2 is going to see this significantly better, since the U is going to be on the opposite side of the court looking through the jumpers. If U can see it, though, it's going to be with the perfect line of sight (as opposed to trying to call this from the FT line extended.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 04:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam View Post
If I see this, I'm 99% sure I'd call it. I'm not convinced I'd see it, though.

I'm not sure a crew of 2 is going to see this significantly better, since the U is going to be on the opposite side of the court looking through the jumpers. If U can see it, though, it's going to be with the perfect line of sight (as opposed to trying to call this from the FT line extended.
I think you are supposed to be at the 28' marks (or equivalent) -- and I think you'd be able to see it. Unlike SD Referee, I don't think this is "overly technical" or the wrong way to start the game.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 29, 2016, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I think you are supposed to be at the 28' marks (or equivalent) -- and I think you'd be able to see it. Unlike SD Referee, I don't think this is "overly technical" or the wrong way to start the game.
Gee whiz, are you gonna call if it if a player barely steps on the sideline during the jump, too?

Seriously, I don't see why one wouldn't call this if one was sure -- but I certainly see how one might well not be sure, both because it happens quickly and because it isn't one of things one is thinking about during a jump. (And, I suppose, because there are so few jumps in the modern game that there aren't a lot of chances to see the weird stuff actually happen.)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1